We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place!”
Review of Samsara

Samsara
Ranked #22 of 686 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A different way to enjoy in Maspalomas. International cuisine for share with oriental flavors. Intimate and original surrounded by nature in the south of Gran Canaria.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I really can't praise this place highly enough! We ate here on our last trip to Gran Canaria - The food is amazing, the surroundings and atmosphere fabulous, and the staff friendly and attentive but discreet ! Perfect! I'd return to GC for a holiday just to eat here again ... The best Foie Gras I've ever eaten - been trying to replicate it (and failing ;-( ever since ;-) - book in advance ... If you miss it, you'll miss out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lian0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi Lian!

Thanks a lot for your words.

It's really nice you tried to replicate our Foie, but don't worry, when you do something with love you never fail... Anyway you know now where you can eat our foie ;)

Hope to see you next time in Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a really cool place - outdoor area is fab, Buddha statues, lanterns, chill out music. Food is very good - waiter advised to share 1 starter and 1 main as portions are HUGE. We had black pasta seafood to start which was absolutely gorgeous and Rendang curry for mains which was good too. By far the most interesting looking restaurant in Maspalomas. Service was excellent.The chill out area/terrace is great to have after dinner drinks. Would definitely recommend and will go back next time we're in Gran Can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mia1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi Mia,

Thanks a lot for your words, we hope next time you'll enjoy again our work :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Brill. You must go- best place we've visited by far. Aesthetically it's beautiful surroundings, lush greenery, Buddha statues, hanging lanterns etc. all the waiting staff are very welcoming and competently talk through the menu in several languages and know their wine list very well. We come rely indulged and had a bottle of red and a white and both were great. Brilliant and imaginative sharing menu. We had duck confit salad for starters and then Penang curry for mains. Huge amounts of both and they were both stunning ( I suggest starving g yourself before you go as you will no doubt eat a lot). We spent the full evening their having a leisurely meal including g and t's on terrace to start, a pudding and coffees. @115 euros we think it was good value ( remember we did have two bottles of red wine). BUT remember to book a table! This place is very popular! We are only sad that we won't have time before we leave to go again- a wonderful chilled out experience- thankyou!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheffwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hi Sheffwithkids!

Thanks a lot for your words, it's really a compliment to our work :)

And thanks a lot to recomend to other people to book in advance, as you can see, most of coments who say we're a bad restaurant is just for that problem. Usually we could't offer an option withour a booking.

We hope to see you next time in Maspalomas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a meal at Samsara last night and it was absolutely amazing. I have travelled to many countries and dined in some impressive restaurants but this place is unique.
The food is just full of flavour. The staff really seems to enjoy their jobs and get so interested in the food.
We went in T-Shirt and shorts (sorry) so the only thing we would do next time is put a shirt on. It wasn't all formal dressed but the occasion and atmosphere is special and should be treated as such.
So, roll on Sunday because the first thing we did was book to go again.
You need to try this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhysjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hi Rhys and Jon!!!

Really thanks a lot for your words, it's really nice you've enjoyed our work as much to try a second time in your holidays

We hope the second visit was as interesting as first one and see you next time in Maspalomas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

On many occasions we had holidayed in Maspalomas, we had wandered past Samsara during the day, when it was usually closed. A reservation is needed and we had read many good reviews on Trip Advisor. At the start of our last holiday, however, we were fortunate to meet a member of the staff and were able to make a booking.

The décor of the restaurant is sensational, mainly of a far eastern theme. We were guided to our seat and were given a very helpful explanation of the concept of “fusion food” and advised that one starter and one main course were usually adequate for two people. We made our choice and were not disappointed. The quality of the food was excellent and it was beautifully prepared. We enjoyed not just the meal, but the whole experience so much, that we booked for another evening during our stay.

The experience was just as good on our second visit and, going back to the matter of making a reservation, we were told that this could now be done on-line. Next time, we certainly will. The meals and drinks for the two of us came to about €90 on each occasion and, for the quality of the experience, we considered it very good value. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anon Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsara-Maspalomas, Propietario at Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hi Anon Nemo!

Thanks a lot for your words. Specially because you knew us before coming, and that implies that you came with a desire to know our work. You have repeated and enjoyed the environment that we offer, and it is really a compliment.
We hope to see them again next time they come to Maspalomas and that you continue to find our work equally nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samsara also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing