We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The apartments”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Yes the staff (reception and hotel maids) was absolutely very kind, friendly and accommodating. Allthough they seemed very busy all the time.
Location was OK (hard to find even with GPS).

I’ve noticed that others have described the cleaning as great. I have to say that I disagree. It was nice with new towels every day and can’t put a finger on the bath cleaning, however the balcony looked as it haven’t seen a wet mop for ages and no fresh bedding for 7 days.
I wasn’t aware that there was so many kids around as I always look for ‘no kids pool’. Pool area was quite noisy during the day – until after 10 pm. Never used it as guests put their towels over the sunbeds very early in the morning. Bad habit in my eyes. The lights went off on the balcony at 12 pm and you couldn’t swift it on yourself.
My studio (one room) was nothing like the ones you see on the photos. And not for 3 adults.
I have no experience with the restaurant nor the entertainment. Saying that, I can recommend it to families.

Room Tip: Ask for a description of your room or a photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetteGreve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    130
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
167
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned after 2 great weeks. We requested a 5th floor room as advised on here and it was quiet - great little apartment and we didn't find the beds hard at all! Little kitchen area - tv with bbc1 and itv3 and sky news. The apt was cleaned every day and fresh towels given daily too. Air con was good if a tad noisy!
When we arrived we thought the pool was going to be a nightmare as it is small but there was laways plenty of room and plenty of sunbeds. Really friendly and nice atmosphere and the kids made loads of friends. The food was good - lots of choice and plenty of it - really reasonable for what we paid. My only complaint would be that the coffee at breakfast was yuck but they do serve a decent coffee from behind the bar.
The entertainer Steven was great with the kids and would organise low key activities for them some afternoons. there was also the usual mini discos, lots of bingo, quizzes and karaoke and a couple of shows with Kenyan acrobats, an illusionist and a parrot and reptile show. Some nights we just chilled out in the reception area - with our jug of sangria which was a bargain 7 euros.
The staff were all very very helpful and the hotel was immaculate. We had a problem with our loo flushing and it was fixed immediately.
the hotel is really near the supermarket (DIA) which was cheaper than supermarkets in UK. and a good location for the town and the beach. the sand is quite gritty on the beach but the kids loved the waves and the sea is v clean !
Tossa is a lovely town - felt v spanish and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. we did a day trip to barcelona with thomson ( although we were not on holiday with thomson) and saw the noucamp and some barca sights. the tour guide that does the Thomson tours (Frank) is amazing - really good.
We had a great holiday and would return.

Room Tip: 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donznimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't fault the Esmeraldas at all, we stayed before 7 years ago and returned after planning a big family holiday, in total there were 20 of us ages ranging from 1 to 81 and it catered for us all. Some of us were half board and the food was lovely and plenty of range, the restaurant staff were friendly and quick to clear away dirty plates. There were plenty of high chairs available for the little ones.

The evening entertainment was excellent and varied. The entertainer Steven was really good with the children and our kids enjoyed the Mini Disco and Karaoke, he was interactive with guests which also contributed to the overall good holiday experience.

We booked to go to the water park through reception who were very helpful in doing so and we were able to get the free bus to Lloret by booking in this way.

The pool area was fine, the pool isn't massive but it is a little sun trap and there were plenty of sunbeds for the amount of people using the pool. There were also pool games on some days.

Towels are changed every day and apartments cleaned if you want them to be. The rooms were immaculate on arrival and we all agreed that the beds were comfortable.

We had a really good holiday and would be happy to visit again. We would like to thank all the staff there for being so accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sallypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What excellent value! We were 4 adults so had 2 studios,, as we were able to cater for our own breakfast & lunch we were able to eat out at the numerous & varied restaurants around Tossa.
The studios are spacious & the kitchenettes well equipped with a fridge, 2 ring hob & kettle etc.

The hotel is very clean & the staff friendly & extremely helpful.The swimming pool isn't huge but is big enough to swim in, the water was quite cold when you first get in.
We ate twice in the hotel restaurant where there is a good selection of hot & cold buffet.
From the hotel it is easy to walk around the town which again is spotless. There are 2 supermarkets literally around the corner & lovely beaches again within a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I feel sure most reading this review will have seen the television program *The Hotel Inspector* with the wonderful Alex Polizzi where she travels around doing her best with her vast hotelier knowledge to help failing hotel/guest house businesses,
Well Alez is never going to have to viist The Esmeraldas as it will never fail.
Myself and my wife returned last night from yet another stay at the Esmeraldas in Tossa de Mar .
We always go self catering as the choices of food in the resort cater for just about every taste and financial abilities.
We did have a few mid afternoon snack meals at the hotel and found then perfectley acceptable and very reasoanbly priced i,e a large mushroom omlette with a good salad and chips if tou wanted it the cost six euros,now show me anywhere in the Uk where you could get that for under £10 and i will go there.
As usual the reception staff cannot do enough to help ,The bar staff are gems once again nothing is to much trouble and the three of them have now been there a good many years ,which in my opnion speaks well of the Med Playa group for the length of service.
As i have commented in previous reviews on The Esmeraldas its a good clean safe hotel ,our room was cleaned and fresh bedding every second day .
Tossa itself is just about the most unspolit resort on the Costa Brava and as we have been visiting Tossa for over twenty years now its virtually as unspolit as when we first visited .
if you want drunken idiots and music bursting your ear drums till unearthy hours go to Lloret de Mar ,because you will not find any of that in Tossa .
We are going to our local travel agents tomorrow 16-8-13 to book for 2014

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tadpoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent, very clean basic rooms, you get what u pay for. We stayed as a family of four, two adults, two kids, aged 15 and 16, beds a little uncomfy but not too bad, free with fi code in reception area is 20 30 40 50, breakfast five euros buffet is fan, go to the Tuesday market at later da mar, bus is three euros, better than the Thursday market in fossa due mar, check out the TV room where people leave things for out to get if they r leaving, we got a lilo and two parasols free, sand is very hot on the beach so wear shoes, if you want to spend an hour four star then nip across the road to the oasis hotel and use their pool, easy access ! Had a lovely week and would definitely go back, English TV as well, lovely for what we paid x

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TinaA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had two self catering studios on the 5th floor, the studios are small but well equipped with coffee maker, kettle, microwave, electric hobs, and plenty of cutlery, utensils, pans and dishes.
Would say, however, that the studios are a bit cramped for three adults, with a pull out bed for the third bed, and would probably suit a couple with child much better.
Pool is on the small side and gets very busy peak season, children prefer the main pool to the kiddie pool and spend most of their time dive-bombing the pool, we swum early in the day or late in the day for this reason, there is a long list of 'pool rules' on display in several languages but nobody takes any notice which makes it difficult for everyone to enjoy the pool. I would suggest that during peak season a member of staff could do a quick tour of the pool every couple of hours to prevent bad pool behaviour because this doesn't only lead to sensible pool users becoming annoyed but could lead to accidents.
Overall, we found the hotel to be clean, well-run (with the exception of the pool), and the desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The cleaners cleaned our room every day which was exceptional service.
There are ramps outside the hotel and a lift inside so disabled guests could stay here.
Cannot comment on the food for we were S/C, but did not hear any complaints from fellow guests.
Again, would just like to see a tightening up of the pool rules especially during peak season, NO BALL GAMES, NO DIVING/DIVE BOMBING, NO RUNNING AROUND THE POOL.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenumberthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#12 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
Address: Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing