We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects”
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
Ranked #5 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just stayed a week here. All aspects of the hotel are excellent. It is in a prime position just off the beach. It has three separate swimming pools - one for children, the main one for general swimming and a third which is a salt-water pool which is extra warm. There are plenty of loungers round the pool areas with efficient service from the pool bar.
The staff are without exception efficient and attentive throughout the hotel. The restaurant is excellent. Four times a week it is a fixed menu offering three choices for three courses followed by a self-service dessert buffet and cheese and biscuits. The other three days are a barbeque. The food is very good and the choices offered a satisfying variety to suit all palates. We did not try the a la carte restaurant and trattoria which are also available as we found the main offering to be more than adequate. Breakfast is also excellent with everything you could want. Night-time entertainment is in the bar lounge and is adequate.
The rooms are large and well-equipped. Prime position would be overlooking the pool area as this gives the balcony afternoon sunshine. We were on the other side but had a seaview and morning sunshine. You need to be on at least the fifth floor to fully appreciate the seaview.
Maspalomas, itself, is a pleasant resort with plenty of decent restaurants, cafes and designer shops. There is very little of the beer and chips type of establishments. There are some good walks available. We walked to the Wednesday market in Maspalomas and did our tourist shopping - well worth haggling and sticking to your guns!. We also took the 32 bus from the bus station just round the corner from the hotel to visit Puerto de Mogan. This is well worth a visit - see your guide books.
All in all it was a lovely winter sunshine holiday away from snowy UK and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wychdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast and the varied menus and buffets.

Our Seaside Palm Beach***** is indeed located in a prime location and we are glad to hear that you appreciated the surroundings and the nice sea-view from your balcony.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Gran Canaria.

With best regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent one week at the Seaside Palm Beach, the second week of a two-week holiday to Gran Canaria in February. The hotel is situated just a few steps back from the promenade overlooking the Dunes. We drove from the capital and found the hotel quite easily and parked in the private free car park. The receptionist said our room was almost ready and offered us a glass of cava in the bright, colourful lounge area during the short wait. The first impression was of a very smart design-led hotel with friendly efficient staff and this was reinforced throughout our stay. Our room was on the 4th floor at the northern end of the hotel, overlooking the pool area. It was large and well equipped and decorated in beige tones, with designer touches such as a Loewe flat screen TV, coffee table with a tilting weighted lamp stand attached and other stylish lighting features. There was plenty of storage with a double wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. The bathroom was attractive with beige marble tiling and a wet room- type shower, steam-reducing mirrors and a small slatted window to the outdoor corridor. The bed was two singles pushed together unfortunately but very comfortable. We had chosen half board as the hotel has 3 restaurants. The main restaurant consists of both indoor and outdoor seating. Dinner consists of a mixture of a table d'hote menu 4 nights a week, with 3 or 4 choices of starter and main plus self-service hot or cold dessert or cheese from the outside buffet area. We were impressed with the quality of the food and the service, although if you prefer to eat later you tend to have to a short wait in the bar area for a table. On the other 3 nights there is a buffet served in the outdoor eating area, although you can sit inside if you wish (it was quite cool most evenings we were there). We only tried the buffet once but we were very impressed with the choice and quality of the food on offer, including freshly-cooked lobster, fish and steaks, plus roasted meats, stews, paella, etc. We tried the Italian restaurant once at a supplement of 10 euros but we were not overly impressed with it, probably because they did not seem to expect us, despite having booked via the concierge, and service was slow and distracted. As it was Valentines's Day during our stay we ate at the Orangery gourmet restaurant, which only has 15 tables and is open occasionally, for the special 6-course menu at a cost of 89 euros per head supplement (minus 10 euros deduction for being on half board!). We had a very enjoyable evening and the food was exquisite. On one evening we ate at the sister hotel next door, the Grand Hotel Residencia, a supplement of 25 euros each. The food was divine and service was as professional as you would expect for an exclusive hotel, but did get friendlier as the evening progressed.
Breakfast choice was extensive and included freshly-cooked hot food and even porridge. The omelettes were excellent. The outdoor poolside African bar serves food and drinks all day by friendly staff and we particularly enjoyed the wraps and crepes.
There was entertainment each evening: piano music with dinner, followed by a variety of acts in the bar area. We particularly enjoyed the flamenco and the soul group.
There is an extensive choice of outdoor activities: table tennis, shuffle board, bowls, giant chess, darts, tennis, plus 5 outdoor pools. The sauna/steam room is only open from about 4 pm but is good. The highlight for me was the morning outdoor tai chi and afternoon outdoor yoga, Monday to Friday, with instructor Stephan. He also does aqua aerobics classes at lunchtime.
To summarise, this is a fabulous hotel and we hardly went out during our week there, which is unheard of for us! The place is spotlessly clean throughout and very well maintained. The staff are excellent; they all have a smile on their face and are very friendly whilst being ultra professional. There are always several managers around and they do everything to make your stay a good one. We had a couple of minor issues which were dealt with promptly, so were not a problem. This is one of the very best hotels we have stayed at and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the southern end (low numbers 401, etc.) enjoy sun on the balconies all day. It is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach guest,

We personally would like to thank you for your wonderful and also detailed review published on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read about your great experience in our hotel. About the well equipped rooms, the choice and quality of the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, the day and night entertainment.

Please accept our deepest apologies for the slow and distracted service you received in our Italian restaurant Trattoria. Please rest assured that we already have addressed your issues in order to prevent that a situation of this nature occurs again.

We also highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff, as this is our best motivation and shows us that we are on the right track.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again and remain with kind regards from Gran Canaria,

Rocio Cibran
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are here right now, staff, service and food fabulous, looking forward to the last week. Hotel is exceptional, the manageress personally makes her way through the hotel day and night checking out your views, cannot ask for more, would definitely come back...

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jacslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach guest,

Thank you for the nice message you wrote on Tripadvisor during your stay with us.

We are happy that we could fulfil and even succeed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Please rest assured that all comments from our guests are very important to us and even more so when they have been written during their stay, taking precious time from their holidays.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in our Seaside Palm Beach*****.

Kind regards,
Rocio Cibran
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from a great holiday at Palm Beach, Maspalomas.

Firstly good things :

1. Gorgeous gardens and pools - very relaxing and calm atmosphere.
2. Breakfast buffet really great - very fresh and v good selection
3. BBQ - which we had 3 times was also very good with great choice
4. Very few children - not sure if this is generally the case or not but i enjoyed the calm
5. We really enjoyed the entertainment and the decor of the bar - really nice place to hang out - sure it was quiet but we enjoyed that and the cocktails were great and reasonably priced

Not so good things:
1. While the room itself was nicely laid out ( we had a std room) the bed was very uncomfortable - we had asked for a double but they dont seem to have double beds like a lot of hotels in spain . Two twin beds were joined up. However the bedclothes situation was ridiculous - there were two single duvets on the bed with a resulting cold patch in the middle. There was a large bedspread for the first couple of days which went missing and it took us two days to get it replaced.
I really dont get how they can cater for couples and not have comfortable double beds !
2. The restaurant food really wasnt great - food was just not up to standard really - had pork one night which was way too sweet - covered in an inedible sauce, another night monkfish was almost rubbery. On the last day we had our main meal at lunchtime and the choice was much better than the evening. Would try to not do half board again.
The desserts were good by and large - and cheese selection very good each evening.
3. There are no irons in the room ! The reason we were given was that there was a bad experience and now accross the chain there are no irons in any of the rooms. This was very inconvenient and it cost 3.25 per item to get ironed by hotel . This is clearly not a solution.
4. The toileteries were basic quality - i would def bring by own shampoo and conditioner in future - I had hoped for a 5 star to have better quality toileteries.
5. Service was slow in the evenings - quite hard to catch somebody - staff work very hard no doubt - i just think that the hotel needs more staff esp for evening service.

Room Tip: Im not sure that it is worth paying extra for the sea view room unless you plan on spending much tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank za_za_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you spent a great holiday here in our Seaside Palm Beach***** and found the facilities, the buffets, the entertainment and the relaxing atmosphere to be outstanding.

Thank you for letting us know about some aspects you were not entirely happy with.

Please be informed that we do provide double beds in the corner deluxe rooms. In all other rooms we join two twin beds and put sheets on like on a normal double bed. Normally our guests are quite content with this solution, because they prefer a big bed, but also the comfort of having a mattress to themselves. We would like to apologize that the bedspread has not been returned to you earlier and already addressed this issue with the relevant department.

As of today the feedback concerning the toiletries in the Standard Rooms was generally positive, but please rest assured that we took note of your comment.

In regards to the food selection we try to meet the expectations and tastes of all our guests and regret that you were not always satisfied. Concerning the Service in the restaurant please understand that since all dishes are prepared á la minute, that this sometimes can take a while.

It is true that we do not offer irons in the room anymore, mainly for health and safety issues, but our laundry is open 7 days a week, 24 hours a day and offers washing and ironing service.

Once again we wish to thank you for your comments and hope we will have the possibility to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The second time I have stayed here and just like the first time it was just fantastic. we arrived on 14/01/13 from a wet and snowy Manchester only to be met with great weather and even better service and standards. from the moment you arrive the staff can not do enough for you and credit must go to the restaurant manageress who personally goes around each table checking that everything is okay.
our room was perfectly situated room 342 over looking the lovely swimming pool. the room was serviced each day and was very clean with additional towels brought to you late afternoon.
food here is outstanding and I would class it as fine dinning or of equal standard.
this is a relaxing hotel in a great position, do not expect party nights or daytime activities just pure relaxation exactly what we needed after Christmas.
can not wait to book for next year I would rate this hotel as one of the best and I should know as for the past 30 years I have stayed in some of the best in the world with my job.
well done and look forward to seeing you again

Room Tip: pool room is best although all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carriersinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach guest,

We would like to thank you personally for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is very nice to hear, that coming back for the 2nd time, you experienced even better service and improved standards.

Our aim is to provide a perfect holiday for our guests and therefore we really appreciate your praise concerning the good service each day from housekeeping and our outstanding food.

We are looking forward to your next visit in our Seaside Palm Beach*****.

Kind regards,
Rocio Cibran
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

For the first time we felt the trip advisor comments had let us down a bit. On the positive side, the hotel had a truly heated pool, plenty of areas to laze around in, our room was well decorated and it was clean. On the negative side, the situation of the hotel was such that the outside restaurant (only place available for breakfast and the barbecue every other evening) was in the shade for breakfast and obviously received no heat at night so just about everybody was complaining how cold it was. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, the barbeque (only food available every other evening) was OK. The food in the restaurant was often poor with an extremely limited choice. A so called Trattoria was on offer at an extra cost, but the food there was equally bad. Only one bar with very poor entertainment (do German people really like Englebert's songs that much?) The majority of people seemed to go to their rooms early, fortunately the hotel offers the widest range of television programmes I have seen. Our room was not cleaned until about 4.00pm each day and we were not the last. Good location, ideal for long walks along the pro made or beach, but could be so much better.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the end facing the sea, they are the only ones that get sun all day and so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank taurusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Our main goal is that our guests enjoy their holidays to the fullest and
therefore we are glad to learn that we were able to fulfil your expectations
regarding the accommodation, the pool area and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Should our guests not be fully satisfied with something, we are more than happy
when they contact us directly, so that we can find a perfect solution.

In regards to entertainment please be informed that we try to meet the expectations of our guests offering live music as well as 3 to 4 tribute shows a week.

Furthermore we wish to inform you that our terrace is open daily but that we also offer tables within the restaurant, should it be too chilly to have breakfast or dinner outside.

Since we attach great value to providing good quality local and seasonal
products, it is much to our regret to hear that it was not to your liking. Four
times a week we offer a three-course menu with two alternative choices like
fresh fish (such as salmon or halibut) or meat (for example entrecôte, fillet steak, or rack of lamb). And on the Dessert Buffet our guests can find a great variety of homemade desserts and cheese specialities. Altogether a menu variety that is in general very much
appreciated by our guests.

Since the feedback of our guests is of paramount importance for us, please rest
assured that all your comments have been addressed.

We hope that you can give us a chance of staying in our Seaside Palm Beach *****
again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rocío Cibrán
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

On arrival I was immediately impressed with the welcome, friendliness and efficiency of all the staff from doorman to reception staff to luggage porter and this level of service continued throughout the holiday.

My pool view room was nicely appointed and bathroom very clean. Only downside was that some of the paintwork could do with a 'touch up' and some of the furniture tops were slightly stained (through hot cups being placed on top??).

I was staying bed and breakfast and the cold buffet buffet and hot cooked selection was amazing in terms of choice, quantity and quality and extremely fresh and tasty. There was so much to choose from throughout my stay that sometimes it was difficult to make my mind up and I ended up eating more than usual!

The staff serving at breakfast were extremely friendly and hard working and after a couple of days knew your drinks choices etc so you were served very quickly.

The hotel gardens were amazing and tranquil, ideal for relaxing. There was a selection of pools to choose from including and adults only area, all equiped with comfortable padded loungers and a pool towel service. The only downside for me was that the sun loungers are grouped very close together and the set up a bit too 'intimate' for my liking with not much personal space or privacy. Lots of people used the parasols so this cast shadows on others who wanted to lie in full sun.

I would recommend using the small section of the adults area next to the outdoor gym and sauna facilities. This was set up to look like an artificial sandy beach and was used by people who wanted to tan so no issues with shade apart from the palm trees!

Food and drink at the poolside was great and very reasonably priced for a 5* hotel. I did not dine in on an evening so can't comment on this aspect of the hotel.

Overall an excellent stay helped by the fantastic weather over Christmas/New Year and I would love to return one day

Room Tip: All pool view rooms have sunny balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordietraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Cibran, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Seaside Palm Beach guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments regarding your stay in our Seaside Palm Beach*****.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were immediately impressed with our service and that it continued during your whole stay.

As we value very much all comments of our guests, we are happy to read that our breakfast, the cold buffet and hot cooked selection was amazing in terms of choice, quantity and quality and extremely fresh and tasty.

Regarding the “touch ups” in our rooms, our maintenance team is on top of all these details, but thank you for the remark.

We also highly appreciate your words of praise regarding our staff, as this is the best motivation and shows us that we are on the right track.

Once again, we wish to express our gratitude for evaluating our hotel and sharing your experiences with us.

We would be pleased to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rocio Cibran
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,326 reviews
4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,937 reviews
2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $234 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing