We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets better and better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Ranked #3 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Riu Palace commencing 6th February 2012.
The Hotel has everything we could wish for, being situated on the lovely promenade at Meloneras and set in attractive and well maintained grounds.
The general facilities are of a high standard, as are restaurant meals, with speciality cooking each evening.
Most evenings, entertainment is provided which again is of a good standard, with the resident band playing each evening.
We have stayed at quite a few Riu Hotels in the past, and this one, for us, stands out as the best. Their repeat bookings must be very high.
What makes this hotel so special, is the friendliness of the staff with service of a very high standard.
There are so many members of staff worthy of mention, that we would simply say to Marina Lopez Arias the Hotel Directora, Congratulations and thank you. Its your staff that keep us coming back to your Hotel, year after year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ECGL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

First time visit to Meloneras having stayed a number of times in Playa Del Ingles, which is now looking very tatty. The hotel and its facilities are excellent, and as everyone else seems to say, the staff are fantastic, especially Martin the singing and dancing bar waiter!! We stayed in one of the apartments within the grounds and it was excellent. It had a lounge with TV and radio, mini bar, large bedroom and bathroom, and private balcony. Plenty of storage space too. Food was plentiful and there was a good choice, even for my parents. We would not hesitate to return and I'm sure my parents will before us, as they have more spare time!!

Room Tip: Apartments within the hotel grounds are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very friendly staff with good choice of food. Good location for disabled. Just don't have room next to the service lift unless you want to be roused at 6 am..Other than that very pleased

Room Tip: see above re room next to service lift.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gilley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I dont normally review something if I have anything negative to say so please dont think this is a bad review its just I was a little dissapointed.

First of all let me say the staff at the Riu Palace are first class and I cant fault any of them, theyre so friendly and helpful and are truly the best asset of this hotel. The hotel itself is immaculately clean and the public areas are spaceous, but its the decoration that lets this place down. Now I know you dont go away to spend hours in your room but surely when you pay for 4star it should reflect this, but the Riu Place is stuck in bad 80s decor, not that the furniture etc is in bad repair its just a bit drab. I did put this down to the fact that the majority of the clients staying there were quite senior but thats no excuse for letting things slip. We last used a Riu about 6 years ago and things are still the same, I suppose if thats what you like then thats fine but in such a competative holiday market you can get that that little bit more that makes something stand out and thats why I think we normally have a villa and do the more independant holiday.
Do use the Krystal dining facility, this is more in line with the modernsation thats required, it would be better if the Riu offered a more flexible dining option instead of the buffet every night and the "show-cooking" isnt that good. But for a week of winter sun it was fine and Meloneras is a nice resort with good restaurants. I would recommend lunch at the Ciao Ciao, good service and nice food. PS if you do an excursion do the Wine trip, its not really about wine and Craig the tour guide is brilliant and so informative about Gran Canaria and its history and culture it was one of the best things about this holiday.

Room Tip: be careful, some of the people we met complained their rooms lacked daylight
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank happytravelsfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Well, we returned yesterday from yet again another wonderful holiday at the Riu Palace Meloneras. The weather was a bit changeable but it is February. The staff were absolutely first class as usual, nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The grounds of the hotel afre incredibly well maintained and looked after, as is the pool area and the pool restaurant.The clientele do seem to be getting older but that has its benefits and disadvantages, for my husband and I it is a benefit because we like the quiet life, not that we do not like children enjoying themselves, but it can be quite noisy at times. We will certainly be returning again. hopefully later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Three years running back to 3 Riu's in February and in this area: the Palmeras, the Maspalomas and now the Palace Meloneras. Hotel almost the twin of the Maspalomas but we prefer this location. Standards are very good across all parameters with outstanding staff. WiFi free but limited to Foyer. Orientation of hotel means some standard rooms do not get the sun this time of year. Photos on here give an accurate impression of the hotel and grounds. Would go back again

Room Tip: Try to get a "sea view" room, pre booking may add E30pp per night? standard rooms facing e...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Love the feel of this hotel and will return.

The Service provided by all of the staff is absolutely outstanding and a huge factor in staying here.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful and a big attraction.
The clientele are older and many are German.
The ambiance is peaceful and classy.
Great location.
2 lovely swimming pools with good temperature.
Lots of sunbeds.
The outside Terraces used for breakfast and drinks are a real treat.
Nice selection of English television channels in Room.
Property itself is attractive and rooms are satisfactory.
Beds are a little too hard.
Restaurant food needs to be improved a little- a little bland and uninspiring at times (eg. Please can we have freshly baked croissants instead of the hard ones currently served at breakfast).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winterwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
4.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort

Address: Urb Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: $258 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Maspalomas. Next to the sea and near El Faro. 3-Storey main building and 1-storey villas, surrounded by a 40,000 m2 garden with access to the beachfront promenade. Colonial-style architecture. 800 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing