We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but good”
Review of Samsara

Samsara
Ranked #22 of 686 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A different way to enjoy in Maspalomas. International cuisine for share with oriental flavors. Intimate and original surrounded by nature in the south of Gran Canaria.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My self,my wife,daughter,son in law and granddaughter visited this restaurant on Wednesday
25.6.14. We were met on arrival by a very pleasant waiter and shown straight to a table. The rest of the staff couldn't do enough for us and explained the menu. What came next was a big surprise they made a fantastic design on my granddaughters plate and even put her name on it and made a big fuss of her
Samosas arrived my son in law commented that we're possibly the best he has ever had.
The starters could not be faulted in any way, the main courses were explained as best order 2 mains and share as the dishes are very big and they was right. Unfortunately we didn't leave room for desert but will definatly be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi Paul W

Really thanks a lot for your words, we hope to offer you oir work (and desserts) on a next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very eclectic atmosphere. The staff and owner are fantastic and very helpful. They were more than willing to try to help us in English, which was much appreciated. The food is proportioned for sharing so order accordingly. We enjoyed our meals. Everything was fresh and well-prepared. Our children, who are late teens, found the food a bit too unusual for their taste.

1  Thank herezaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hi herezaq

Thanks a lot for your words, because we try to offer something different and good :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was fantastic and enjoying every dish that we was giving and the restaurant deco was done to a very high standard and you could not help but to look at the beautiful deco all the time as there is so much to see!! The food itself was just a dream and enjoy every mouthful. Just one thing that did not impress me at all was one waiter a man who was from Cuba? He walk around looking like he was half asleep and when he spoke to us he had attitude problem, when speaking to us he appear to be very snobbery!! The next waiter who serve us was a lady from Germany and she was the best of all, so friendly and ready to advice us what to eat, always had a smile and very down to earth!! The starter and main course was just fantastic! Best of all came the dessert and my god that was a dream and the decoration was amazing, the plate was decorated with a painting of a mermaid with a bird head and claws for hands and the colouring was just wow!! The price was very reasonable and it actually surprised us all as we expected it to be more then what it was price as, so that ending it with a very enjoyable evening!! THANKS FOR THE FABULOUS EVENING :-)

1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hi Robert H!

Thanks a lot for your comment, we hope to offer you our work on your next visit to Maspalomas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Samsara is an Asian fusion restaurant. The restaurant is decorated in a delightfully idiosyncratic manner that looked to me to be largely Thai or Burmese with a hint of Mongolian thrown into the mix. We liked that very much. The staff are also mostly dressed to suit the decor.

As a new visitor it is suggested that since dishes are large, all should be shared between two - ie buy one starter, one main and one desert. . There is a fairly long menu with the first two pages suggested for starter and the next two for main course. there were also some specials but strangely as first timers at the restaurant we were not offered these.

We chose a prawn thai red curry starter. Which was averagely good. A little under powered in the chili department but somehow over salted. The prawns were good, the rest of the sauce filled with an indeterminate bulking vegetable, possibly onion? It came with a bowl of well made rice done in a middle eastern style.

Our main dish was chicken with a teriyaki sauce . It was distinctly over seasoned and in all other regards unmemorable. It came with a small bowl of cous cous that was a nod to Asian fusion but totally unsuited to the dish. Overall a big disappointment.


We decided we wouldn't eat dessert or take coffee at the restaurant - no point in risking any further disappointment - so asked for the bill. This took 15 minutes to arrive! Not a great way to end a brief relationship with the restaurant.

For Maspalomas, ,Samsara is unusual in its attempt to create a bit of eccentric variety, but don't go with any expectation that it is a great or even very good restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterLovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hello PeterLovett.

Provably what people are raving about us is because they people have very strange tastes. Some people are so strange then they are even able to find salt in a dish that does NOT has any salt.

In any case, if your account really had a delay of 15 minutes, I present you my apologies ... and I hope you hadn't find it salty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Since my review in January 2014, we've been back to gran canaria in march and may, in march we ate at samsara three times and in may also, every time was simply perfect. Every time we go we take friends something I always worry about as there's nothing worse than recommending then being let down...however samsara has never ever let us down. Every person that we have taken there has raved about the food and the entire ambience of the place and have gone back again.
After every visit we go away wanting more and never leave without booking a table for our next visit.
Samsara and all the team there, we thank you for looking after us our friends and our taste buds so wonderfully.
Please never let your standards drop.
Jules and Scott xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Hi Jules and Scott!

Always a pleasure. U know ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samsara also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing