We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“decent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
halifax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

stayed here for a week in sept 2013 and was a decent enough hotel with nice bar and facilities.
friendly staff and very clean. no complaints from us. rooms basic but still fine. at the top end of the town so quieter.

Room Tip: rooms facing adjacent hotel best as get sun later in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swifty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    130
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
167
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
219 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The location is good. Easy walk to the beach and supermarkets. There is always someone on reception and they speak some English. The car park is large and secure and you get an individual space allocated. The rooms are clean but very basic. At busy times on the weekend when there are lots of people trying to check in there is only one staff member available. The car park is about 2 blocks away from the apartments and costs an extra €8 per day plus a €10 deposit for the key. The rooms are quite noisy - the baby in the room next door to ours cried half the night and kept us awake. The chairs in the small dining area scrape on the floor and you can hear them from the floor above and next door all the time. The noise doesn't make for a very relaxing stay. The shower curtain in the bathroom sticks to you while having a shower. No internet at all in the rooms but it is free downstairs in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies on the street side don't get sun. If you want a sunny balcony ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Basic apartment , adequate kitchen, clean bedding and towels, ample room for 3 of us staying together. Friendly helpful reception staff. Easy walk to beach, restaurants, and bars.
My one gripe is the only mirror was in the bathroom, so with 3 girls getting ready together it would have been good to have had one in the living area. Overall a good base to take a holiday in Beautiful Tossa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieholidaysreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good choice for basic,budget place to stay.
The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly especially on the reception.
Our room was dated but clean,and the cleaners were attentive.
Self catering facilities were quite basic,just 2 rings on hob,kettle,toaster and microwave.O.K for a week but not longer.
Overall a good place to stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very clean, friendly hotel. We booked self catering as we like to do as we please when away. The receptionists are lovely as are the bar staff really funny and down to earth and good for laugh. The only down side with the room was the beds. They are rather hard and not very comfortable. The Shower is great with hot water and nice and powerful.
The other gripe was that there was no daily/evening entertainment at all, maybe because it's the end of the season so there was only the games room and table tennis for entertainment. Do NOT book bed and breakfast it works out more expensive! With the holiday price it works out at an extra tenner a day each. Paying there its only 5 euros which ain't bad. The evening meals which can be booked for 10 euros per person is also good value and up to a decent standard and dishes replaced frequently and are HOT! Llui's Restaurant in the town is well worth a visit. Really friendly and wonderful food. They really looked after my wife and I preparing a special meal for our wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe this hotel is owned by the same company as San eloy. The difference between the two is unbelievable!
Esmereldas is clean, has great rooms with toasters! The bar staff (two brothers) are fantastic and its a very happy place to stay.....cant fault it!
I would never ever return to the San eloy but would love to stay again at esmereldas!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3HappyCaravaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap week away in the school holidays and having got cheap flights to Girona, Tossa De Mar looked like the best resort choice for us. Reviewing hotels, a number of first choice options were full so we booked with Aparthotel Esmerelda following reading the reviews here.

Upon arrival, we had to wait about 5 minutes for the receptionist to acknowledge we were there. However, they then checked us in relatively quickly and we had immediate access to our room.

We had a one bedroom apartment which was clean and basically furnished. We were staying self catering and we used the Caprabo supermarket which is a short walk from the hotel and reasonably priced.

The pool at the hotel was small and at the start of the week there were a large number of older children who spent their time bombing in to the pool. This unfortunately meant my children were unable to use the pool. The bombing activity appeared to be led by a hotel representative!

There is a small games room on site with games for about a euro each. We reported some balls missing from the pool table but the receptionist wasn't very forthcoming in sorting this out.

We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food. We went in the bar on just one occasion, which was to watch the Reptile Show. My son enjoyed this very much.

Tossa as a resort is beautiful. The hotel is about a slow 10 minute walk to the beach and similar to the bus station.

The hotel worked well for us as a base, as we spent most of our time out and about. If you are looking to spend more time at your hotel, you may wish to book something with a larger pool.

We used From2Travel for our resort transfer. This came from a google search and was 80€ for return transfer for the 4 of us from Girona. Unfortunately, we were the last to be dropped off so our trip took nearly 2 1/2 hours to get to the hotel. On our return journey, we were the last to be picked up which meant just as short 30 min journey to the airport. I'd recommend booking a cab/individual transfer to ensure a quicker journey to your hotel.

Activities to recommend in Tossa are:

• taking one of the glass bottom boats and seeing the caves. We spent a lovely afternoon on a beach we reaches by boat.

• Catch the bus to Barcelona. This cost us 23€ each for a return and took 80 minutes. Book your tickets in advance from the bus station as they get very busy. It drops you off just a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas and by a Metro stop.

• Marineland. Less a marine animal park and more a waterpark (not many animals!) but a couple of great areas for the kids.

• Medieval Castle show - very touristy and expensive but if your kids are in to knights as much as my son is, this is a must do!!! Both kids loved it. However, it is a very late night so be warned. Our coach picked us up at 6:30pm and didn't get to the venue until 8:40pm. The show starts at 9pm and we didn't get home until after 1am

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatH79_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.9 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Address: Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing