We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Girls week away - June 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Tossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Juan Tossa
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
burnley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Girls week away - June 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just arrived back from a week in Tossa with mum and 2 sisters.First time to this resort which we found extremely nice ,lots of bars, restaurants,lovely authentic Spanish areas.First impressions hotel in good position for beach, bars etc.clean and staff friendly.Food ok but deteriorated as week progressed.3public phones that were out of order all week and when we arranged to use telephone from room(at a cost of 10 euros to set up)this too we were unable to use.Queried with reception but no joy was even told that reception could not make outside calls to anywhere other than Spain!!Eventually found out that reason for phone probs was that they had changed supplier and couldn,t use for few days!! Got our money back!!Pool bar closed all the time we were there.Unfortunately would not rush to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    139
    180
    73
    82
See reviews for
208
181
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

hotel was clean and very particle. perfect for school trips. Wi-Fi was mint.
great atmosphere on a night. only disappointment was the food but there is local restaurants near by. the hotel was 2 minutes away from the beach and many shops. all staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I came here on school trip with friends in May. Staff were okay, not the best, a bit rude at times. Food was horrible, very greasy, and Chicken wasn't cooked properly. 3 different schools staying at one time, us being one, disco each night, with British music that got everyone dancing. Games room was good, even enough room for a small game of football. This is a drive away from Barcelona though, taking 2 hours to get to Portaventura! If you are on a school trip, this is a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harryperren1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

i came here to find numerous college/university trips which was quite noisy and intimidating when your crammed in a lift with several italian teenagers which also were constantly making noise down the corridors during the night. the location was ok, the room was clean, the staff were tolerant. about average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenna_connelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel twice now, first time was last year and just got back from our second trip to Tossa. Hotel was busy for end of season and it showed. Food was poor and noisy clientèle made our stay slightly disappointing. Luckily Tossa is a lovely area with plenty of restaurant and bars to visit! resturant Igore and La Taverna were our favourites! If we go back i think we will look at the Diana or Oasis as these have a much better reputation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just back from Tossa de mar where we stayed at Don Juan Tossa. I must say it's a great value for 4 star hotel. the food was always fresh , many choices and the fresh fruit and excellent ice cream. The staff were helpful, when we arrived they gave a 4 floor double bed room with huge balcony and great views to the mountain we found that room a bit too small to move around shame as the balcony was like a terrace. We changed with no problem to another bigger room with no extra charge and smaller balcony. The town itself is very laid back and romantic no night life there, Lloret de mar next resort is far bigger and livelier if you like that sort of thing but there is a majority of Russian in this 2 areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the end of August. Prior to going, we had read some of the reviews and had big reservations about staying at the hotel. However, we were pleasantly surprised - the rooms were clean and serviced every day, the food was plentiful and whilst not cordon bleu, was perfectly acceptable, with a big selection of fresh fruit and salad, meat and fish. The pool could do with some more sunshades, it is on the roof so not much protection from the sun. For a hotel of this grade, it was good, and we would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PCSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
URH Hotel Parkhotel
URH Hotel Parkhotel
#32 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#38 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Juan Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Juan Tossa

Property: Don Juan Tossa
Address: C/ Barcelona, 22, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Juan Tossa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a beach hotel with a family atmosphere, we invite you to discover the Don Juan Tossa Hotel. Located near the beach and the medieval area of the city, it stands out for being one of the best 4-star hotels in Tossa de Mar, ideal for your trips with your couple or children. The Don Juan Tossa Hotel stands out for its large and comfortable spaces and its modern services, specially designed to offer you a holiday in Tossa de Mar full of commodities: complete rooms with free wifi, children's club, swimming pool, solarium with panoramic views, entertainment, tennis, parking, buffet restaurant with show cooking... Choose a hotel near Tossa de Mar beach at the best price online guaranteed and make a reservation with all the guaranties exclusively here. Enjoy the advantages of the official website of Don Juan Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Don Juan Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Juan Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Don Juan Tossa De Mar
Don Juan Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing