We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice but basic and quite standard Q” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice but basic and quite standard Q”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The average price level suits to all that has to be said about this venue. Starting with breakfast that is really standard spanish,... Not awesome at all, basic rooms and facilities, wifi only at the entrance, and somehow a nice louge area with computers u pay to use...
Beeing very much near the beach with a nice view to the sea... When staying in the waterfront rooms, this can be a deal. I liked the erea a lot.

Receptionists were very nice and professional. parking in the parking lot on the other side of the street is a real expensy thing... There might be a way to park in the neighbourhood for free,... We had no energy left.....

Room Tip: Taking the waterfront, is the best u can do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild tracks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
24
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

if you like hot water and a shower that works don`t stay here.After a long journey we arrived at this hotel and decided to freshen up. It was our anniversary and we wanted to celebrate with a meal out.By the time our shower was fixed(after 10pm) it was too late to go anywhere.We complained that our night had been ruined but the staff didn`t want to know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollieted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed twice in the Hotel Avenida in recent years and I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Tossa de Mar. The location is perfect, a few minutes walk to the main beach, old town and castle. The hotel is spotless and bright. The breakfast is good. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Although the bedrooms have not been refurbished they are simple and clean and have a certain charm. My only complaint is that the beds are hard and not very comfortable. On both occasions that we stayed our room was on the top floor of the hotel and had a spacious balcony with sea views.
Tossa itself is delightful. We have visited in September for the past three years for a long weekend and I look forward to returning.
All in all, the Hotel Avenida is excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Great views from top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As accommodation in Tossa de Mar goes, you will be hard pushed to find something that isn't from the 70's. Hotel Avenida is a basic two star hotel with the potential to raise its rating by some simple room improvements (they have made a start with the lobby).

Our first night was not good, as the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbour breath. The beds for my liking are very hard too. I asked if there was anything that could be done and the next morning we were moved to the top (fourth floor) where there are only five rooms. Thanks Rochel. Still the same conditions but fewer neighbours.

Housekeeping are brilliant. The rooms are spotless.

Breakfast was included and a solid selection. It is also served until 11:00am.

The location is in the centre of everything, so no major walks.

The staff were very helpful, especially on day 2 when I found myself ill and in need of A&E (yep it was that bad). They made sure I was looked after.

Be warned: there is a charge to use the in room safe Euro 15 a week and wifi/internet Euro 2 per hour (I think).

There is no pool or outside area for sunbeds, this is a downer. However it also whittles down the annoying children factor. Upside : )

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!!! and if you don't like hard beds, bring an underblanket. Also bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLAT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel in four years. The rooms are clean. We again stayed in the family room which has two bathrooms, two full sized beds. The rooms are separated by a french door. The breakfast comes with the room. It's a decent selection of food -- gourmet coffee, cereals, some fresh fruit, breads and rolls. There is internet available in the lobby. The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the beach. There is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous four night break in beautiful tossa de mar . We stayed at the avenida hotel which was just perfect . Fabulous friendly staff , who couldn't do enough to help . Perfectly placed , close to beach and all the restaurants and bars , and just a lovely five minute scroll to the castle and villa Vella. On our departure at 6.30 in the morning they even prepared the restaurant with breakfast just for us . Can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: High room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnybeazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed there for 9 nights with my Mom and were really impressed how simple and nice things are organized in Avenida hotel. Everything was clean and white like in a hospital. Staff is veryyyyy nice and helpful, kind women on the reception can explain everything you need.
The breakfast was very basic but enough as for me - I was able to get sandwiches, toasts and fruits.
From the big advantages I can emphasize:
1) It's just 3 min walking to the sea, very short distance.
2) There are at least 2 shops with the food close to the hotel.
3) Many restaurants are nearby.
There are several minuses, that can be critical or not dependent from that you like:
1) Wi-fi worked only on the lobby.
2) No English channels on TV, only Spanish local channels.
3) no minibar or refrigerator.

If you want simple and nice, clean place to stay for a good price - Avenida hotel is for you.
But do not expect something exceeds basic needs, like a pool or entertainment or so.

Room Tip: Room with a view on the private garden is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#19 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Victoria
Hostal Victoria
#22 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant March
Hotel Sant March
#18 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Vila de Tossa
URH Vila de Tossa
#32 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Property: Hotel Avenida
Address: Avenida de la Palma 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Avenida 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Avenida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing