We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Simeon
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have been coming to Tossa for 5 years now and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else, the hotel is a stones throw from the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. The Simeon is a family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble from the ever smiling Juan.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianandkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although the contract statement allowed me cancel the booking in the Hotel Simeon with no charge, and even after the agency had confirmed by email the cancellation was successfully and with no charge, I got contacted to be informed the hotel "refused" the cancellation and charged me the first night. I had to fight for my rights to get the contracts respected (by calling premium-rate telephone numbers).
I have not been in this hotel but I do believe I will never set my foot in there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Domenico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 19th Sept 2012 for a week on a budget looking for a relaxing beach holiday. From looking through reviews we found this 1 star hotel quite high up on Tripadvisor, and we weren't disappointed.

Room
It was basic but had everything we needed. More than enough storage for a weeks stay for two, the bed was comfy - a memory foam mattress, soft pillows and clean bedding. After the first night we asked for extra pillows which was no problem. The room was cleaned everyday, towels and bedding regularly changed. The balcony over looked an often bustling street which was good for people watching, the eye level view wasn't the best as it looked out over ugly roof tops but that meant it wasn't really overlooked. Air con in the room worked well and there was a TV with lots of channels, although from flicking through I don't think any were English speaking - this wasn't an issue for us as we weren't planning on watching it, however it did have teletext which was useful for checking the weather!
The only down side was a large build up of mould on the ceiling in the bathroom probably due to the lack of ventilation in there. The maid did clean this every so often so it wasn't a major issue, I'm sure that if we asked to change rooms it wouldn't have been a problem.

Breakfast
Breakfast was continental, which included a selection of meats and cheese, different breads, pastries/cakes, cornflakes, tinned fruit, natural yogurt, orange juice and tea or coffee. It was more than sufficient to start the day but it was very basic, after a few days we craved some fresh fruit and freshly made food, so we did pop to a cafe on one of the mornings. On the plus the tea was made from Englands own Yorkshire Teabags, so we could always start with a lovely cuppa - the owner said they were his favorite.

Staff
The owner (we never did learn his name) was a friendly man and always willing to help where ever he could. He was happy to listen to my partners attempts at Catalan and honestly informed him that his accent was rubbish!

Location
The location was excellent, its a 2-5 minute walk to the beach and right on the edge of the older part of the town. As soon as you turn right out of the hotel there are some lovely narrow streets to wander around and just a 10 minute walk (maximum) to the Vila Vella. It isn't near any busy main roads so traffic noise wasn't a problem, and the streets it spans were mostly quiet with a steady trickle of people as there are a number of shops, bars and cafes near by. The nearest big supermarket was a 5-10 min walk away towards the newer part of the town and there were a few little shops selling essentials on the street outside the hotel. A cash point was also next door.
From our hotel we really wanted it to be in a good location more than anything else and we couldn't have asked for better.

Overall we were very pleased and felt it excellent value for money. This would be suitable for someone on a budget whose main priority is location, and is happy with a basic clean and comfy room, no frills.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Simeon from 29/08 until 05/09, on a B & B basis, what a lovely hotel, very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the hotel was exceptionally clean, our room 403 although basic had comfortable beds and soft pillows and air conditioning, was situated on the roof of the hotel which had a lovely view and terrace which we could sit out and have a drink, and it was very peaceful, the continental breakfast was lovely too and was available from 8.30am until 11.30am, nothing was to much trouble. The beach was only 50 metres from the hotel. We hired a safe and fridge whilst there. I would not hesitate to stay there again, they seemed to have repeat business, so it must be good!!!!

Room Tip: We would recommend 403 as this was situated on the roof, what a lovely surprise when we were given t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stayed in 1 star hotels all over europe but never with similar cleaning condition and maintenance. Good job from the family and very good location too. Good breakfast in a nice patio. Quite and comfortable rooms. The family work hard to assure a pleasant stay to the visitors.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a clean safe and good value of money book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a 1 star hotel right in the middle of Tossa de Mar ( a really pretty resort ). It was such a treasure, good room, brilliant air con, balcony, bathroom with bidet etc. We had a very adequate breakfast in a sweet patio area. the owner was so obliging, I am coeliac and he was concerned that I could get enough to eat. For breakfast, there were croissants, rolls, yogurt, fruit juice, cold meats and cheese, tea or coffee.
With the exchange rate in our favour, we were paying about £20 each per night!
There is of course no pool, but it is a very short walk to the beach.
We had no problem with noise as we had a room facing the patio area. The towels were changed daily and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and my wife have been going to Tossa for over 10 years and this was our first stay in the Simeon and we spent 4 nights there last week. Right in the centre of the Tossa, the hotel is situated just over 50 yards from the beach and in middle of all Tossa’s fantastic amenities including 50 yards away from our favourite bar, the Don Juan, on the main pedestrian drag. We stayed in a room on the third floor and there is lift access. The room was very comfortable and had a small balcony with table and chairs and the bathroom was spotless. The breakfast was a simple buffet but very good and could be eaten outside in the beautiful, peaceful courtyard. This is the best 1 star hotel you will ever stay in and to top it off the owner/manager Juan was very attentive and hospitable and spoke superb English.

Room Tip: Go for a room that overlooks the tranquil courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
202 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simeon

Address: Dr Trueta 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Simeon 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simeon Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing