We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Despicable and Disgusting”
Review of Tossa Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tossa Center Hotel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Despicable and Disgusting”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked two queen sized beds and pool view got box room no view. When we complained we were told hotel was full, so we spend two nights in this room. The Assistant Manager gave us two options, stay in the room or pay 100 euro’s to move into the room we booked, even he agreed it was unfair, seems if you pay rooms can be found. This happened to people every day, the Manager kept out of the way just left it to the Assistant Manager. Absolutely disgusting how they treat their customers. This Manager is running a scam and conning people out of their hard earned cash.
We witnessed at least six other sets of holiday makers who’s holidays were ruined by this Manager, there were a lot of unhappy people at this hotel, he should be ashamed of himself, but he does not care.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Reg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    93
    52
    40
    25
See reviews for
82
129
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we are a family of 8 including a 2 year old child. at lunch on or 4th day at the hotel we moved 2 tables together so we could eat as a family. upon doing this, a waiter approached us and rudely told us that we could not do this (without explanation) 2 minutes later, the hotel manager and an entourage of 2 others stood intimidatingly behind him, approched us and started shouting and waving their fingers at us that if we did not move the tables back we would "expulsed from the hotel" they did not let us speak and explain, but just continued shouting in broken english and becoming increasingly aggressive. We moved the tables back to their original position, but by this point we were made to feel that we had commited some sort of "crime" and were left with the entire restaurant staring at us. The whole episode was taken completely out of proportion and the staff were uneccessarily rude. This was not the first encounter with the staff and manangement. we have been made to feel as though we are not on holiday but are in Boot Camp. WE WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN. We would advise anyone planning a trip to Tossa De Mar, NOT to stay at this hotel. Our hotel room was dirty, with stained bed sheets and dirty floors. The pillows smelt of vomit, and we had to request that they were changed again. The food choice is very boring and repetitive and mainly caters for German tourists. This has been an extremely disappointing experience which was only aggravated by the fact the staff were so rude, ignorant and aggorgant. Again, if you want to enjoy yourself in Tosser de mar, this hotel is NOT the place to stay. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY. The Patience family.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at the hotel a little before midday and although we were not supposed to be in the room before 2-00pm our room was ready for us to use straight away although the all inclusive would not start until 3-00pm. (Tip) Just down the road toward the beach is a fantastic little supermarcado that makes the most tasty bagguetes with a huge choice and very reasonable prices, so if you arrive early and need to buy lunch my advice would be to go there, buy a "buttie" and then sit in the little park and enjoy your lunch. Anyway back to the hotel; our room was spotlessly clean with 2 king sized beds and ample wardrobe space. We had a room on the 1st floor with a balcony directly overlooking the pool area and although this caused us a slight concern with regard to possible noise at night we need not have worried as the bar closed at midnight and within 10 mins the hotel was quiet.
The restarunt was across the road in the Tossa Beach hotel and I must say the amount, quality and variety was exceptional; I'm afraid if you went hungry it was your own fault as there must have been SOMETHING for just about everyone. There was always 2 different types of meat sometimes 3, always at least 1 fish or seafood option, various salads a good selection of puddings and fresh fruit to enjoy. The staff were also very quick to replenish any dish that started to run down. I agree with other reviwers that Tossa Centre is the better of the 2 hotels as the Tossa Beach is a bigger hotel and therfore the more busier of the 2. Both hotels however were kept spotlessly clean, even on the road outside the cleaning staff could be seen sweeping the footpaths etc.
In all I would gladly recomend this hotel for its excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap all inclusive, you really can't go wrong with the Tossa Beach/Center sister Hotels. When we first arrived in Tossa, we were supposed to go and stay in the Mar Bella hotel but it was shut down. This was annoying as we didn't get an email or so much as a warning, but then we went to Tossa Beach Hotel and we stayed there. It really is a beautiful, simple and the most CLEAN hotel I've ever seen. Our room was small but comfortable and with gentle aircon that made the perfect temp for us. Two days later, they upgraded us to a much bigger room with a massive balcony in the opposite sister hotel, Tossa Center. That room was lovely and we couldn't get over the view. It must be said that these two hotel are SPOTLESSLY clean.

The staff were just lovely. Friendly and helpful, they were a delight to see and talk to.

The food was probably the best thing. My sister and I are big British girls and we love our food. There was plenty of it, all fresh and hot and simply delicious. We couldn't get enough.

The only problem with this hotel were that most of the guests were unbearable snobs and looked down at me and my sister because we were enjoying the food, while they were very loudly complaining about it and sighing whilst microwaving it. It astounds me really, why come all that way to moan and whine? They were also unfriendly and stared a lot at us, but then they probably thought we were gay or something - who ever heard of two young girls travelling alone, eh? I've seen other reviews for these hotels and would advise people not to be put off. If you come to Tossa, you come for the beauty of the area and the amazing sea etc, not to sit in your room all day. I don't know what these people expected, but I can tell you every one of those bad reviews has come from the people who were eating lettuce and loudly complaining, "It's the only things that's fresh!" Urgh.

Aside from that, our experience in Tossa and these two lovely hotels has been overwhelmingly good and we look forward to returning next year.

10/10, but then we're not snobs.

Room Tip: Balcony is a must and the higher the better if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at the Tossa Centre at 11.30am on Saturday 8th September were advised our room wasn't ready but we could leave our cases in the luggage room. We were told a/i wouldn't start until 3pm as it would go on till 3pm on our day of departure. Very disappointed when we did get into our room it was very dark as it was completely in the shadow of the building opposite, to see the sky i had to lean out of the window and look up, we had to leave the lights on all the time and we didn't have a balcony. We went to reception to request a different room they said they would contact the manager, later when we went back they said the manager had said the reason we were allocated this room was because we had paid a reduced rate, this wasn't true. They got in touch with the manager again and he said he would meet us at 5 that evening. Which he did, he said he now realised that we had paid full price but the only other room available was a family room which would be an extra 20 euros a day! We had paid enough already for our holiday and he'd more or less told us we were in an inferior room, but said to ask again on Tuesday and he would see if there was anything else available. Breakfast and lunch were ok (not 4 star though). Evening meal was not good very poor quality food, the only good thing it had going for it was it was the only time and place that you drank out of glasses rather than plastic tumblers, we did have a giggle though, there was warning sign up not to take any food out of the dining room, you were far more likely to smuggle some in! The food,pool areas and rooms in this hotel, are not 3 star let alone 4. It is a clean hotel and is in a good location, most of the staff are very nice, although i have to agree with another review that they did seem to be intimidated by the senior staff, who could definitely benefit from a customer service course. We went to the manager on the Tuesday he said there still wasn't any other rooms available (even though we'd seen a lot of people go home) I am sure that the only way we were ever going to get another room was by paying even more. I did tell the manager that the hotel was never a 4 star hotel, he replied to get in touch with our agents and move to another hotel. We did contact Fleetway who looked for alternative accommodation for us but the resort was very busy and the only place they could find would have cost us another £300 for the remaining 3 days on top of what we had already paid.
Tossa De Mar is beautiful, the castle is fabulous walking round it in the day and all lit up in the evening, you'd never tire of wandering around all the little streets, 3 beaches we had fantastic weather, met a great bunch of people, went to Llorett and Blanes on the public bus, yes we will return to Tossa but not to this hotel.
I'm aware our views differ a lot from other reviews on Tossa Centre/Beach Hotel but it is a honest account of our experience.

Room Tip: Request a balcony and cross your fingers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you want a cheap, no frills all inclusive this is the place for you. We booked the Tossa Beach hotel only to be told on arrival the we had been put into the sister hotel over the road. Our room was spotlessly clean and was cleaned every day. Air-con and balcony as requested The room was very tiny and we were glad we were only staying for 3 nights. The bed was comfy and the pillows much better quality than is the norm on the continent. The air condition unit was opposite the head of the bes and because the room was so small the cold air was on my head all night. Meals were all in the Tossa Beach hotel, the dining room was a bit like a canteen and the food was not good. The hot food was not hot and often it appeared that items that had been on the menu the previous day were served the next day in batter! Most of staff members were very polite but not very smiley,they just did their jobs, but having said that, a lot of the "guests" were unpolite so maybe I would have reacted in the same way. The facillities are not, in my opinion, adequate for the amount of guests staying in the two hotels. On the up side the beach is only a short walk away and we enjoyed a couple of days R & R on there. We had a picnic supplied by the hotel which consisted of a banana, apple, small bottle of water, 1 ham & cheese sandwich and a salami sandwich. For three nights it was OK, but I could not have stayed there for a week. We have stayed in all inclusive resorts before and in comparision to other place this is not up to standard

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bilep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Three friends and I stayed at the Tossa Center after we originally booked Tossa Beach, but were told on arrival that we had been placed here. I am so glad we did! This is definitely the nicer hotel of the two. You eat in Tossa Beach, which is therefore a much busier hotel.

The bar, pool and reception are lovely in Tossa Center and we were given the best room with the biggest balcony I have ever seen! Rooms were cleaned everyday and the hotel in general is very clean. The staff are lovely and helpful. The location of the hotel is fantastic, 5 minutes to the beach (max) and the same to the beautiful castle, which is gorgeous in the day and night. The food was average, but we paid so very little, we couldn't be happier. We certainly ate every night and there was always something to eat (and ice cream after!). Despite the name the area is lovely and full of locals, which is always a good sign! A great hotel, which was such a pleasant surprise! Great value!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola1989UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#30 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Center Hotel

Property: Tossa Center Hotel
Address: Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Tossa De Mar and only 150 meters away from the great beach of Tossa and 200 meters from the town centre the Hotel Tossa Center **** has a priviledged location. The hotel has 74 rooms, 24 hour reception, Wifi at a charge, restaurant with buffet service for all meals*, internet corner, snack bar* and a small but cozy swimming pool. The Hotel Tossa Center **** is ideal for couples and families who want to enjoy a pleasant relaxed holiday, in one of the most beautiful towns of the Costa Brava, Tossa de Mar; where they can admire the fort wall, the old town, dream beaches, quaint bars, restaurants and boutiques which are the main attractions of this enchanting town. *Some of these services are provided by its sister hotel, the hotel Tossa Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tossa Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Tossa Center Resort All Inclusive
Tossa Center De Mar
Tossa Center Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing