We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent”
Review of Hotel Canaima

Hotel Canaima
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Canaima
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Never stayed here but would always stop for coffee on the way back to our hotel.
Lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. Very pleasent people working there, always remember you, and nothing was ever too much trouble. If the rest of the hotel was as freindly as that then would have no hesitation staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canaima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was only for a one night stop thankfully. There was no balcony, air con, lift, and no electric on the morning we stayed. Supposedly electric repairs. Room very clean and comfy bed though. It would have suited if we had a decent breakfast. Take your own tea bags! Only cereal, cakes, bread and cheese.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leckco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This hotel is well situated in Tossa de Mar, no more than a five minute walk to the beach and most of Tossa's sites. The woman who runs the hotel is very friendly and was happy to answer questions about the town, the beaches, and nearby attractions. Breakfast, which is included, was simple but adequate, but it's unlikely that you'd find a lot of good breakfast options in Tossa anyway, unless you were staying at a more expensive hotel.

We stayed in room 315, which, along with room 319, has a nice terrace with a table, chairs and retractable awning. 319 has the better view, but only slightly. Having the terrace was a nice feature; it allowed us more space to spread out and relax in the evening. The room itself is small, but clean, and maid service did a good job of preparing the room each day. The bathroom was nice, clean, and modern, but bring your own soap and shampoo since the hotel provides only basic soap. The double bed was actually two single/twin beds pushed together, which were comfortable enough, although the sheets and comforter are not the greatest. Didn't matter though.

Let's face it: in Tossa de Mar, you'll spend all day at the beach, come back to the room to shower and relax, and then go out for the night. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel for people with kids -- although for the price you could reserve two rooms to have more space -- but for singles or young couples, this hotel is a perfect value. My wife and I were perfectly happy having this as our home base for our two nights in Tossa de Mar. There's simply no reason to spend a lot of money in Tossa, since it seemed that many of the slightly more expensive hotels didn't offer much more.

For value, the friendly staff, and location, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bklynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

This Hotel is officialy 1 star but I have stayed in 3 star Hotels that are not as good as this one. It is family run the lady owner is very helpful. a real bargain at 50 Euros with a good breakfast. Ask for room 319 on the top floor (no lift) with the best views.Only one complaint but this applies to all of Spain why do dustmen empty the bins at 5 in the morning?
I would recomend this Hotel and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chelseawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2005

A small hotel(18 beds) only 500 yards from the beach and 100 from the centre. Operated by the resident Catalan owner. Immaculatelt clean bedrooms and public rooms, small terrace bar. All rooms have on suite and balcony and an absolute bargain at 45Euros for a double, bed and continental breaky) (Sept 2005) Our 7th visit. No tour operators, normally only couples. A real gem!

15  Thank Tourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank maph9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank avlasdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#32 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tonet
Hotel Tonet
#24 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Parkhotel
URH Hotel Parkhotel
#33 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#38 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaima

Address: Avinguda La Palma 24 | Apartado de Correos 121, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $59 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Canaima 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Canaima Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing