We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Marina Tossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marina Tossa
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Ok bar. Fairly large swimmingpool. Tennis court. Has a parking lot where you can pay to park the car. You may have to book in advance.

The location is on the outer edge of the town, away from the beach, but if you don't mind the 5-ish minutes walk this is no problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    109
    60
    14
    19
See reviews for
88
126
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at the hotel marina tossa and from previous reviews was a bit wary of what we were going to get, but in honesty its absolutely fine and we would stay again. We were looking for a budget stay for a few nights just me and mum and can honestly say we've stayed in worse 4/5* where expectations are much higher!

The hotel itself is fairly small so even now in July you can get beds by the pool. There's lots of space around the pool too so you're not elbow to elbow.

Its pretty basic when you arrive but very clean and tidy. The night staff don't seem to speak English however there are English staff and very good English speaking Spanish staff during the day. (I don't know why people have complained about the staff not speaking much English, obviously the reviewers don't speak Spanish!?) The staff speak enough for you to get along and they are generally very pleasant. We have found the majority of holidayers in this resort to be French , Spanish and German and staff manage in most languages.

We opted for an upgraded room, it was only an extra £40 and we got a refurbished room with (tiny) balcony. It has air con (great as it gets very warm) and a flat screen tv- only one English channel we've come across but we didn't come away to watch TV! It also has very comfortable (maybe too comfortable) beds, a nice compact bathroom and a fridge with complimentary water and soft drinks, replaced as you go.

Fyi the room also has a hairdryer- we struggled to find this info so trailed one over. Even in the budget rooms you can hire one (saves your luggage allowance).

In terms of distance it is a walk from the beach and restaurants but depending on if you want a brisk walk or stroll its between 10-15minutes. It sounds worse than it is. Once you get into the centre there's lots of bars/restaurants and even some lovely clothing/bags & shoe shops. There is the odd inflatable donut and towel tat shop but we've been to places far worse.

The down sides; yes there are only a couple of plugs in the room. The hotel gets quite noisy on a morning (between 7.30-9am when people are going for breakfast). The bathroom floods a bit after a shower- the shower is also rubbish in our room- it trickles out so a bit of a pain but this has not spoilt our holiday! We've managed.

The rooms are small and fairly basic but clean. Towels replaced every day.

The breakfast is continental (served 8-11am) with plenty fruit, pastries and bread. There's also cereal and yogurts if you like. If you want a cooked breakfast there's a bar 'Antiga' just down the road run by an older couple- looks dated but extremely clean and well kept- €3 for beans & egg on toast,but plenty of other choice too!

There is a pool bar at the hotel but we've found it quite pricey, €8 for a frozen pizza and €3 for frozen chips. OK if you want a snack round the pool but you're slightly better off going out.

I think I've covered everything, and have tried to give an honest and full review of things. What I would say is, you get what you pay for. Those who paid for a budget room and asked for 'pool view and air con' but didn't get it, its because there's an option to upgrade.

In terms of a reasonably priced hotel abroad, this is great. Just don't expect upgrades and extras unless you pay for them.

We would return as Tossa has a lovely relaxed feel without all the 'Brit bars' and tat shops. It is a pricier resort but a lovely one all the same.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherbet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice hotel, stayed 1 night en-route to Estartit.
Parking = a nightmare........ hotel car park 10 euros a night (so forget that),
drove around various side roads and eventually found a free road space until around 9pm when a space nearer the hotel became available. Saw 2 cars nearby with damage one with rear screen smashed, so a bit dodgy. Easy walk to Town and beach.
Hotel; booked an economy room which we didn't mind for only one night, anything longer I would have preferred something a bit more luxurious. Yes very basic, but clean with small balcony with 2 chairs and a table outside. Nice pool surrounded by grass and edged with trees and shrubbery from the road. 3 floors with a lift, a bar, and dining room.
Great continental breakfast all you can eat from a buffet even with Champagne (obviously for a Bucks Fizz). Had one each just to make sure.

Room Tip: Newly updated Pool view rooms, "Superior"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely small hotel, walking distance to tossa which is a lovely Spanish town and has a lot more picturesque parts and a nice old town compared to neighbouring towns like loret de mar, never had a problem getting a sunbed whatever time you went down to the immaculate pool and bar area, we had a superior room which was lovely and had a good air con system, no bedrooms above or below either! Breakfast was nice and there was a good variety of nationalities in the hotel (not many British at all) the only downside was the awful wifi which we complained about a few times and they just shrugged their shoulders!! It was one of the reasons we chose it over another hotel to Skype our children, so it was a significant annoyance to us, overall though I would recommend this hotel esp the superior rooms

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duranann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we had a superior room and it was a very beautiful room with pool view.
we were very happy during our holliday in hotel Marina tossa.
But if you stay after supper in the hotel it's a little bit boring there.
It seems like al the people are already sleeping in the hotel...
But you can chose one of the beautiful pub's on the beach.
we come back next year !! :)

Room Tip: take a superior room !!! They are so goooood ! with airco, a minibar, modern bathroom, flatscreen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Before I start this review, lets get things into perspective: return flights from Newcastle, return transfers Girona to Tossa, one week bed and breakfast, total cost for me and the missus less than 500 pounds.

Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the beach and about 1 minute from the weekly Thursday morning market.
Reception appears to be manned 24/7, always friendly and good English.
Room is small: 2 single beds, fitted wardrobe, small table and chair, flat screen TV (BBC world news), small bathroom with adequate shower (hot water always available) and an average balcony with the obligatory plastic table and 2 plastic chairs. The rooms are cleaned, beds made and toiletries replenished daily.
No lifts in the hotel.
The main pool is large, deep and spotlessly clean. Water cold. Also a small kids pool. All surrounded by well kept grassed area and more than enough sun-beds. Adjacent activities include 2 well maintained tennis courts, 2 pool tables and a bocce/petanque/boules area. Very good.

Breakfast: a very good selection of pastries, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juices, coffees and herbal teas which were constantly replenished by the excellent breakfast staff.

In summary, excellent value for money. Of course, there is no pleasing some folks and having experienced this hotel personally, I can only conclude that an overly critical review reveals more about the reviewer than it does about the hotel.

I have already recommended this hotel to a friend about to visit this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank montaguetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from Marina Tossa I will give a honest review
Good points . Nice location , nice pool, clean hotel , breakfast ok
Bad Points , Small rooms, no air con, no English tv small bathrooms only one electric point
when I booked the hotel I requested A pool view and double bed what I got was a shoe box at the side of the building with single beds very hot at night no air con I asked for a move but was refused twice this is more of a hostel than hotel when I arrived there was a large party of school children very noisy at times I liked Tossa de mar but not this hotel I will not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Tossa

Property: Hotel Marina Tossa
Address: Avda Catalunya 27-29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Marina Tossa 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Tossa Hotel
Marina Tossa De Mar
Hotel Marina Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing