We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, high price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Senador

El Senador
Ranked #142 of 666 Restaurants in Maspalomas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, high price”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I ate here on a Sunday lunchtime and had an acceptable pizza and my friend ate prawns. The service was good, and smart china but it didn't quite justify the price.
Good selection on the menu
Lovely views out to sea, with plenty of seats undercover.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonSpagoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    298
    155
    85
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanstead Abbotts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“El Senador”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located right by the Light House, on the beach at the beginning of the Boulevard El Faro, this restaurant is huge and although I would advise to book, we managed to get a table for 6 the first time round. We liked it and returned on our last day. I recall having some succulent Moules Marinières. This is prime location. They even had a fashion shown as the size of the restaurant allows the models to walk around very comfortably around without being too close to the tables.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Katastrophe”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Never again! We are running 2 restaurants in switzerland. Just because we are not looking like rich people, we were treated like the last guest- nobody took care and the prices are much tooo high for what you get!!! Food was bad. We would never go again and definitely not recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasthaus_Islen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SUPERB LOCATION”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

At Maspalomas beach, the restaurant is open the whole day serving drinks, tapas, a meal... at night becomes a charming place for a romantic dinner... but, it is really pricey for the cooking level. So, don't expect the most from the dishes, just correct.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tbanobre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good quality food and ok service.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We had the canarian potatoes and rock salt pimientoes to start; both a little bland but authentic. Seafood paella was good. The waiter did his job but grudgingly. It deserves its 4 stars but must try harder on service to get 5. Still recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Senador also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to El Senador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing