We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice!”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top choice!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great hotel in an excellent location; we had a fabulous 7 nights stay in a superior room - spacious, with clean, very modern bathroom, air con, nice cold drinks in the fridge supplied daily, TV, spacious breakfast room with good food variety...couldn't have asked for more from a hotel classed with one star only. I would highly recommend it and if we go to Tossa again, we'll definitely choose to stay there again. Well done to it's personnel, they are doing a great job, thanks for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EUtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    115
    39
    7
    7
See reviews for
81
151
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I concur with just about everything that has been said about this hotel - it was clean, comfortable, room quite spacious, decent breakfast, lovely pool and superb service.
I doesn't have some of the extras that you might get at a 4 star hotel (gym, conference room, etc), but in every other way it is as good as any 4 star hotel I've stayed in.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking pool was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayarrscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a standard room. The room was a good size with snug but functional bathroom. Room was really clean, and recleaned every day, beds made daily and plenty of free toiletries. Two beds in room set out as a twin despite ordering a double. Reception said they didn't have doubles - pushed beds together but not ideal. Room was hot and very noisy at night but earplugs solved that mostly. Pool great, daily clean and chemical check. Not enough umbrellas though and rarely anyone serving at pool bar. Breakfast was reasonable - plenty of choice but not the greatest quality. Fresh fruit was good though. Would return but go for a superior and ask for a balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel! The staff are helpful and efficient. You can store your bags in a secure, locked room after you have checked out, which is handy.

The superior room was better than we could have imagined. It was modern, quite spacious, with a lovely bathroom and a huge balcony with a view of the pool. We loved the free drinks in the mini bar and the little toiletries. This hotel is a 1 star and you get 4 free drinks in the mini bar every day?! The only minor niggle would be there is no soundproofing, but luckily we had quiet neighbours!

The location is great. There are lots of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants just round the corner and it's a short walk to the beach. The pool area is lovely and clean has a well stocked bar.

The cleaners did a good job and replaced the towels each day. The best bit was breakfast. We could not believe just how good it was! The pastries were absolutely delicious, as was the fruit and cold cheese and ham selection. At weekend there was even champagne!

Room Tip: We requested a room with a balcony, facing the pool. The superior rooms have air con, so pick one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlissaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is very clean and has been recently renovated so the rooms looks nice. The hotel is well located, but about a 10 minute walk to the beach (an issue if you have small children and a lot of stuff to lug to the beach. The pool was kept sparkling. We thought it was strange that only a sheet covered the bed -- no cover whatsoever. My sister and I, and our families, each took a superior room that had air conditioning. The walls were not thick. You could hear people in the next room. The breakfast was adequate. The coffee was delicious, but the food was mostly sugary pastries (not that good) and sliced process meats or cheese.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a lovely central one star hotel that was great value for money. It was spotlessly cleanin all areas. Our bedroom was cleaned every day and our mini fridge stocked with water and fizzy drinks, free of charge. The hotel served a lovely breakfast with a selection of fresh meat, bread, fruit and pastries. Within 5 mins walk to beach, shops, bars, tasty ice creams and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel as it was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's hard to believe this is only a 1 star hotel. The room was really lovely, clean and tastefully furnished. The bed was very large and very comfortable. Location is great, just a few minutes walk from the beach and on the edge of the main 'old town'. Breakfast was good quality cold buffet style and included in the price. In addition to there being a couple of coin operated PCs there was free wi-fi in the public areas. My only disappointment was that our room didn't have a balcony and the hotel was full so we couldn't move. I had wrongly assumed that the superior rooms (which we had booked) would be the rooms with balconies - but when I reread the description properly it did say only some rooms have balconies. Would definitely stay there again but would request a balcony in advance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#20 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Property: Hotel Windsor
Address: Carrer Nou 28, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Windsor 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing