We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tossa de mar and Eameraldas wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tossa de mar and Eameraldas wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We went to Tossa de mar for what has to be at least our 10th time on june 28th 2010.we stayed at the Emeraldas as we always found it perfectley acceptable in the past.
Once again we were not to be dissapointed .
There was my wife myself our 19year old son and his 19year old friend and our son has been to tossa/esmeraldas every time wth us,his friend had never been to spain before in fact he had never been anywhere before ,but both 19yr old loved it and had a great time ,
the hotel as always is clean and friendly,the staff work soooooooooooooooo hard to help you enjoy the holiday and your stay ,nothing is to much trouble,god only knows when the bar staff get to sleep ? we were going to bed at 1am ish and they were still there but there again at 9am ish when we went down.
The maids clean the rooms change the towels every 2/3 days so that is good.
The entertainment in the evenings is good and has something for every one.
The two girls who are the hotels entertainers are both great the senior one Anita * dutch* is fanatastic and even on her day off in the evening organised somehting for everyone as she said she was bored.her helper Daniella is english but speaks perfect spanish,The young children adore the two girls and both of them are brilliant with them.
we go self catering and use our room for making tea etc and a sandwhich ,
eating out in the evenings in tossa is extremely reasonable and unless you are on a very tight budget you can get good meals for around 12/15 euros per person and i am not talking about burgers and chips either.
All in all if you want a nice family holiday resort without all the drunken louts screaming and shouting all hours of the night go to Tossa and if you can get in the Emeraldas you will have to be very hard to please if you do not like it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tadpoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    130
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
167
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

just back from a week staying here. I booked flights independently with Ryanair and then booked hotel through bookings.com afer reading the reviews here. We had a lovely time. The studio app. has everything you need ie toaster ( I recommend taking 'toastie bags' with you- quick and easy lunch!-microwave, plenty of cutlery. Towels were changed most days but sheets were not in our week there. We stayed in room 416 which was a corner room with a large balcony and far away from any hotel noise. The hotel is handy for 2 supermarkets, the beach and the old town. Beach shoes a must for the shingle beach! the pool is small but plenty of beds when we were there. The entertainment for children is good, although the male entertainer Valerio was sacked on our last day-not sure why cos he was great with my kids! We ate in the hotel most nights-great choice-buffet- 10 euros for adults and 8 for children-much better value than in Tossa I thought. Drinks cheap at bar- I paid £7 for 2 fantas in town-rip off!
will definately return here again...already looking a flights!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in June 2010 with my mum and I am 39yrs... I didn't want an 18/30's place etc but at the same time didn't want a quiet place either..I absolutely fell in love with Tossa De Mar and would even go there alone if needed as I felt that save.. It is very much a couple/family place rather then a clubbing place.. There are plenty of restaurants, so many to mention, and lots of quaint bars etc.. The beach is stunning and only a 5/10 min walk from Esmeraldas hotel.. The town is extremely quaint and pretty with lots of little side streets and many little shops etc. I usually stay by the swimming pool but the scenery was too good to miss on the beach. The hotel was fine, I stayed in a twin bed studio whiich was too small for us to be honest and would next time book a one bedroom apartment. The studio is not that suitable is you are going to be cooking your evening meals, but if you plan to eat out like us each night then it is fine. The breakfast at the hotel is fab... The hotel was very clean and the staff are brillant and the evening entertainment is cheesy but so so funny and my mum and I made loads of friends.. Already missing the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DUKoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Ok hotelroom. Only few minutes from the beach and shopping, and that was great :)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

hotel spot on tossa is a beautiful place have been 3 times and going again soon try it and see for your self ,,,, well done to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Have been coming to Tossa de Mar for as long as I can remember and the place never changes. Used to stay in the Hotel Oasis across the street but changed to the Esmeraldas to go self catering. Excellent place and the Aparthotel as always, lovely. Would move to Tossa tomorrow permanently if we could afford it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tossademar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Booked this 7 night holiday just 2 weeks before travel (1st September) got cheapish Ryanair flight, transfers through Resort Hoppa and a great deal on the apartment through Thomson - whole thing cost just £286 per person (2 travellers).

We had a lovely spacious 1 bedroom apartment with very efficient air conditioning. Although it was quite basic it was very clean and had a nice bathroom. There were 2 sets of patio doors (one from the lounge and one from the bedroom) leading onto a good sized balcony which overlooked the pool area. The kitchen area had a fridge, kettle, toaster etc. and 2 hob rings which were enough if you wanted to cook something basic like a spag.bol. Towels were regularly changed and the apartment was cleaned every other day (nice change for an apartment as you usually have to do it yourself).

All staff at the hotel were polite and helpful and it was nice having the back-up of Thomson's 24-7 online help line if anything were to go wrong.

Tossa itself was very beautiful and had two beaches. The smaller of the two beaches had a little beach bar open in the evenings and it was lovely sitting there enjoying a drink, listening to relaxing music and looking at the ocean. A walk around the 12th Century walled fort is a must - you need to see it both by day and night.

I really cant say a bad word about either Tossa or the Esmeraldas.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJo040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#12 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#15 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Address: Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing