We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Minimum needs covered. That's it.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Minimum needs covered. That's it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff friendly and the bed ok. For the rest pretty grotty. Don't be fooled by photos or the lobby. View over broken down buildings and backs of other sad tacky Hotels. Would never dream of going back. The whole of Tossa unbelievably commercial and crass. Pity, as the views from the old part are fab and the beaches lovely. If you like 'orrible food at exorbitant prices and the smell of cheap plastic items on sale, this place is a must see. Otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
30
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel with some of the best staff I have experienced during my extensive travels. The Enjoyment Prevention Officer (wife) and I have two small children and from the moment we arrived all members of staff made us feel extremely welcome and were constantly helping us heating milk talking to the children etc. The bar and reception area is very modern however the rooms are very basic but as we were out all day at the beach this was not a problem. The continental breakfast was superb and again everyone at the hotel couldn't do enough to help us. In summary this hotel is very basic but second to none in terms of hospitality. I would higher recommend the hotel for anyone who wants a great location with brilliant staff. A big pat on the back to all staff at the hotel Avenida!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years - unfortunately we haven't had the chance this year yet. The hotel reception is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and comfortable. The housekeeping ladies are very friendly and efficient. The breakfast staff are excellent always making sure the food is stocked up. So close to the beach and town. All in all we love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: No Swimming Pool - sorry couldn't work out how to unrate it! However so close to the beach no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HandM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The average price level suits to all that has to be said about this venue. Starting with breakfast that is really standard spanish,... Not awesome at all, basic rooms and facilities, wifi only at the entrance, and somehow a nice louge area with computers u pay to use...
Beeing very much near the beach with a nice view to the sea... When staying in the waterfront rooms, this can be a deal. I liked the erea a lot.

Receptionists were very nice and professional. parking in the parking lot on the other side of the street is a real expensy thing... There might be a way to park in the neighbourhood for free,... We had no energy left.....

Room Tip: Taking the waterfront, is the best u can do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild tracks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

if you like hot water and a shower that works don`t stay here.After a long journey we arrived at this hotel and decided to freshen up. It was our anniversary and we wanted to celebrate with a meal out.By the time our shower was fixed(after 10pm) it was too late to go anywhere.We complained that our night had been ruined but the staff didn`t want to know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollieted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed twice in the Hotel Avenida in recent years and I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Tossa de Mar. The location is perfect, a few minutes walk to the main beach, old town and castle. The hotel is spotless and bright. The breakfast is good. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Although the bedrooms have not been refurbished they are simple and clean and have a certain charm. My only complaint is that the beds are hard and not very comfortable. On both occasions that we stayed our room was on the top floor of the hotel and had a spacious balcony with sea views.
Tossa itself is delightful. We have visited in September for the past three years for a long weekend and I look forward to returning.
All in all, the Hotel Avenida is excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Great views from top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

As accommodation in Tossa de Mar goes, you will be hard pushed to find something that isn't from the 70's. Hotel Avenida is a basic two star hotel with the potential to raise its rating by some simple room improvements (they have made a start with the lobby).

Our first night was not good, as the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbour breath. The beds for my liking are very hard too. I asked if there was anything that could be done and the next morning we were moved to the top (fourth floor) where there are only five rooms. Thanks Rochel. Still the same conditions but fewer neighbours.

Housekeeping are brilliant. The rooms are spotless.

Breakfast was included and a solid selection. It is also served until 11:00am.

The location is in the centre of everything, so no major walks.

The staff were very helpful, especially on day 2 when I found myself ill and in need of A&E (yep it was that bad). They made sure I was looked after.

Be warned: there is a charge to use the in room safe Euro 15 a week and wifi/internet Euro 2 per hour (I think).

There is no pool or outside area for sunbeds, this is a downer. However it also whittles down the annoying children factor. Upside : )

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!!! and if you don't like hard beds, bring an underblanket. Also bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLAT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Property: Hotel Avenida
Address: Avenida de la Palma 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Avenida 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Avenida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing