We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but beware of thieves.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Ranked #38 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place but beware of thieves.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in a 1 bed villa for 10 days, from the 15 th Sept to the 25th.not an upgraded one, did request one but to no avail.
Some have been refurbished if you can get one of them you have hit the jack pot.The one we stopped in was o.k but a bit dated, mirror in bathroom has gone brown in places the shower was tired the decor was in need of attention. But all in all perfectly acceptable for a short stay. But beware of the dreaded Spanish cockroaches I hate them and have a bit of a phobia about them, we found 3 in total during our stay in the villa and they are massive I mean massive, !! And they fly for short distances, I did see a man spraying out side to keep the numbers down and been at ground level does not help.food was problerly the best we have had and we normally do 5 star hotel, this is 4 but low end 4 not the best 4 star about.
We were all inclusive and that was good to, no que to get served at all during our stay. Staff were great very friendly and polite, the restaurant staff were excellent in my opinion always clearing away dirty dishes and cleaning tables. Drinks at lunch time,serve your self which is my preference, drinks at dinner time are served by waiting staff.
But getting to the thieves, we were in the villa getting ready for dinner at approx 1930 hrs I was in the shower and the good wife was in the bedroom. Somebody come in the room and stole my wallet which was on the TV table in the lounge. When I realised the wallet missing I was on my way to reception to report this I found it in the bushes around the side of villa, money missing, there was 200 pounds in sterling and 160 euros , good days work for some person. Went to reception to report they said go to the police station to report, we did but police said do not speak English, go away and call an interprete to translate into Spanish, very nice I thought. We did do that with the help of Lisa on reception who I would very much like to thank her.
Also Alfonso was excellent on reception could not have do more thank you to you two. The general manager was a German woman who said we will pay for taxi fares to and from police station,20 euros going twice.But did not get this money.
But apart from the lost money all in a good place to stop for the money we paid.
Also the animation staff were great, day and night doing a little dance to a tune you will not get out of your head. And Adi I think was her name, great girl, very good at her job, especially the bingo in the day in pool bar.
This place is geared up for families with small children, but we alway travel out side school holiday so not over run with children, we are not against children, I was one once ha ha!! But later on in life we require some peace and quite.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cccccccccccvvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our resort. All the comments, which we receive from our guests, are helping us to improve our service and offer.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the food and the animation program.

Concerning the kind words about or staff, please be assured that we passed them on to all of them. Compliments like this motivate us to continue working the way we do.

Regarding your comment about the room, we would like to inform, that we are currently conducting small improvement works in our rooms.

We are very sorry about the incident with the stolen wallet and we apologize for the inconveniences you had to make your complaint at the police station. It’s right that we should have paid the money for the taxi and we are sorry that it wasn’t refund at your departure. Please, contact our guest relations department (atencion_clientes@hotelesdunas.com), so that we can send the money.

We would be more than happy to welcoming you once again and remain with

kind regards,

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    923
    323
    106
    79
See reviews for
1,281
645
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Second time at the hotel and not dissapointed.The suites have had a makeover so even better.we was in suite 401.two bedrooms both ensuite with a large living room,flat screen tv and fridge.Food is the best all inclusive we have had abroad.GroundStaff and maids work very hard to keep everywhere clean.Staff in restaurant, bars and reception never keep you waiting and are very friendly.Entertainment and Animation staff really make the holiday fun!! They are great with the kids and the adults .They cater for all and work very hard all day and night.Hi to everyone.CheCheChereche!!!! Lol
:-D

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dixie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dixie,

We appreciate your trust in us by choosing our hotel for your holiday stay and also for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you spent again wonderful days in Maspalomas and that you had been very much pleased with the services and facilities provided by the hotel and the team. Your wonderful description of our hotel is for all of us motivation in proceeding with our way of service even further and to continue in making our guests feel at home.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I traveled to Dunas Suites with my wife and 2 children aged 6 and 9. I can honestly say it was the best holiday we have ever had.
The hotel was very nice, extremely clean and very well maintained. The rooms were large, so much so that it was not an issue that I had booked a one bedroom suite for the 4 of us. The pools were excellent and we noticed that as the hotel filled up, more sun beds were made available. There was a mix of nationalities so nothing catered specifically for one over another.

Bar and Restaurant staff were very good and the food was great. Excellent selection of salads, fruit and vegetables with every meal, great desserts and a wide range of dishes. The meals are catered for a wide range of nationalities and I was pleased to see that my normally fussy daughter didn't have chips (which were available at lunch and dinner most days) until the 6th day of our stay as the selection was so good. There were never long queues for either food or drinks, at the bar, and bar staff were very good at knowing who was next in line for service.

Without doubt the best part of the stay was the animation team. If you wanted to sit and do nothing you could but if you wanted to get active there were games and competitions for most of the day. It was great to get up and join in and meet other people from different countries through the games. I am not usually a fan of "holiday entertainment" but the shows were also very good and played well to the team's strengths. No body pretended they were on broadway and it gave every show a great feel. One of the highlights being Snow White which also included any children that wanted to be in the play, an amazing feat of organisation !!! The kids club was great and we had to start begging the kids to stay with us. The team worked very hard and everything was done in several languages to embrace everyone.

We left after 10 days, most of us in tears, feeling we could stay another 2 weeks and not be bored or want to go home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with a family. We are certainly going to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your personal review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you fully enjoyed the location, the food and the pools. Furthermore it’s nice to read that you enjoyed especially the entertainment program. Also thank you for your nice words about our staff, we already passed on your comments to them.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we arrived we were very disappointed with the Suite we had been allocated. Builders had been in the bathroom fixing the mirror and had left a big mess / lots of dust. My partner being asthmatic was not happy at all. Reception were a stuck as all the other suites had been allocated, so we stayed that first night in one of the Dunas bungalows.

The next day Manuel on reception did a fantastic job of sorting out a great new suite for us, and moving our things. Turned us from unhappy customers to very happy customer.

I'd say the best points about the Dunas suites are:

- Great food
- Suites have excellent air-con
- excellent entertainment
- Lovely grounds
- More than 1 pool reduces that 9am rush for lounger places
- Handy location not far from town

Areas for improvement would be:

- Some Suites have much better outlooks than others. I'd be disappointed paying as much as Dunas charges for a suite to just get a view of the perimeter fence.
- If you stay in a bungalow, while they are more spacious there doesn't look to be aircon. Very handy at night in the peak of summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HenrysCatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our resort. All the comments, which we receive from our guests, are helping us to improve our service and offer.

We really apologize to hear, that you have had inconveniences with the changed mirror at the first room.

We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our food, the suites and the entertainment.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Suites are a good size and very clean. Complex is very big with good services . Food is very good with a great choice. Would recommend this for families as there is not much to do around the complex . Beach about 10 min walk away and there is a few bars there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about Dunas Suites & Villas Resort on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel as well as the food and the service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Franziska Bach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent two weeks here in Aug 2013 (2 adults and 2 kids under 10). Overall this hotels is a very good 3 star plus hotel but not quite 4 star. So here is the summary...

- Large campus, 5 swimming pools, all totally low rise, single storey buildings (except the receptions - yes there are two one for the Suites and Villas and one for the bungalows)
- Very quiet at night time after 11pm which was perfect for my family
- Nice mixture of nationalities stay here and though there is a bit of competition for sunbeds at some of the pools, overall it has a very pleasant atmosphere
- Location: Just outside Maspalomas in a very quiet cul de sac area and exactly .75 of a mile from the beach - Its a bit of a walk if you have very small kids and plan to carry stuff to the beach. However, the taxis are incredibly cheap and efficient (€2.50-€3.10) to get to the town or beach. The hotel also have a free bus about 3 times a day to and from the beach
- Staff: Reception staff very helpful always, the restaurant staff get a thumbs up too and the mini club / entertainment staff are some of the hardest working I have seen to date. Maintenance staff super efficient. I reported a problem on arrival with our Air con.. and 20 minutes later a guy arrived to fix it..
- Rooms: Mixture of rooms available (one and two bedroom), air conditioned and quiet. Not quite 4 star but adequate unless you spend your holiday indoors in your room!
- Other facilities: This hotel is lacking a Spa/Leisure centre but it does have a basic Gym but its quite outdated. The rest of the hotel is a good 3 star plus standard. They have pool tables, WiFi, Internet rooms, kids miniclub, Tabletennis, pool bars and various other activities like archery if you want to try your hand!
- Food/Restaurant: Pretty busy restaurants. The quality of the food is very good, with multiple choices for all age groups. We have stayed in some great 4 star hotels where the food was close to 5 star but this was good enough. Drinks are a wee bit expensive if you are half board
- Nighttime entertainment: As said earlier, the internal entertainment staff work very hard (during the day also!) and put on a few shows. Nothing too exciting and they could do with a few more external shows with something a little bit different. ( I have seen one to many parrot shows in my time and no, I still dont want the long john silver photo at the end of the show!!)
- Pool Bar: Did not use this very often, but my wife did and did say it was pretty limited/basic
- Other: There is a supermarket attached to the campus which is reasonably priced and if you stay in the suites or villas, you can access the other restaurants on the campus.

So there you have it - If you get a good deal to stay here and want peace and quiet in a 3 star plus hotel, it will do the job well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DarachG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Client

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you were pleased with our service and staff. They are always happy to hear such nice feedback.

Every comment we receive from guests, helps us to improve our service and hotel as good as possible.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion with us and we hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Franziska Bach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this resort 4 times, at the Maspalomas Princess and the H10 which are both excellent. Fancied a change and paid more than I have ever paid to stay at the Dunas Villas which was a mistake. Overall the hotel is ok and the staff mostly helpful and polite but it does not begin to compare with the latter hotels. As a tip do not rent wi-fi for 18 euros a week as it does not work. I complained at reception which was a waste of time. We have a 10 year old daughter , but suits younger families better who don't mind kids running all over including in the restaurant. This week was extremely hot with a few days exceeding 40 degrees! If you don't want to be by the pool (which incidentally is far too small and you cannot get a sunbed after 9.00) there is nowhere else to go to avoid the sun unless you want to sit in your room. Even the entertainment room (which lacks any entertainment) is sweltering. A reasonable week away but at nearly 3 grand I definitely will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs Teesside,

thank you for writing a comment about your stay in our hotel Dunas Suites y Villas.
We apologize for the fact that you didn't enjoy your vacation here and took well note about the points that you criticized. We try our best to improve the things as far as it is possible.

Thank you for the praise of our staff, they are always lucky to hear that the guests liked their service.

Maybe one day you decide to try our hotel again and we hope that we can satisfy you and your family by then.

Kind regards,

Magali Collubry,
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#50 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#54 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,950 reviews
3.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Property: Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Address: Avda. Sunnair s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing