We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in centrum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Post
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oskarshamn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in centrum”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Slept one night. Soft beds and nice breakfast. Rooms are bit old and that way bit small but all is there. Wifi and dinner is included in room price and that is really plus for service. Liked it and will go again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luki_koskinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnusStrandman S, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Post, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much Luki for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back.

With best regards
Magnus Strandman
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    87
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
107
11
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel one night on business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the included evening meal, do not see that too often. The food itself was very basic though, not much of a culinary experience. The dining area also not very cozy, a bit like a canteen.

Stayed in the annex, I presume it´s cheaper (booked by my employer), and it was OK. Got a room facing eastwards with a balcony, a small view.

Breakfast also on the average side, but all in all a fairly OK hotel. I think it´s quite a leap from "average" to "very good", miss the option in between which I would like to give this hotell - a "good".

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the main building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visby, Sweden
Level Contributor
211 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times and really loved it until I booked it through internet. I got a good price for it but oops, you get a bad room in the "other" shabby building. So beware to not book through internet if you want a nice and cozy room. Call them direct or book through direct contact with sending them an email and important to say that you want to stay in their main building where the reception is always manned. The other building doesn't even have a reception. And even though the receptionist (on a sunday) told us that the standard is the same, it definitely is NOT. So watch out. If a low budget is more important than the ambiance and comfort, you can book through internet. But if you want a nicer room for a little more cost (very little difference), you should definitely call them direct. Another thing is, that the real staff are not working on sundays at the reception. So if you have any problems, its good to know that only a part-time worker is taking care of the reception on sundays. Also the kitchen is bad on sundays. The real cook is not there, so the poor receptionist has to take care of the kitchen and the reception. That means, the service quality is really not the same on sundays. If you need to spend a night at Oskarshamn, try to spend a night there on a weekday at the Clarion at the "main building". Then it is a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Never take a room in the buiding across the street from the main building. Take a room in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyla20120702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Me and my wife always used the Post Hotel in Oskarshamn on our trips from and to Gotland and generally we have been very pleases with the standard and the service. This time (June 2012) the hotel was renovated with a styled 70-ish atmosphere. Looks fancy, but you begin to wonder why, the old style was rustic.. We booked the room on the Internet, and thought we would get the same standard as usual. But beware: those rooms you book on the internet might be in the annex on the other side of the street! The girl in the reception on Sunday said it would be the same standard, but that is not true. No working heater, no bath, no useful shower (far to small/low, if you are over 165 cm), it smelled mould, the beds felt like camping beds, to use the sauna in the main building you'll have to dress and cross the street.. Regarding food: avoid the free evening buffet! But the breakfast was really good with fresh fruits and bread.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building! (not clearly stated on the internet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laotse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Such a trendy and cool place to be. Great rooms, great breakfast and great food. The lady in the reception was really service minded and smiled the whole time. Big Smart-TV's in the room, so you can surf the web. Minibar is different from others. Healthy snacks. Free coffee and tea. Great bathrooms. Thumbs up :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a nice hotel at an affordable price and situated right at the town square. We were lucky to get a large room with a view over the town square.
The included breakfast is not continental and even by Swedish standards a minimum.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel is placed in downtown and just 5 minutes walking from the habour.
The rooms are quite small but confortable. It is available a good breakfast and a small but good dinner.
Just a single comment: when you close the curtain there were some space between it and the window and it is not too good in a place were the sunrise is about 3 AM in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas_SP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oskarshamn hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sjofartshotellet
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Corallen
0.2 mi away
Hotell Ett
Hotell Ett
#3 of 5 in Oskarshamn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adels Hotell & Rekreation
Adels Hotell & Rekreation
#2 of 5 in Oskarshamn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotell Rum Oscar
#3 of 5 in Oskarshamn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.6 mi away
First Camp Gunnarso
First Camp Gunnarso
#1 of 3 in Oskarshamn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Post

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Post
Address: Stora Torget, Oskarshamn 57233, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Oskarshamn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oskarshamn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing