We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and nice hotel”
Review of Mora Hotell & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mora Hotell & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mora
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at this hotel after that we crashed into 2 mooses with our car and wrecked it. I called the hotel just after the accident and was told that there were problems to accomodiate 3 adults and 1 child with such short notice,weekend and all.But they did their best and arranged that we got a very nice room in a couple of minutes. Great service!! The room was nice and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the hotell and our service. We are so glad that we could help you after your terrible encounter with the most dangerous driving hassards in Sweden, the moose. We hope that you, in spite of this, will come and stay with us again and enjoy the lovely countryside in Dalarna.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I agree with earlier visitors, the hotel is very well located in front of the lake, Siljan, and the main road. The room was very clean and it had what we needed. The staff was very kind and helpful.
The restaurant at the terrace was fantastic with a beautiful view of the lake and the sunset. We had a dinner which was so delicious and I cannot remember when I had such a fantastic meal, made by local products. You just have to test it. It was worth every "krona" you paid for it. (and that wasn´t so much) We are very pleased and as it is close to many other places we took the a short trip to Dalhalla to listen to very good entertainment of world famous artists. We recommend this hotel and their restaurant to all who wants to stay in Mora. Go also to Dalhalla, you will not regret it!! You should just prebook tickets to go there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crissy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us and especially the food made from local products which we are very proud of.
We hope that you will visit us and Mora again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very well located in front if the lake and main road with easy access to other towns. Rooms were big and clean if somewhat tired. Could be modernized somewhat. The breakfast was decent. Not as big a spread that I have had elsewhere but had all the essentials. My room was facing the road by the reception. The a few American muscle cars being driven and the whole room and window vibrated quite loudly. This happened on both nights but it was of no fault of the hotel. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuinoAlumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013
Google Translation

Hej,
Tack för din vänliga recention av hotellet och vår personal. Det gläder oss att ni uppskattade er vistelse hos oss men beklagar att ni blev störda av ungdomarna som körde bil på gatan utanför.
Här uppe i Dalarna är det mycket populärt och nästan lite kultur med gamla amerikanska bilar, en hobby för många både äldre och yngre. vi hoppas att ni trots detta snart kommer tillbaka till oss.
Vänliga hälsningar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Mora spa has the best location, in my opinion, in the town. But: bathroom in some rooms are extremely uncomfortable, water pressure is insignificant, breakfasts are avaricious for 4* hotel. Benefits: location, inside pool, spa procedures.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaForsyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.
Since you last stayed with us, in december 2012, all the bathrooms in 54 rooms have been renovated. So I hope that you will find them more comfortable when you visit us next time.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Coming to Mora, the Best Western is a good choice for a hotel. Arriving at night (or during the day) this site is easy to find and is centrally located. A short walk from the hotel gets you into the city center amidst shops and cafes. The lake and a park is across the street. Service great. Bar (and tender) great. Front desk warm and friendly. Rooms, as expected, a bit small.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia J, Owner at Mora Hotell & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind and positive review. We do appreciate that you took the time to write about the hotel and we hope that you will chose to stay with us again if you come to Dalarna. If you should decide to do so maybe you should try our newly renovated Business rooms. For just 150 SEK more you get 50% more roomspace!

Kind regards
Cecilia Jonasson
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is in a good position by the lake. It is very enjoyable place in which to stay with good service and a good breakfast.

Our twin room (357) was spacious, well furnished (although only 1 bed had a bedside table) and had a nice view of the lake. The only major problem was that, in the bathroom, the light switch (which appeared to be a normal light switch) was located within the area enclosed by the shower curtain – so water from the shower head could spray on to the switch. After one of us had a shower the switch was dripping! While we are not experts on electrics, we felt that this could not possibly be safe. Obviously, we have no idea whether other rooms are similar, but we must advise anyone staying at the hotel to check the location of electrics in the bathroom.

We would have assessed this hotel as "very good" (four circles) but, in the light of this safety concern, we have assessed it as "average" (three circles).

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Arrived arround 17.00 hotel easy to find rigth at main road true Mora, already at that time big problems with finding a parking place, had to park at public Parking with limited staying time !! Reception busy and a bit stressed, rooms scandinavian stile and clean but very smal and the bathroom could need an update.The view from our room was a large roof and some noicy machines on the roof ! Very nice restaurant with a nice outdoor serving, staff very smilling and doing a good job. Breakfast good in scandinavian stile, we did stay there at the same time as a bus full of Turists, so it was a bit stressy! Hotel does have a good location for all the attractions in the Dala area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mora
0.3 mi away
Hotell Fridhemsgatan
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Mora Parken
Hotel Mora Parken
#2 of 5 in Mora
71 reviews
19.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Dalecarlia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Siljan
Hotel Siljan
#5 of 5 in Mora
36 reviews
19.9 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tallberg
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotell Kung Gosta
Hotell Kung Gosta
#4 of 5 in Mora
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mora Hotell & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mora Hotell & Spa

Address: 12 Strandgatan, Mora 792 30, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County > Mora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mora
Price Range: $173 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mora Hotell & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1830 Mora Hotell has been welcoming travelers to Mora. With its unbeatable location right in the center of Mora,overlooking Lake Siljan, the hotel is an obvious choice for many visitors. Within a radius of about 100 m you will find shopping, culture and landmarks like the Zorn Museum, the Vasaloppet goal, exciting activities, sports and stunning scenery. A short drive (15-30 min) you will find Santaworld, Orsa Bear Park and Polar World. Excellent cross country and down hill skiing at Gesundaberget and Grönklitt and lots of fun activities for young and old. Nusnäs Dalahorse Manufacturing, Dalhalla outdoor consert hall and much more ... .l Really good food is dear to our heart. Our focus is on wild game dishes and locally grown ingredients, gently cooked to perfection with great knowledge and lots of love. Do not forget to book a table in the restaurant! Treat yourself to a visit to the SaxvikenSpa, where you can enjoy massage and spa treatments, or just relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mora Hotell & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mora Hotell Hotel Mora
Best Western Mora Hotell And Spa
Mora Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing