We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelming Garden and fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Ranked #3 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Brugg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overwhelming Garden and fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We choose this hotel because we wanted a good hotel in Maspalomas and have been positively surprised in all respects: The staff is kind, full of smiles and willingness to help and serve.
The breakfast is one of the very good one we had, the rooms are spacious, the bed agreeable.
The superb treat is the garden at the pool, large, clean, and green.
We will certainly go again there.

Room Tip: For people wanting a special feeling, take the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    335
    73
    12
    12
See reviews for
321
874
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd break and once again a fabulous experience. The staff really do make this hotel stand out from the crowd. Food was excellent, lots of choices and plentiful, whether it was at breakfast or dinner in the evening. We also found the bar and pool bar prices comparible with local bars.

We were in one of the villas in the grounds and our only negative was a few cockroaches that found there way into the villa. To be fair, our rep was immediately on the case and the hotel acted very quickly treating the rooms and leaving us a tin of spray but for us it did take the edge off what was otherwise a lovely holiday.

This hotel has a certain opulence about it and the features in the plush reception area follow through into all the public areas. The wood finishes are detailed and decorative and are a feature thoughout the hotel and villas. In places they are a little tired but we very much hope the hotel does not lose that opulence and character once the refit is complete.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit and found it was as good as last year. Adjacent to the promenade & stylish shops, this is not an area full of cheap shops. Beautiful gardens and pool area which was spotless. The staff at this hotel are very helpful & friendly.
I understand that it is to be closed May to August 2014 for refurbishment - hopefully it will retain ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had booked the hotel for 1st May -- 8th May next year. We love this hotel and it is one of our favourites. I noticed on here that people had said they were going to refurbish next year. I contacted the hotel direct and they are closing in May until September next year. I rang Thomson and they said they had only just become aware of this fact and are not selling holidays now on these dates. However I looked last night and you could still get a booking. I cancelled mine and had the deposit changed to another holiday I had booked. We will go in October now to make sure the work has been carried out. When they did this to the Clubhotel next door this year people weren't notified until the week before the holiday started and it's a bit late to rearrange then. The hotel is well worth a visit but just avoid May to September next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank jak467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarm cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is lovely especially the villas to which we were upgraded after a horrendous start to our holiday. The Riu hotel next door to this one was being completely refurbished and the wing where we were allocated our room through Thomsons faced onto massive building work. Reception told us to find another hotel when we complained. Half way through the holiday the wing was closed and the disruption from the building work was minimal around the pools and in the main hotel. Food was good and the area the hotel is in feels really safe and fairly up market. Would recommend hotel but not Thomson holidays who must have been aware of building work before our stay. Compensation does not alter a spoiled vacation.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a villa if you can . These are far superior to the rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandichrisrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August, it was perfect for a lazy break to recharge our batteries. The room was lovely and we had a view of the pool and the sea from our balcony. All the staff were friendly and attentive, and the food was excellent quality with a good choice every day. The entertainment was of variable quality but we enjoyed it all the more because of that! I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Where should I start I think all the nice things have been said,the hotel was recommended to us and we were very pleased it was. The staff were really good and this makes so much difference, the only complaint we had was the AC which is centrally controlled and did not seem to do anything apart from keep us hot. We understand the hotel is having a refit next year so hopefully this will be sorted. All in all we were very pleased and will most likely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody35Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
2.3 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Address: Urb Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Maspalomas. Next to the sea and near El Faro. 3-Storey main building and 1-storey villas, surrounded by a 40,000 m2 garden with access to the beachfront promenade. Colonial-style architecture. 800 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing