We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Ranked #38 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Hotel”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The hotel was large as it partly connected to other group hotels, this allowed you a choice of pools, from the small and quiet(ish) to a full blast Animation Team saturation zone/pool which kept the kids happy.
I went when it seemed the hotel was about half full so it wasn't too packed anywhere. It may be different in high season.
The suites were comfortable and very clean but ever so slightly tired. The beds were a bit on the firm side. The public areas and gardens were immaculate.

The food was plentiful, well presented and varied.

The night entertainment was free and you got what you paid for - I would recommend a quick exit to town, about 10-15 minutes walk away.

The Staff and Management were excellent and deserve much praise for this hotel.

I would recommend it to families and couples.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Lotse,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel. We forward your praise to the staff and are sure it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their utmost to satisfy every client.
We hope to see you soon again by us.

Best regards

Dunas Hotels&Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    949
    331
    108
    79
See reviews for
1,331
655
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2010

we stayed for a week and couldn't really fault the hotel. the pools are all good and all have baby pools with them. they are well spaced so one always near to where your villa is. the staff are great, especially in the restaurant. nayra in particular was lovely to our son (almost 2 yrs) even though he was his normal uncommunicative self and she should be commended. the mini disco can get a bit lively at times. the food was really good - fresh fish every lunchtime as good as anything we had eaten at meloneras promenade in the evenings. the variety was fine and we never struggled to find something we liked.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manblaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear manblaggers,

thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to your friends.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again,
best regards

Dunas Hotels&Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

W e stayed at the Dunas Suites in September....the 1st time we had been to Gran Canaria so didnt no what to expect of the country or hotel. The Hotel exceeded our expectations...lovely suites,gardens,pool...everywhere kept clean...we didnt have problems with any cockroaches as we was worried after reading some reviews on here...also after reading some reviews we were worried about the food...but we shouldnt have as it was the best food we have had at any hotel the variation was large and cater for everybody...me my partner and children all loved going to eat in the restaurant every mornin and evening! The entertainment at night wasnt brilliant,there is a disco for small children around 8pm but only for half an hour then nothing till later. There was sometimes entertainment around the pool in the daytime which my children enjoyed otherwise we were left to relax and enjoy our holiday which we did very much....we went to aquapark: which was very good, a dolphin boat ride (we were lucky enought to spot them!), camel ride which wasnt that great but an experience, and a day on maspalomas beach which was lovely. Thankyou staff at hotel Dunas if we ever return to Gran Canaria we would love to come back to your hotel x

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jode1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear jode1401,

Thank you very much for your positive review about the holidays spent in our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed it so much. Hoping to welcome you soon again, best regards.

Dunas Hotels&Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The lady on the desk when we checked in was rather officious but thankfully she wasn't representative of the staff as a whole. We got lost trying to find our bungalow as some of the main paths were hidden away behind other bungalows and weren't sign-posted. The bungalow was positioned away at the back of the complex which had its advantages (quiet, near a small supermarket and some restaurants) and disadvantages (good walk to get to reception, significant walk to the beach and the lighthouse).

Being quite a walk from the beach was fine for us as we're young and like walking and it was in March so the heat wasn't too intense. I don't imagine it would be great for families or older people, especially not in the middle of the summer (although I understand there is a courtesy bus from the hotel to the beach - we never took this so I can't comment on how good the service is).

We were self-catering but as there weren't many cafes about in the area and the kitchen area in the bungalow wasn't brilliant, would choose B&B if we went again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear CherylBon,

Thank you very much for your comment about your holiday at our hotel as it helps us to improve our service. It is true: the hotel area is very wide but it offers accommodation for every taste (near or far from the pool, central or quiet location a.s.o) For those guests, who do mind a 20 min walk, a bus service takes them to the Maspalomas beach 3 times a day, so that families as well as older people do really have no problems. We would be pleased to welcome you again on B&B.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Dunas Suites. Although we booked this last minute it was not cheap a holiday. However, the resort is lovely and the food is fantastic, we never struggled to find something we liked due to the large variety available. The majority of the staff were very good, a couple of the bar staff could try to smile or even reply to your thankyou's or gracias'. Overall a very enjoyable first visit to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyloo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Thanks a lot for your comment. We hope to welcome you once again in one of our hotels.

Kindest regards
Dunas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This was our first trip to Gran Canaria, and was also our first all inclusive venture as well. After all the things you hear about all inclusive we were worried. We needn't have been, the food was excellent, from the first day to the last, variety to suit all moods and tastes. The staff were excellent, from the waiters to the bar staff, the cleaners to the cooks, right the way through to the management staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The facilities we found excellent, the well appointed room, the pool, and the pool bar and beyond. You could of eaten and drunk all day long. Not many Brits seemed to stay there, there were lots of other nationalities who sometimes were arrogant around the pool facilities and in the restauarant (shame on them). The early evening entertainment was geared to the younger children, with some of the later acts not really being too professional but they were still enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilpaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

On arrival at the hotel my partner and I were very pleased; the front of the building and the foyer were impressive. When checking-in, Marcos on the main reception was very good, he talked us through all of the hotels facilities and his English was fine. On arrival at our suite, more like a bungalow, I was really pleasantly suprised; the living room, bedroom and bathroom were all decorated to a very high standard, they were large in comparison to other hotels we had stayed in and cleanliness was outstanding! After getting ourselves sorted we decided to have a shower and found that the seal on the bottom of the shower screen was broken and the floor was covered in water. We reported this straight away to reception and a new seal was fitted within a few hours and we thought this was very good indeed.

During the first few days we discovered the complex has 6 pools and plenty of loungers, but definately not enough parasols! Even though we saw beds being reserved, which the welcome brochure forbids, there was plenty of beds available. However, come Thursday until Sunday the hotel gets very busy with Spanish locals and we found it difficult to find a bed. Beds were being reserved well before breakfast and even on the odd occasion we found beds reserved at 22:15 the night before. I decided to go to reception and discuss this with the hotel; the lady on reception decided to make 4 phone calls before asking me what the problem was. On explaining the situation, she basically said that reserving the beds isn't a problem at this hotel and to find a man in a hut somewhere. This left me very annoyed, so I complained to our rep, she tried to tell them the same thing but also got he same reply. Monday came again and for the first half of the week there were plenty of sun-loungers again, however, come the back end of the week we had the same problems over and over again! So this time we decided to see the manager, after 24 hours of trying to catch him! We told him of the situation and he seemed to be very defensive. He was basically trying to say that he is stuck between a rock and a hard place and if they remove the towels they will be accused of stealing personal possessions. We could sympathise with this but were still annoyed that the hotel WAS NOT enforcing its own rules. He told us that we should have come and seem him earlier and he would have got us sun-loungers whenever we needed them. This sounded good but it still doesn't get over the fact that the hotel was doing its duties properly when other hotels will simply remove towels from sun-loungers that aren't being used all-day (see photos later-on).

Let me move on to other aspects of the hotel. The food and restaurant staff are very good, especially the restaurant manager who always made us feel very welcome and had his staff running like clockwork. The cleaning staff are excellent and rooms are cleaned to a very high standard every day. Gardens at the hotel are beautiful and well kept and during the 2 weeks there we only saw 5 little cockroaches which was impressive, non of them in the room! Drinks were good, however, the cocktails that are available to all inclusive clients are poor. On the downside, some of the bar staff and reception staff (20-30%) are rude. They will serve the Spanish before the English no matter how long you have waited; a particluar lady on reception is very rude and she will make numerous telephone calls before asking you how she can help you and then will serve Spanish customers before you.

On the whole, we enjoyed our holiday very much! However, the issue with the sun-loungers stopped our holiday from being great one. Pull your finger out Dunas Suites and do something about it, you are there to make sure people have a great time and don't let holidays be ruined by such a simple thing to rememdy!

Overall:
-Rooms = 9/10
-Food = 8/10
-Drinks = 6/10
-Gardens = 10/10
-Reception and bar staff = 5/10
-Pools = 7/10
-Sun lounger availability = 2/10.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsim4398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,990 reviews
3.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#50 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Property: Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Address: Avda. Sunnair s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing