We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Mexican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Guero

El Guero
Ranked #85 of 163 Restaurants in Tossa de Mar
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon El Guero when walking through the town and looked at the reviews on here before deciding whether to try it out. We actually are here twice in our week long holiday!

As we had young children with us, we were looking for restaurants that opened earlier than others and ate at El Guero around 6pm.

The food was delicious! I can highly recommend the Chicken Mole enchiladas!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatH79_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Searched for a mexican and found one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I believe this is quite a new place. Was quite quiet, however food was lovely. We only found this wandering round the backstreets, but glad we did and would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaclyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Not so easy to find, but we were fortunate to stay in the hotel nearby. Stumbled into the place by accident searching for a late evening snack, ended up having two main courses and came back for more couple of days later. Simple and good Mexican food, very good value for money, good service. Gracias!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a good meal here, it made a change from tapas! The staff were very friendly and tried to speak English even though I can speak Spanish. The menu isn't huge but has a nice selection of dishes. The restaurant isn't open at lunch but opens earlier in the evening than many other restaurants (5.30 I think) which is useful for tired children!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEXICAN RESTAURANT A HIDDEN GEM IN TOSSA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance tucked away in a back street of old town Tossa,Its best to ask a local for directions as I can think of no land-mark that would help.
Anyway the restaurant has not been open long and closes for one day a week - Mondays
The menu is not extensive but if you used it every day you could enjoy a different meal each day
The Enchilada's are to die for along with the black beans,tomato side dressing and rice - brilliant
I would highly recommend this place for a quality Mexican meal at a very affordable price

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drhawk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guero also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to El Guero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing