We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar / restaurants like this are what Spain's all about!”

Restaurant La Tapita - Los Jose's
Ranked #32 of 672 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Bar / restaurants like this are what Spain's all about!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

What an ace find; we were just walking about. Totally traditional tapas bar rammed with local people. Food quality was excellent and quicker than ordering a Big Mac! No joking, the place is run incredibly efficiently, attentive staff looking for eye contact rather than avoiding it. Ace albondigas and a brilliant twist on tortilla - omelette sliced in half & filled like a Victoria sponge, except with tuna, mayo, tomatoes, chargrilled peppers & grilled courgettes - gonna be making that at home. Perfect spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andresykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    155
    36
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish food (tapas) at good prices”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I went with a small family group and initially was a little put off by the area. This is a rather busy non touristic area, with plenty of people round, so parking was at a premium (easier after 9pm).

There is no menu, but there are daily specials (ours was pan fried fresh cuttlefish) and you go to the counter and pick up from a wide selection of fresh salads, tortillas, sea food and other specialities.

The staff speak Spanish, English and German very well, and some French too. They are incredibly helpful and the kitchen will prepare something else for you if they have the ingredients (so if you want a tortilla with cheese and mushrooms, they can make it just for you!).

There is a selection of meats, fish, and vegetarian options and a few tables outside on the pavement, or tables inside the restaurant.

The Catalan Cream (creme brulee) was excellent, as were the chocolate mousse and tiramisu.

All together, 45 euros for 3 tapas "starters", 2 tapas "main", 3 desserts, 5 beers and the liqueur was offered! You just can't get wrong.

The cooking is also rather authentic and two tables near us were local Canarians, who seemed to return regularly and be known to the staff. The key is to go as a small group and share different dishes to taste if you are not sure of what to eat, just order one per person each first, then go back for more if you want more: take your time and try! It will be worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Binouguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best tapas ever! There is no menu. They make the best tapas from the best ingredients available each day. We paid 40€ for lunch, all together, three adults and one kid. Fantastic place and food! It seems simple, but boy do they surprise in a good way:) pic.twitter.com/LwF77FdI

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ifGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value, great food.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My friend and i went after a recommendation from our hotel (trip advisor reviews backed up our selection!). Small restaurant, simply furnished and decorated, with lovely atmosphere, great staff and gorgeous food. No menu, chose from the counter or ask the staff for specials, everything fresh and cooked to order! Pleasant surprise when the bill came and was approx €17 a person. And we were stuffed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good tapas joint”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Checked Tripadvisor when in Maspalomas and this is number one currently, and it's not that big a mystery.

Ate out almost every night on Gran Canaria and this was the only restaurant that featured locals, often a good sign. The tapas were authentic and very well tasting all around. We had shrimps with mushrooms, guacamole/ham on bread, salmon/ham on bread, shrimps in garlic, squids and potatoes in what was almost a stew, and spanish sausages. Finally we had the grilled cheese. On top of that we had a half bottle of red. All in all about 50 Euro. Excellent value. The only glib was the grilled cheese sobbed a bit in what was almost marmelade. It was the last we had but even if we hadn't been almost full at that time, that dish had the potential to make anyone queasy.

But all in all, a very good visit. Friendly staff and enjoyable joint bar/restaurant setting. Recommendable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaetano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Tapita - Los Jose's also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Restaurant La Tapita - Los Jose's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing