We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming complex. Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Servatur Sun's Gardens Bungalows
Ranked #141 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The complex is small and charming - activity is sunning oneself around the pool. The bungalows are all within a couple of metres to a stones throw from the pool. We found that lovely. We had number 15 and a few steps only from the pool. Perfect. In busy times that might not be ideal if there was lots of splashing etc.

Pool is COLD!! No doubt about it!! If you are thinking of swimming frequently hmmm, not sure if you will here. I always swim and couldn't bring myself to use it once! One or two very young children happily used it though. No on-site facilities for children ie swings, games room etc.

The shop/reception/bar is next to the pool.English is well spoken. Beer is icy cold and about 2.80 euro for a large one. Cocktails freshly made are 4.95euro. Meals are freshly cooked and pizza is about 6 euro. Breakfast about 4 e I think. Other usuals range from burgers and chips to spag bog and steak, about 3-6 euro. Barbeque on Thurs looked great, French man cooking it.

Apartments are very clean and on 2 levels.( All are ground floor so no high-rises). I found my bed and pillow comfortable. We were coldish at night and got extra blankets from reception. The pool area is cleaned and maintained daily and the rooms are cleaned about every other day. Ample. Piping hot shower water.

I never found my way around the resort proper. 'Residential' I now realise means away from resort. Is there a resort???? There are lots of 'centres' which are shopping and restaurants combined but these often seem to be away from any beach. And were either very busy and full of sales people hassling customers, or deserted and a bit miserable.

Holiday world is an amusements type place about 5 -10 mins walk from the apartments with ATM. We found it miserable because it was very quiet, plus we had no children to entertain. In high season might be an evening blessing for young families.

There is a free bus from the apartment complex round the corner, follow the supermarket sign. This bus departs and returns a few times a day to Playa del Ingles beach. We did not know about this and really feel we missed out. I spent 2 or 3 days of our 5 days, walking around with the map trying to find the quickest route to a beach. I ran one day and it still took me 20 mins (excluding the time spent getting lost sooo many times) so I would love to know which beach anyone finds that can be walked pleasantly in 20 mins. I am sure it is there!! We walked to Masapalomas beach and that seems the furthest away on the map. We got lost finding it but it probably is about a 30 minute walk. As one reviewer says, follow the dried out canal.

Taxis are plentiful, immaculate and about 3-3.80 euro depending on where you are going, You pay the price on the meter and it is all very easy and non threatening.

We dressed up and taxied into Chapparel centre a couple of evenings; good restaurants and pubs; English and dutch and nice food and much less manic than Yumbo centre. Quizs and bingo etc. Friendly. But again, just a small shopping complex really, no resort atmosphere as such.

I went with my adult daughter and we loved relaxing by the pool for the day and having our own 'home' a step away, and the bar across from the pool for cold drinks or morning coffee. It was

I missed not being able to walk into the heart of the resort.

All in all a very pleasant experience with our accommodation. Could not fault it, but location off key for me.

2 videos here of accommodation. I must have a sad life!!! http://youtu.be/0GfqlIt6508
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GfqlIt6508&feature=youtu.be

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bobbieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 131 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

My Wife and I recently returned from a week's holiday staying at the Sun Gardens. Whilst a little run down we found the accomodation to be clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant although not on sight in the evenings.Quite a long way from thr beach but easy to get a taxi for around 4 Euros. Was dissapointed with the 'Gardens' for which the name of the accomodation implied.
Suggest readers should ignore bad reports on Sun Gardens - just what do people expect when paying so little

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Coreyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stay in SunGarden last year,may.First off all we was surprized,realy good,nice,quit,clean accomondation for small price.The reception staff was very fredly,snack bar nice.The pool clean.Probably just one bad thing-quit far for walk to beach.But who looking quit short brake in Maspalomas-that good choise.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vychinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The bungaloes were very run down. Tiles on the floors are chipped. The floor was dirty when we arrived. Dried in coffee on the floor. The sheets - well what can I say, I think they were there from the eighties. Green and ugly and paper thin. there were no stoppers in the bathroom for either the sink or the bath and the toilet seat was broken. Most of the stock in the shop is well out of date. There complex was full of spanish people. They were extremely noisy and rude. took over the whole place including my terrace. We couldnt even sit out during the day. They just stayed on the complex all day and they dont talk they shout. After midnight they were jumping in the pool. The person on reception was very helpfull.We had to leave the complex everyday and walk around. Too far from everything. Too far to walk so a taxi everytime which all added up. We asked for extra pillows as we only had one each but they only gave us one extra. Definately wouldnt return.

Room Tip: opposite the bar, gets the sun all day but there is a main road behind them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Arrived at 6pm.Got keys from reception, ,just up stairs as you come in then immediate left.Accomodation had everything you could require for a holiday let.There are three areas beside your accomodation.First,there is a small shop for immediate basics you might need.Second next to it,is the reception area.Third there is a kitchen and bar area for breakfast and snacks and drinks.
This accomodation is very good value for money.Deserves to be a 2 key

Room Tip: ask for room numbers1 - 6.they get the sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fez64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed there as a couple. Knew it would be quite a walk into Maspalamass. Follow the large drainage ditch as this is the quickest route. A taxi was less than 4 euros to get back from faro or the beach. Very clean well kept complex but basic one person running bar, reception and shop. Bar-b-q very good. Met a very nice goup of people there British, Finish. and Danish. This is the only holiday we have been abd not felt that we needed to go out. Spent alot of time lazing around pool. ery good value for money

Room Tip: Ask if you can have near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricia428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

we stayed here in April 2011, when we arrived it was about half 9 in the evening and the hotel was in complete darkness with no one to greet us. After moping around wondering what to do for 20 minutes another couple arrived and had the same problem, eventually we found a tiny post it note on the bar (which shuts at about 8 oclock) with our names on instructing us to our relevant rooms. Hotel duplex apartments are lovelly though, you have a table and chairs out the front and a small private patio out the back. Rooms were clean. Pool was clean but freezing. Staff at the hotel were polite enough but didn't go out there way to help out as much as other hotels we've stayed in. Masspolomas yumbo centre is a right laugh and the drag queens are extremely entertaining. I would highly recommend this to the LGBT community.
The weather was a bit overcast everyday untill about 11AM when the sun then started to shine all day and temperatures got up to about 28 degrees. Take a jacket out on the nighttime though because it can feel chilly when you've been sat in the sun all day.
The starlight bar (about a 20 minute stagger away from the hotel) was a great karaoke bar open untill 4 in the morning for those who really want to party hard. Pleant of nice restaurants too round the local area.

Would highly recommend for a cheap break towards the begining of the year

Room Tip: Remember to check the safe when leaving, if your like my partner then you come back a mobile phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samh186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
#102 of 218 in Maspalomas
824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 218 in Maspalomas
699 reviews
3.6 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#46 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,571 reviews
1 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#53 of 218 in Maspalomas
2,325 reviews
0.8 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Sun's Gardens Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Sun's Gardens Bungalows

Address: C/ Virgo no 2, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Servatur Sun's Gardens Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pleasant holiday complex situated in the well known tourist resort called Campo Internacional in Maspalomas, at the south of Gran Canaria. Servatur Sun's Gardens consists of 42 duplex apartments in rows with parking, reception, lounge, swimming pools, snack bar and mini-market. Distribution: First floor: separate bedroom (twin-bedded) and complete bathroom. Ground floor: sitting room with TV (dutiable) and sofa-bed. The kitchen is equipped with cupboards, fridge and two electric cooking rings, service, glassware, cooking utensils, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Servatur Sun's Gardens Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Sun`s Gardens Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Servatur Sun's Gardens Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing