We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, friendly family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capri Hotel
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good position, friendly family hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Right in front of the beach, at the foot of the mediaeval fortress: difficult to find a better position in Tossa! Clean big room with nice balcony (you can also ask for a room with sea view).
Friendly owners and staff. Half board was not really foreseen, but we had good meals among their dinner menu plus some extra choice as well at a reasonable price. Nice paella and fish soup!
About the parking, we used their nearby garage for 15 euros/day. You can also try to look for some free parking around (at least end of June, beginning of July), but you'll probably need to walk up/down hill for 10-20 minutes.
Breakfast includes a relatively small choice of cakes and ham, a bit on the industrial side, but good enough. As for the dinner, you can have it in the terrace in front of the beach. A bit a pity in the morning quite a few lorries come to park there or charging/decharging.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony, better with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    53
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
197 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice room overlooking the beachfront, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, breakfasts were okay, but really they could do with putting more than 4 small pieces of watermelon out at one time. Our last dinner there was disappointing and the seafood platter was overcooked and none if the shellfish was cleaned, although the overcooking might have been our fault, as my daughter asked for her mussels to please be well cooked and they may have misunderstood and thought we would want everything well done.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel in 2 different rooms - both overlooking the beach and listening to the sea from our balcony. Fairly priced and would definitely choose the Family again. The breakfast which is included is also OK. We had dinner once - the big grilled seafood platter.
We were not happy with that - most of it was overdone and dry. The offered dessert was not plaster enough for the ruined expectations. Pity. No blanket available when the evening gets chilly on the terrace. The Family could win by taking some advice. But. Overall very well run hotel.

Room Tip: Balconies are best on top floor.Also less noisy when morning traffic starts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAFFEHASSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Make sure to book a room with a balcony. Our room overlooked the beautiful beach and the castle! Yes! A Castle! On the beach! A ton of restaurants and shops just steps outside the front door of the hotel. The customer service was also great!

Room Tip: Balcony! I even recommend the top floor if you don't mind spending a few more Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dalton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ideal location right on the beach. Family operated business and they are very pleasant and visible. For all we had poor weather throughout our stay, we still had times when we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the sea views. A little bar fridge would have been great to have cold sundowners but very few smaller hotels in Spain seem to offer that convenience. Good location in that many little cobblestones street with lots of small shops, cafes, bars and restaurants wind their way around up behind the hotel. Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant twice and both times; we were very pleased with the meals and the cost was very reasonable. Buffet breakfast is very European so if you wish eggs, bacon, etc, you must order at extra cost. Overall, a lovely spot with a personal feel and good value. Would readily recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeasideChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our room had a beautiful terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the beach and an old castle with stunning views. Our room was large with a nice queen bed, a table and chairs, a makeup table, plenty of storage space and a nice bath with a tub and bidet. Bed was very comfortable, was nicely decorated and most the spacious room we had in 4 weeks in Europe. Breakfast is included and served on a terrace overlooking the beach and included good coffee, juices, croissants, breads, fruit and cold cuts. The hotel also provided beach towels and umbrellas and were quite friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. The hotel restaurant is also good, especially the calamari.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace facing the water - the views and sunsets are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tennisc-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Pros- the best location and views of old town, incredibly helpful staff/owners ( nothing was too minor for them- they even told us to all if we had any difficulties in Barcelona!), great water pressure, so clean
Cons- old school beds, musty smell throughout hotel an rooms.

Felt like a beach side hotel from yesteryear- old school.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cap d'Or
Hotel Cap d'Or
#16 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Hotel

Property: Capri Hotel
Address: Passeig del Mar, 17 | Apartado de correos 263, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Capri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing