We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tabaiba Princess(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cordial Green Golf(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,725)
Filter reviews
2,725 results
Traveler rating
1,025
1,107
374
126
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,025
1,107
374
126
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsenior suitemain poolfive poolsmini clubpool barhalf boardgran canariafamily holidayevening entertainmentnature reserveyoung familiesgreat resortall inclusive packagelarge bathroomgreat holidaycourtesy bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 2,725 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My family and I booked 2 suites at the dunas we arrived on the 29th October to be told that they had overbooked the hotel and that we would have to stay somewhere else for 2 days they moved us to the Gregory duna which was not at all as it looks on the pictures the corridors were shabby with plaster coming off the walls the rooms were in need of an update they had faded red curtains and bedspreads yuk after staying one night here were we're moved to a fantastic hotel and had a fantastic holiday. I refused to give duna our business after the way they had treated us. I do hope the two rooms that were coming free on the 31st remained empty. We were not the only family that they had done this to. I will never use a Duna hotel ever again. CHECK BEFORE YOU FLY!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret the inconveniences caused by an unexpected and unfortunate problem with the occupation, which has affected the entire island during the end of October.

The Dunas Don Gregory is much appreciated by many repeaters, therefore we are very sorry that that hotel didn’t meet your expectations.

We ensure that this is not a common situation and should not happen again.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day break at the Dunas Suite and wanted to say how nice we found it ! The accommodation was spacious comfortable and clean, as is the resort and grounds in general. As the resort is linked with the dunas bungalow site you have a choice of pools. We preferred the bungalows pool as it was less busy, but this is obviously down to personal taste. Just one grip though, all the sun loungers quickly get reserved by towels in the morning ! The food is nice and I`d say on a par with other all-inclusive we have visited, and the "manager" will politely request men to wear long trousers in the evening ! The evening entertainment is excellent and often put on by the "animation" team after they have spent the day entertaining the kids and running activities by the pool!!
The beach is a good 20 minute walk but a shuttle bus option is available. I would recommend the camel rides across the Dunes that you will see on the way to the beach.
I would say the Dunas is ideal for families :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidzzbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially the rooms, the cleanliness and the entertainment team were to your satisfaction.

We would be more than happy to welcome once again and remain with

best regards,

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just arrived back from really lovely holiday at Dunas suites.
Here are some points for people traveling in future.
Last week was half term in England, and therefore there were LOTS of children there ( including two of our own), thus you cant really complain about it being full of children. Our girls made lots of friends and had a great time.
The room , a standard suite, was fine, but really only just about big enough for two adults and two small children, We would book a senior suite next time. It was clean and and well kept. Yes it only had sky news and disney, but in reality the reason to go away was to get away from the television??
We went half board, which suited us as neither of us drink very much and we went out for lunch most days. Its hard to work out whether half board is better as we think we saved about 250 euros by being half board, but i think if you don't want to provide your own lunch or you have two older children and want to stay in the bar in the evenings, then the savings are much less , probably only about 50 euros. also the AI people get free snacks and iced cream during the day.
The food was good, varied enough to satisfy us and lots of fresh fruit, it would have been nice to have had more fresh vegetables though.
The animation team are just fantastic, the children's club, daily competitions and evening entertainment made the trip extra special.
The staff do try to keep the sunbeds free, they stopped the overnight placing of towels!!! and basically when you go to breakfast, people would leave their towels on loungers and essentially book them, which meant that the earlier anyone went to breakfast the better. I dont think it is a perfect system, but it seemed to work.
overall
Great;
Animation team, rooms, half term so lots of children for our girls to play with
Good
Food variety, pools, closeness to main beaches
hotel and catering staff
OK
rooms. ( really a suite was too small for us 4, but that was our fault not theirs)
Poor
Lack of vegeatables

Ps Its spain, they speak spanish there, if you want people to speak english to you, then go to Butlins.

Room Tip: suite is too small for four people, you need a senior suite for that. 400-410 are near swimming pools and have grass.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kipje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and open words.

We are delighted and happy to hear that you spent lovely days here on Gran Canaria and that you enjoyed the rooms, animation program, the food and services provided by the hotel team.

Thank you also for your comment regarding the lack of vegetables. Your suggestions are very much appreciated, as we are always interested to improve our service and satisfy the demands of our guests. We already informed our cook about it.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort in the near future.

Best regards from Gran Canaria,

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Dunas Suites. I have to start with the animation team - Fabulous! Their work schedule is relentless, and they have all got smiles on their faces day in day out. They are outstanding in the shows and they try to include all the children in the pool side games. We stayed in a bungalow which was dated old and a 10-15 minute walk away from the main pool and restaurant. We were on holiday with my 10 and 2 year old, obviously the 2 year old needed to be in bed at a reasonable time. TO OUR ABSOLUTE DISBELIFE - when we went to take her to bed we asked for a bottle of wine to take back to our bungalow, to which we were told no!!!! Ok, we were all inclusive, eat and drink as much as you want, we were confused?? We were told by the unfriendly miserable, rude bar staff that we had to drink our drinks in the bar area because "who knows who we might have staying in the bungalow"???? Has the General Manager actually seen the size of the old outdated and worn out bungalows we were in??I have never in my years of all inclusive heard anything so ridiculous in my life!! Oh but there was another option.....there just so happened to be, by reception a bar where you paid for your drinks, so we were able to buy a bottle of wine to take back to the room for 11 euros! Drinks were watered down, bar staff especially by the pool and evening entertainment bars were rude, miserable and looked like they needed a career change. Food in the restaurant lacked imagination and no provision for kids at all. My children lived on fruit, hot dogs burger and chips as with bigger organisations they provide a separate kids bar. Lifeguard came and went as he pleased. To top it all, a scuba diving company come to the hotel to promote their business. My son, who suffers from asthma had a go at it, got out of the pool drawing in on his stomach with blue lips (sign of an impending asthma attack) we had already paid 20 euros deposit for him to go scuba diving in the sea the following day, but cancelled due to the health worry. The scuba company "promised" to leave our deposit at reception, and it never arrived! The hotel would accept no responsibility whatsoever even though they are happy to allow the company to promote their services within the hotel. All in all very bad experience, would never go back and if the Manager has the audacity to post a reply to this, we asked to speak to you several times to complain, you were never available! Considering we paid nearly £3000 for this, it was worth 10% of that. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't go!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliecrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our resort. All the comments, which we receive from our guests, are helping us to improve our service and offer.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment program and the friendliness of the animation team.

Nonetheless your suggestions and comments are very much appreciated, as we are always interested to improve our service and satisfy the demands of our guests. In your case, we do really apologize to hear about the incidents you experienced especially in the bars of the complex. We guarantee you that the responsible of our bars has been already informed.

Also we are very interested in detecting, why your complaints about the scuba diving company haven’t been passed to our public relations department, as this would be the regular procedure the hotel realizes in case of inconvenience. We will definitely research into this problem in order to avoid occurrences like this in the future. We kindly ask you to get in contact with our public relations department, so that we can at least clarify the return of the deposit (atencion_clientes@hotelesdunas.com).

Please receive our sincerely regret that we did not manage the right treat of your complaint.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We returned to the Dunas Suites after having first stayed there two years ago. The accommodation, food and very friendly and helpful staff were just as great as our first visit. The hotel made us very welcome and knowing that we, plus the other couple who were with us, were celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversaries gave us a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and a special dessert on two consecutive evenings which was very well received!
However, the hotel was very full (not a bad thing) but practically every table in the dining room had at least one child and the noise levels were such that we found it difficult to hear ourselves speak above the din. Th is was made worse by some children who were
screaming and running around with little or no parental control. We feel this to be very dangerous for both the children and the adults guests, plus the waiting staff whilst trying to carry hot food and drink from the buffet.
We were very disappointed as on our last stay there were only a few children which made for a far more relaxing time.
This hotel is great in lots of ways - everywhere is spotlessly clean and is perfect for families, but for the reasons above we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite that does not have a walkway above it as there is some noise from footsteps and luggage being wheeled along.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Geoffrey,

First of all we wish to take the opportunity to congratulate you, once again, on your 45th wedding anniversary. It was a true pleasure and honor that you chose our hotel to spend these special holidays at, and we are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the review about the children during your stay in October, we just would like to point out, that the quantity of children depends on the autumn holidays. Right now at the beginning of November the ambience is much calmer than the last weeks.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel if you change your opinion.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews