We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisited is this Tossa Centerski !!!”
Review of Tossa Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tossa Center Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed July 13, 2014

After a gap of 2 years we decided to revisit having previously been disappointed on our last visit & vowing never to return. We will start with the plus points, spotlessly clean throughout,the food which is taken in sister hotel Tossa Beach is good & well presented, although we only had Breakfast & Lunch deciding to dine out in the evening.The main man in the dining room was the most pleasant member of staff in the whole hotel,him being Spanish. Now for the rest,this is no way a 4 star hotel, 20 euros a week for safe, 10 euros a week to unlock empty fridge , 5 euros a day for WI Fi ,this hotel we were informed by someone in the hotel trade has been given 4 stars purely for the attraction of the eastern european tourist, most of the reception staff are eastern european spanish speakers and have the friendliness & personality of a "flip flop". This can also be said for most of the clientele who are eastern european and have the strangest eating habits we have ever witnessed, hence the reason we dined out in the evening, you would not believe what you can mix on a plate and then top it off with melon,cake,jelly you name it it was on there. So what would appear to be a very competitively priced hotel for a 4 star and what you would expect a 4 star to offer as standard it soon becomes apparent that you have to pay extra for everything..(oh forgot to mention the deposit for the tv remote as well )This hotel is at best a very average 3 star . If you like to be round the pool all day, forget it nothing more than a splash pool.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 298 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just had a brilliant holiday at Tossa Beach/centre hotel. would definitely come back here. The staff are really friendly, the hotel is lovely and clean, the food is really good and plenty of sunbeds for soaking up the sun. Advice for travellers the transfers are really long much better to get the local service bus cuts the travel time down by half

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndreaR1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a most enjoyable stay. We booked a good deal on the internet and for the price we paid I believe we had good value for money. We had read the reviews before we booked so had some idea what to expect, you generally get what you pay for. We paid cheap and we got cheap,certainly not as advertised a 4 star hotel. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and looks like it may have been refurbished recently. The rooms the same, but walls and ceilings were wafer thin,but nothing earplugs didnt sort. The Dining room and bar same, but very basic,hard back chairs and no comfortable seats,very canteen like. The Food ok for this standard of hotel. The staff were mainly Bangledesh and Eastern European(surprisingly with the massive unemployment in Spain,but you can form your own opinions on that), but they carried out their duties to the best of their abilities.


On departure day as we had a late flight we asked the manager if we could have a late check out. He said he needed the room, but would let have the use of another for 50 Euros and that they did not provide courtesy rooms and that we could get washed in the toilets. I pointed out that in my many years staying in Hotels of varying standards normaly I would expect either an extended check out time for a nominal fee or the use of a courtesy room. His response was that in his 20 years working in the business he was unaware of this practice. But there it is, what do you expect,maybe this is why this hotel is of the standard it is. Management of a certain standard providing services and managing of that standard.

As I have mentioned previously, we enjoyed our stay, but would probably not stay there again, but would recommend it to anyone on a buget. However, bearing in mind, this hotel is in no shape or form a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredDi1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always enjoy coming to this hotel, so much so that we have been 4 times. The staff are extremely friendly and fun especially Bunny!. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the drinks. It is only about 2 minutes from the beach and the town of Tossa de Mar is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Always try and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TLSGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked into the Tossa Beach but on arrival they allocated us into The Tossa Center directly opposite which suited us fine as this was primarily couples with families in the Beach which is where most entertainment was. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and the AI drinks were fine. The food was typical AI served buffet and we always found something to eat which was good. We didn't experience grumpy staff in other hotel but have to say we were never there at last orders. We hadn't been to Spain for over 20 years but I absolutely fell in love with Toss de Mar its a beautiful place. I would return and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillSm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the perfect get away holiday for my best friend and I. We were not looking for a crazy clubbing holiday but more a relaxing and unwinding break. with pubs, beaches and restaurants. brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank Bryony Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

First of all, I have given this a rating of Very Good. It would have been excellent if the "kicking out" "sending to bed" at the end of the evening hadn't happened.
The hotel (and the Beach one opposite) were immaculate. There was always someone cleaning somewhere. Lot's of previous reviews slate the food. I completely disagree with these reviews.
There was always plenty of choice and the food was always hot (however a microwave was there should it not be hot enough). The bar staff were all really friendly and a credit to the hotel.
Our room was on the first floor with a balcony - not the largest of rooms but plenty big enough for the two of us. It had a balcony with a nice view.
Check in was very swift.
We met some lovely other guests there (Alan, Bev, Sandra (mimi) and Jim) and we all enjoyed the socialising aspect of the hotel however, that is where the negative feedback comes into play.
I appreciate that at the end of a long shift at work (I used to live in my parents pub) you want to get cleaned up and closed however to constantly start telling people to drink up from 23.10 and then pester every five minutes puts a complete dampner to such positive other aspects. The bar is open until 11.30 but their staff (especially the bar manager - normally a pleasant man) walks around trying to get people to drink up before 23.30. Bad practice in my opinion.
Also as we "after being kicked out" when you go onto the steps to say goodnight to people the night staff actually use the words "go to bed". I wonder what they would do if you walked ten yards down the road and weren't in front of the hotel? I'm 41 and don't expect to be told to go to bed - quite daft really.
There were a couple who stated that one night they were on their balcony and a night staff shouted at them to go to bed. Another lady reported that one night a night staff knocked onto her door and told her to turn her telly off? (What's all that about?).
If you want to stronger shorts to drink - get them in Center Hotel.
The activities lady was lovely and if you take kids there, she really looks after them in the day (and if you bump into her away from the hotel she always shouted hello etc.
On the whole we had a brilliant time here (I reckon due to the company we kept as if we hadn't met these people we would have probably got more annoyed at the "security systems" in the evening.
As stated, spotless throughout, great food and drinks, really nice staff (apart from the Gestapo ones at night).

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Scroteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
#25 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Center Hotel

Address: Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $63 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Tossa De Mar and only 150 meters away from the great beach of Tossa and 200 meters from the town centre the Hotel Tossa Center **** has a priviledged location. The hotel has 74 rooms, 24 hour reception, Wifi at a charge, restaurant with buffet service for all meals*, internet corner, snack bar* and a small but cozy swimming pool. The Hotel Tossa Center **** is ideal for couples and families who want to enjoy a pleasant relaxed holiday, in one of the most beautiful towns of the Costa Brava, Tossa de Mar; where they can admire the fort wall, the old town, dream beaches, quaint bars, restaurants and boutiques which are the main attractions of this enchanting town. *Some of these services are provided by its sister hotel, the hotel Tossa Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tossa Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Tossa Center Resort All Inclusive
Tossa Center De Mar
Tossa Center Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing