We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation roulette worth the chance?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Maspalomas
Ranked #110 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Brighton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Accommodation roulette worth the chance?”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked via "on the beach", there were three pricing options so we plummeted for the most expensive as we wanted a nice room for two weeks.

As we had read that the apartments are in different blocks and styles etc some much worse than others.

We checked in at 01.15 on the 7 October. Check in was fine then we where given a map to the apartment. The map highlighted three pools the largest one is empty and the other two are tiny and we never bothered due to the size and location of the pools plus you are on top of the beach here.

The apartments are located on both sides of a small road very near Maspalomas beach and lagoon.

On arriving at our room I was horrified it looked like something from the 60s,

Dirty and tatty sofa, an old box tv with a money meter, there was no real kitchen but a cupboard that you would have struggled making a sandwich in. The beds where old wooden with rickety springs and with fixed shutters if the window making the place feel like a cell.

The bathroom got worse there was the smallest shower I had ever seen, admittedly I'm 6ft 5 but it's was about 600 by 600 meaning as I struggled to shower I flooded the bathroom.

We complained them we had to check out the next day before 12 and wait with our cases for another room and despite paying the top rate for a top floor we were moved to a first floor apartment four hours after checking out.

We were not very happy but as this room was better than the first we just took it.

It's clear that the lagoon view rooms which their are less off are given to clients who are staying here for 1 week. This means they are likely to get more positive reviews whilst mugs like us staying here for two weeks and paying for the better rooms get stuck in the older apartments.

However the cleaner was amazing coming all days except the usual Sunday and Thursday (usual in gran canaria)

Would I book here again? Well only if I booked direct with a promise of a lagoon view room, there are blocks of awful apartments and paying the different price options obviously has no bearing on where you will be placed.

So of you are coming here don't bother paying for a better room as it's a game of accommodation roulette where you will be placed so don't bother paying more than you have to.

Most rooms have no AC this is our 7th time in GC and the first without AC we where concerned at first but due to the location and the fact we where moved we were able to open both balconies to allow the sea breeze through. However there is a note in every apartment that instructs you never to leave the patio doors or windows open at night!!!!!

This is a worry if you are nervous or a line traveler or perhaps have a child it would be impossible to sleep here without the patio door open. We have 4 days left and as yet we have not been broken into or murdered in our sleep :-)

There is a noisy dog in the street living opposite 4 blocks of the apartments that other people have written about and the owner lets it our during siesta when it constantly barks this may annoy some of you.

The apartments we where is were located between two small roads traffic is light but frequent and there were some glass recycling bins up the road which when the bars open or closed was very noisy too.

We hired a car from plus car for two weeks very cheap the only problem was parking near the apartment you can get a space after 6pm but before 7pm or after 10pm as the road is used by people visiting the beach or dinning so it's a but frustrating but if you time it well we only had a problem on two days and parking is free.

The location is perfect for families, couples be that straight or gay.
I think some of the apartments are suitable for disabled people too but again dependant on your need you may need more of a guarantee which apartment you will be in.

There is the family beach less than 5 mins walk, the nudist beach is 10 and the gay beach just 15 mins away.

It's about 5 euros to the Yumbo in playa del ingles.

Overall it's a good average place if you don't get stuck in the old blocks and if you do don't expect a smooth move if you are unhappy with your room as you are made to check out and then check back in a few hours later!!!

If you are more interested in location then this is better than any of the campo international which are all hideous and out of the way.

In short I wouldn't rate it overall as high as other travellers as I'm rating the entire complex and experience not just the amazing lagoon view rooms as very few people will get one of those rooms.

They need to really sort out the apartments so they are all an acceptable standard then I feel a score of 4 out of 5 would be valid.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottBN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
14
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We've just checked out had a wonderful time here in fact was our 2nd time to stay in oasis .. We were in block 4 apartment 8 .. Was clean & spacious the two balconies were great benefit to keep place cool .. Staff very friendly & helpful cleaning staff excellent honestly couldn't say anything bad to be able to pay the price and be so close to beach .. Hooefully ill get back next year .. & would love to get one of the apartments overlooking the lagoon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have just returned from the Oasis Maspolomas apartments. On arrival at the reception we were told that our apartment was still being cleaned and would be about half an hour. We were eventually allocated apartment 4 in block 5, on arrival we was pleased to see that we was on the front and had a good view from our balcony of the nature reserve and lagoon.
On entering the apartment from the front balcony we were in the lounge area which was fairly large with a settee, a dining table and 4 chairs and a television. The furniture, fixture and fitting were practicable and in good condition if a little dated.
Next to the lounge was a small galley style kitchen with plenty of modern units, a large fridge freezer, kettle, toaster and a filter coffee maker. The kitchen has a small hob with only two hot rings and no oven this was of no concern to us as we had no intention of cooking. During our stay we did have a visit from cockroaches but this was quickly sorted with some spray and we had no further problems.
The bathroom had a very modern sink, with older bidet, toilet and bath with mixer tap and shower over head, the first couple of days we had a problem with the shower going cold but this was sorted by waiting 15 – 20 minutes between showers. We did have a problem with a unit placed on the wall directly above the sink this prevented you leaning over the sink to wash your face or brush teeth.
The bedroom had two single beds which whilst they did not look very good we found firm and extremely comfortable. There was a double hanging wardrobe with a limited number of coat hangers (more may be required) and a single wardrobe with shelving, along with a dressing table and bedside cupboards so plenty of storage space. There was another balcony off the bedroom which overlooked the road and whilst not very scenic it did catch the late afternoon sun
There are plenty of electric sockets around the apartment and a small extension lead in the kitchen which my partner used to get near the mirror to use hair straighteners.
The apartment was generally tired but bedding and surfaces were clean and useable.
The balcony overlooking the lagoon and the promenade was a real joy and we spent many hours on there people watching and watching the wildlife and by the end of the 10 days we were able to feed some small birds by hand.
The apartment was well located and the beach and restaurants were within two or three minutes walk away.
On talking to other guests it became apparent that all the apartments are different, some were better than ours and some not so good and therefore it is difficult to recommend, however we would certainly return and harmed with our apartment layout would hope to choose the apartment and block in which to stay.
These apartments are rated 2/3 star and are priced accordingly and my rating takes this into account.

Room Tip: Blocks facing the lagoon / beach are preferential
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I arrived with no passport, cash or credit card, having left it all on the bus. For the day and a half it took to get everything back, they gave me credit in their mini-market and offered to lend me cash, if I wanted. They did everything they could think of to help. Apartments themselves are fine, although a bit basic. 3 small swimming pools. Location is great for those interested in walking, jogging and/or beach. Very quiet and peaceful, slightly disturbed only by the frequent buses.

Room Tip: Not advisable for anyone interested in anything Spanish - not the hotel, not the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, East Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at these apartments in October 2012 and after 1 day had to be moved to another apartment as the door would not lock. The second apartment stank of damp everywhere and even made our clothes smell with no way to get them dry. There was also very poor lighting on the stairways and round the outside of the apartment entrances.

Although the location was brilliant and the dunes fantastic fun,I would go back but only if I were staying somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

Dolgellau
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our second visit to the Oasis Maspalomas apartments. The accommodation is split over several two and three storey buildings on two sides of the street. On our previous visit we stayed in a room facing the beach. but on this occasion we were allocated an apartment with the bedroom overlooking the main street. On our first morning the shops directly opposite opened at 8am and immediately played their music quite load, but this paled into insignificance when the 'bin' lorry arrived 20 mins later. The noise was terrible and sleep was then impossible. We naively though it might be a weekly collection, but sadly not and each morning we were woken between 8.15 and 8.45 by the rubbish collection if we'd managed to sleep through the other noise. It brought into focus the true effect of having no air conditioning as we had to have the louvre slats open to keep cool at night, but naturally they let in all the noise!

On a positive note, the apartment itself was excellent - 3 mins to the beach, clean with a balcony on either side. The cleaner visits 5 out of 7 days and towels and bedding were changed every 4 days. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and when our hot water heater developed a leak on Saturday evening it was all repaired and fixed by the time we returned from the beach on Sunday evening. This accommodation really presents a bit of a conundrum - they would undoubtedly benefit from a refurbishment throughout and the addition of air conditioning, but that would then be reflected in the price, which would put them into competition with some of the other more expensive accommodation on offer in Maspalomas. We paid just over £600 for 14 nights which was tremendous value for money given the location - if we'd have been allowed to wake up at our own time, we'd certainly have given a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: We had room 11 near to and facing the Samsara Restaurant - it was VERY noisy in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_williams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very good value holiday with one of the best locations for the price, better than some of the 5 star hotels. Staff very friendly and helpful.beach only 50 metres away. excellent food close by the best one being Bodega ate their 4 times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandsamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.0 mi away
El Capricho Apartamentos
El Capricho Apartamentos
#82 of 220 in Maspalomas
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#6 of 220 in Maspalomas
716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
762 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunaoasis Maspalomas Apartments
Dunaoasis Maspalomas Apartments
#42 of 175 in Maspalomas
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Maspalomas

Property: Oasis Maspalomas
Address: Av. del Oasis 14, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Maspalomas Apartments is a complex along the Avenue Oasis in front of Maspalomas beach. It consists of different buildings and it is suitable for families. One of the main advantages is its location, as it is very close to a golf course, the bus station, bars, restaurants and shops. The complex also features 24 hour reception, mini-market, laundry service. Its distance from the airport is 32km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasis Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing