We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceed our expectations”
Review of Mora Hotell & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mora Hotell & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mora
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceed our expectations”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived not knowing what to expect only to be told that we had been upgraded even though it looked very busy judging by the amount of cars in the parking lot. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable with a great little view across to the lake only down was the weather, but that couldn't be helped. Would highly recommend this place for dinner and breakfast also. Yummy food with great staff especially André who is just fab and very proud of his hometown of Mora.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Banank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely praise of our hotel, restaurant and staff.
It is always a pleasure to be able to upgrade a guest and surpass theire expectations.
I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, which we are very proud of. André is a gem and I will tell him that you thought so too.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    87
    63
    21
    4
See reviews for
67
94
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Best Western in Mora is in a good location really close to a lake and not far to walk around town. The Lobby is clean, they have a room with books and computers (we didn't use it) with chairs to relax in. The room was small for USA standards but typical for Sweden and had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was small but clean. I think this was the place you could rent an extra town or robe if you wanted to use the spa/pool. The restaurant was closed so we walked across the street and turned right and walked around the lake until we came to a restaurant. We asked for outside seating, it was really pleasant. The food was FANTASTIC!! I wish I could remember the name of it. I had the pork loin, it was tender and cooked to perfection. I would have eaten there every night had we stayed more than one night! We walked around town, but everything was closed by the time we had finished dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is always a great pleasure to know that we have met with the guests expectations. and maybe surpassed it.
Welcome back an other time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angered, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Mora for one night in May 2014.

The room: clean with a very comfortable bed. We were upgraded from a standard to a business, which was very lovely of the hotel. The only point worth mentioning to future guests: the room was incredibly HOT. The hotel did, however, put a table fan in the room, so we did not need to complain or mention it to staff. For this reason, I don't list the temperature as a negative. It was hot when we walked in, so we plugged in the fan. End of story. The view from the window was of the lake, which was beautiful. Well worth waking up to in the morning.

The breakfast: huge and had a good selection of fruit. My partner and I are vegan and would have liked the breakfast items to be labelled for allergies (he is lactose intolerant, so it matters!), but - even without the labels - we did not go hungry. We just adapted and fully enjoyed the fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet. And we left full and happy.

Atmosphere: We were one of the few guests that were not part of a large tour group. You would never know this though because the staff did not show that they had a large tour group or show any signs of stress. A very good sign.

Staff: friendly

Parking: Free and close to the hotel

If I had it to do all over again...I would have booked a massage at the spa because it would surely have been worth it. Next time...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind Review of our hotel. It is Always a great pleasure to know that we have succeeded in our effort to make our guest feel welcome and at home.
We hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel and the Beautiful Dalarna in the heart of Sweden.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Location beside the main road and close to lake and pedestrian street is great. Facilities are well maintained. Rooms clean and nice. Beds comfortable to sleep in. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Garage is pretty small, only 4-5 cars fit in. So, book you place in advance if you want to have your car inside.

Restaurant is nice but food average. Only their own burger meal is value for money. Service is super slow as well as kitchen and I've seen more customer oriented service staff. If I would not stay at a hotel, I would not choose that restaurant, though breakfast is really good.

SPA is small and crowded at least during holiday season when families with children plays there. If you borrow the bath rock and swimming suit, prepare to pay around 200SEK/set.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Our hotel is extreamly populare during the winter and summer seasons due to our excellent location and range of services.
Our restaurant is widly considered to be one of the best in the region, specialising in game dishes and local produce. If you take the quality of the food into consideration you will find that it is good value for money, so also the knowledgeable staff.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Everytime business brings me into the vicinity of Mora, I make sure to dine at the Best Western restaurant.
One rarely has the chance to dine in a place with such knowledgable staff and food that is not in the possession of stars or other prices.
They also have a vast beer selection which you need to test.
The starters and main courses are excellent and so far I haven't had anything that I didn't enjoy.
The hotel is a typical chain type of hotel and quite boring and old so having stayed there one night out of necessity, I will plan my trips better in the future and seek out something else.
But the restaurant I do recommend warmly!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,
It is always a great pleasure to read a review like yours about our reataurant, the excellence of our food and staff. Thank you.
The hotel may be old, established in 1830, but it is definitly not a "typical chain type of hotel".
If you were not pleased with your room it may have to do with the fact that you get what you pay for. I strongly advice you to spend an extra 150 SEK next time you are in Mora and book a Business room, which is 50% larger, refurbished 2013 and with a view over lake Siljan.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked 2 rooms for 2 families as 2 of us had birthdays. We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were ok, old fashioned design but pretty clean. There were 8-9 lamps in each room and it felt a bit too much, the beds and the sofa were ok the bathroom maybe felt a bit small but it was at least clean. The problem was that the staff were unfriendly , at first the woman at the reception talked to me like she couldn't believe we booked a room at all. Then when we asked for a parking lot she was a bit annoyed and when we asked for a pillow for the sofa, as there was none, she came very irritated and gave me the pillow without saying a single word. The hotel is located in a great spot near the lake and Mora and Dalarna are wonderful but I am never going to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We make a point of preserving our local cultural inheritance and are proud of being able to incorporate some of this in our design sceams for the hotel. If that is what you mean by old fashioned you are in the wrong place.
If the staff seemed unfriendly I humbly apologise for this.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Mora. The room was large enough for us (two adults and one 10 y old).
Comfortable beds and a large bathroom.
Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. The spa was nice and the pool was Clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind Review of the hotel and our facilities.
We hope that you will come back to us soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mora
0.3 mi away
Hotell Fridhemsgatan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Siljan
Hotel Siljan
#4 of 5 in Mora
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Mora Parken
Hotel Mora Parken
#3 of 5 in Mora
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Dalecarlia
0.7 mi away
Hotell Kung Gosta
Hotell Kung Gosta
#5 of 5 in Mora
40 reviews
19.9 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tallberg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mora Hotell & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mora Hotell & Spa

Property: Mora Hotell & Spa
Address: 12 Strandgatan, Mora 792 30, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County > Mora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mora Hotell & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1830 Mora Hotell has been welcoming travelers to Mora. With its unbeatable location right in the center of Mora,overlooking Lake Siljan, the hotel is an obvious choice for many visitors. Within a radius of about 100 m you will find shopping, culture and landmarks like the Zorn Museum, the Vasaloppet goal, exciting activities, sports and stunning scenery. A short drive (15-30 min) you will find Santaworld, Orsa Bear Park and Polar World. Excellent cross country and down hill skiing at Gesundaberget and Grönklitt and lots of fun activities for young and old. Nusnäs Dalahorse Manufacturing, Dalhalla outdoor consert hall and much more ... .l Really good food is dear to our heart. Our focus is on wild game dishes and locally grown ingredients, gently cooked to perfection with great knowledge and lots of love. Do not forget to book a table in the restaurant! Treat yourself to a visit to the SaxvikenSpa, where you can enjoy massage and spa treatments, or just relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mora Hotell & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mora Hotell And Spa
Best Western Mora Hotell Hotel Mora
Mora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing