We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Ranked #39 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Dunas Suites for a week over the New Year period and had a wonderful time. This complex had been recommended to us by a friend. We normally stay in hotels and this was our first time staying in a bungalow. The complex itself is great and the gardens are well kept and lovely to walk around. The bungalow we had consisted of a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom, and was in a quiet area as requested. There was quite alot of clients during our stay, not so many children, but I would imagine that it would be full during the summer as it is so popular. We were all inclusive and the food was good. We also found the staff lovely and helpful. A special thank you to the wonderful Eugenia on reception, Rayco our favourite bar man who always had a smile, Sr.Vega and Rosa. We would recommend this resort and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarecorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Clare,

Thank you very much for the nice review of your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted and happy to hear that you spent wonderful sunny days here on Gran Canaria and that you enjoyed the hospitality, facilities and services provided by the hotel team. Thank you very much for mentioning especially the friendliness of Eugenia, Rosa, Rayco y Manuel Vega, this is much appreciated by all of us.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you soon again,

Best regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have visited, for the third time, and find what appears to be serious cost cutting measures. The food quality and variety has dropped significantly. The staff remains friendly but appear over worked and rushed. Maintenance issues and problems with hot water. The front desk now treats you like the enemy, even accusing me of stealing coffee and tea that were purchased from the corner store. Selling Wifi that isn't working...... Pinching pennies and it shows. We had two previous visits and could not say enough good about the facility. No longer. The surroundings remains beautiful and the housekeeping staff do a great job, although they look overworked too.

Room Tip: The villas are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our resort.
All the comments, which we receive from our guests, are helping us to improve our service and offer.
We really apologize to hear, that you have had inconveniences with our front desk team and with the maintenance of the room. Please be assured that your comments have already been passed to these departments.
Regarding internet connection, we are working to improve this service by installing more signals all over the complex.
We were surprised to read that quality and variety of the food in our restaurant were not to your satisfaction, because we always do our best to maintain a very high standard, offering a variety of thirteen different buffets.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed the surroundings, the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
We hope to welcome you soon again and for any questions or information please do not hesitate to contact our guest relations department.

Best regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautifull resort , quiet, nice surroundings : bungalows scattered in a garden of palmtrees ...
Outstanding meals and services ... Can 't wait to go back ... !

There is no fitnessroom , but there is an outstandig municipal gym in the neighbourhood ...

Want to move around : there is plenty possibilities for walking and you can rent a bike in the nearby shopping centres ,...excellent biking possibilities in Maspalomas !

Room Tip: In wintertime , go for the sunniest bungalows , ... check the resort map by check in, ... you CAN ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WVWVWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality of our food and our services.

Regarding the fitnessroom, we like to point out that our gym was renovated last week and is again available for our guests.

We hope to welcome you soon again and for any questions or information please do not hesitate to contact our public relations department.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first time staying here and alothough I think that we were the only Irish people there it was wonderful. The staff were amazing and extreamly helpful, the suites were spotless and so comfortable. The pool areas were so clean and well taken care of as well as the grounds. My only grip would be that the food was more towards certain parts of europe and not for the other palates, but I did try everying available. Other than that the food was great. I am looking at the moment to book again for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Barbara,

We wish to thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially the comfortable and spotless suites and the pool areas were to your satisfaction.

Regarding the kind words about or staff, please be assured that we passed them on to all of them. Compliments like this motivate us to continue working the way we do.

Concerning your comments about food, your opinion is also much appreciated, as it helps us to improve our service.

We would be more than happy to welcoming you once again next year and remain with

best regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just come back from a stay at this resort and I can't praise it enough. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they all made a big fuss of our 2 year old. We had a one bedroom villa and it was plenty big enough for the three of us, there's a pull out bed in the living area but we took it into the bedroom and even with that in the room, there was still lots of space. I would've liked a kettle in the villa but it's not the end of the world to not have one. We were all inclusive and the food was fantastic. My husband is a chef so not easy to please when eating out but he was very impressed with the standard of the food, he especially enjoyed the meat and our slightly fussy eating 2 year old found plenty of foods he would eat. We were close to 2 pools, both heated and also close to the park which kept our little boy happy and he thoroughly enjoyed himself, we took the free bus to the beach a couple of times and had a day out at the nearby palmitos park but other than that we felt there was plenty to keep us occupied at the resort. All in all we had a great holiday made more special by the lovely welcoming staff and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairepilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Claire,

Thank very much for your positive review of your stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation that much.

We are pleased that you liked our food and we will send your compliments to the kitchen.
Glad to hear that you were satisfied with our staff and that you felt so comfortable in our resort.

Concerning your comment about the kettle we would like to inform you that we are always open for suggestions to improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Best regards,

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere where you can relax in peace and quiet. The one bed appartment we had was not huge but big enough for me and my husband. The appartment was very close to the pool area where one of the pools was heated. We stayed on a half board basis and there was a good variety of food available. The small fridge in the room (empty mini bar) was very useful to keep drinks in. Only thing missing was a kettle in the room. There is a flat walk to the beach which takes about 10 - 15 mins.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dawnandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your open and kind words. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you spent wonderful days in Maspalomas and that you had been very pleased with the facilities and the food.

Regarding the missing kettle in the room, we like to point out, that your comment is much appreciated since it helps us to improve the services we offer to our guests.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a really good stay with my family during christmas new years. The events organized by the resorts were very engaging and entertaining. Excellent heated pool environment even in the coldest months like december. Highly recommend it for families who wish to visit.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amiith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
3.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,971 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#63 of 218 in Maspalomas
3,265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Address: Avda. Sunnair s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $149 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing