We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This is a Thomson rated 4x + NOT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bahia de Tossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley
Level Contributor
231 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“This is a Thomson rated 4x + NOT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is very nice, but they have lost their + and need to do quite a lot of work to get it back. The most favourable feature of this Hotel is the main Pool and Spa and pool,in the main pool there are plenty of sun beds and every 2 has an umbrella, so if you want some shade it's there. The pool however is a bit too cold for me. There is also a problem with Wasps. The plants around the pool and bed areas attract the wasps and the open bins add to that.
Our room had a pool view which was great, however we soon found that the curtains did not close and the TV was an antique analogue, but there is a reasonable programme choice. Our first major complaint was the Towels. The Hotel is 10 years old and I think the towels have not been changed since then, they were hard, flimsy and just not what you would expect from a 4x +hotel.
The restaurant and its staff were very good. Plenty of choices, from exotic to basics.
There is also a Hotel Customer Service Manager available twice a day and I sat down with him and went through the bad bits and he assured me that by next year all the rooms will have wall mounted HD TVs. He was also aware of the towel problems and hopes to get that sorted as well. Will we go back? Yes, but you need to be aware that Catalonia is trying to become independent from Spain and the local Government have imposed a Hotel tax of .99 cents to the maximum of 7€ per person, inc. of children on arrival at you Hotel. So you have to factor that extra cost into your overall costs.
Tossa is a fantastic destination, be advised however that the beach is not sand, but very fine shingle, so no sand castles. A trip up into the castle is a must as the views are fantastic, so all in all I think we will be going back.

Room Tip: Get up half an hour earlier for breakfast, because otherwise you will have to queue for ages. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    546
    165
    47
    14
See reviews for
695
586
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tossa De Mare is well worth a visit if you like relaxed less commercial surroundings, completely the other end of the scale compared to lloret just down the road. I stay at this hotel every year and the staff always remember you, staff retention is good which tells me heaps about the management.
great food but its the same every year and could do with a change from year to year.
clean hotel with comfy beds, nice pool area. good all round.

Room Tip: Speak to Simon for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been to this Hotel in August 2013. Very nice and clean rooms, excellent restaurant and staff.

Pool was really overcrowded, and still, guards were letting people jump all over the place. Not very safe if you let small children to be in the pool.

There was some kind of entertainment every evening, not a top quality, but good enough to spend an evening.

Reception staff could use more training, they were ok but they could crack a smile once in a while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took our six year old daughter for a week all inclusive in August. The hotel was great, everyone was friendly, the food was excellent, a good choice each day, something for everyone including a kids selection. Always 2 soups each evening, lots of fresh bread, salads, freshly cooked fish and meat. The Thomson rep Sam was very helpful, she took us on a walking tour on our first day that really helped us find our way around, this was free of charge. You could always get a sunbed as you couldn't reserve them before 10 am, they removed your towels if you tried to reserve them. My only gripe was that the all inclusive wine was terrible, we couldn't drink it and had to pay more for a different bottle. I found this strange as you could have premium branded spirits. We will definitely return, probably go half board and go into the town more than we did.

Room Tip: We had a family room that was bigger, massive bathroom with 2 showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redminiLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

arrived at hotel for our 8th visit, we were allocated a room on the top floor (5th) which we had requested prior to our visit. knowing what to expect of the hotel and tossa its easy to settle in. the staff being friendly as usual, great to see them again Laura, Anca, Brian, Ray to name a few(congratulations to Ray on the arrival of Sophia a beautiful daughter.)
the hotel has a All inclusive option (cheaper to book before going in summer season) but we like to eat around the town as there are plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes.
hotel is well looked after with lots to keep you entertained if you want. swimming pools, Jacuzzi's etc with a roof top solarium, split into two the first area being adult only with two Jacuzzi's and the second being naturist with another Jacuzzi, which had no more than a dozen people there at any one time, a great place to escape to relax.
The night shows are your average hotel entertainment with acrobats and tribute bands etc
there is a piano bar for adults only, playing more organ music than piano, great guitar session with one of the waiters one night, and he will always accommodate any budding singers present.
The town is a couple of minutes walk away with the beach a few more minutes away. a good way of seein the town for the first time is to catch the resort train outside the hotel. which travels around the town and back taking about 1/2 to3/4 hour.
tossa is a great little town with a short promenade lined with restaurants next to the "villa vela" old town. there are a few small bars for drinks dotted around the resort but its relaxed.

Had a great 2 weeks and wouldn't hesitate to return again, weve always had a great time here, and always thought it great value for the money

Room Tip: all good rooms but a high floor will give you better views, pool view or a view over the town, never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barneyyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked before Christmas 2012 with Thomsons and paid about £530 for ten days full board which was excellent value. The food is very very good in our opinion and there was always something we liked. The way the food was displayed showed that staff obviously take pride in what they do too. Whilst we staying there was a Chinese themed evening in the restaurant which had been charmingly decorated with lanterns etc. In fact, we found that the majority of the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we recognised many faces from our last visit. As before, we emailed the hotel in advance to request our preferred area/floor and this was accommodated. We found the area in the restaurant to the left as you go in to be the quietest and quickly favoured a table in this area. Children and families are very well catered for however, Thomson also market this hotel towards couples and promote the 'spa' aspect of the hotel. So a little gripe now. The indoor 'spa' pool was being used by many parents as a baby pool (probably because it's heated) as well as being used by unsupervised children who were 'water-bombing' etc. We went to enjoy the pool at around 5.30-6ish on one afternoon and there were six babies in the pool and one parent obviously thought it was ok to change his baby right by the side of the pool. We spoke to the spa receptionist and she said others had complained too but she could not do anything about it. We raised our concerns with the customer relations person at the time and he appeared sympathetic. Whilst we were there we took some dogs out for a walk from the local dog's home/sanctuary which was very enjoyable. Simon on reception was very helpful with directions because it's not the easiest place to find but well worth the effort. The Thomson reps were always happy to chat and help. On the day of our departure we had an early evening flight and our only meal provided that day was breakfast. Since we had some lunches out of the hotel during our stay we asked if we could swap one of our them to our day of departure which they gladly did. Do ask in advance though and they will amend your dining card. All in all I can recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning. Tossa is a charming town and we love it.

Room Tip: Email ahead with your requirements and they do their best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Golden Bahia is the perfect hotel for all. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. As for the food, what can I say...something for everyone and very tasty, well worth every penny! Great activities and entertainment at night, you do need to get in the bar area early though if you want to see the stage as there are quite a few obstructions so not easy to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel and Tossa is lovely and for all ages, my 12 year old Son loved it and wants to go back, all in all an excellent holiday!! We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinaF130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#10 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Property: Golden Bahia de Tossa
Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing