We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things in small packages”
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tossa Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Tossa Beach may not have been the largest of hotels but it was clean and the staff friendly. The hotel is down a narrow street so anyone on a bus transfer from the airport will get dropped off at the top of the road a 30 second walk from the hotel. On arrival we were told that there is a tourist tax to pay (luckily I already had some spare Euro’s. It was .99 cents a day so just under 14Euros for the two of us – it would have been nicer if this had been made clearer when booking the holiday so no fault to the hotel for this). You may find that you have a room in the sister hotel which is literally over the road so don’t worry if you get told this (we weren’t). You are also able to use the facilities in either hotel.

Our room was small with a small balcony but clean and newly decorate. The only downside to the room I can think of would be the size of the balcony if you are the type of person/people who like to sit and watch the world go by. It was literally just big enough for the two chairs placed out there. Even if that’s what we wanted/liked we’d have made the most of it.

The restaurant was clean and the food was typical of a basic all inclusive hotel. For the price you pay for this hotel there should be no complaints. Yes the food is a basic (but good) standard and can get repetitive, but if it bothers you that much there are a number of nice and reasonably priced restaurants around the main resort. Snacks were served from the pool bar. We didn’t sample these but they looked fine. Again, basic standard, but they would fill a hole if you got hungry.

The pool area was tiny (but very clean) so in the summer months it would be near on impossible to find somewhere to sit/sunbath. But when we went (end of May) it was fine. Having said that the beach is less than 2 minutes’ walk away so not all bad.

The hotel entertainment was rubbish, but some groups were making the most of it. Most evenings we would finish dinner, go for a walk along the beach front and though the town centre then have a drink in the bar before going up to our room.

Tossa itself was lovely. Clean beach and a lovely old town to explore. This was a lovely location and hotel for a quick and cheap getaway. The hotel was shown as having 4 stars which is a bit of a push (me and my fiancé both think it’s a 3 star in reality), but that aside we’d both be more than happy to go again and have recommended it to friends and family
Also, if you book through flexible trips and get the coach transfer make sure you go to the toilet before setting off (took just over 2 hours and there was no toilet on the coach) and the statue that you are told to look for in the airport is inside the building!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just got back on 24th Aug 2013, thoroughly disappointed with the hotel, was just lucky that we were not relying on the hotel for all our food and entertainment (even though all inc), and that we took enough money to escape to places more welcoming that served hot food(hotel food was lukewarm, all of us had diarrhoea).This hotel should definitely not be 4 star, id say it was a good 2. The hotel was very clean and most staff were good but some should not be in the hospitality sector, especially Sergio and the old women with the mop bucket.Overall this is an ok base hotel If you can find a cheap deal, go with little expectation and you may, just may be pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher_wright3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week with a friend & her grand-daughter. Room very small - 2chairs on balcony, no table and had to sit in dark. Fridge in room never cold.
Food terrible -cold & tasteless. Was same thing every day!!
Entertainment pathetic for both adults and kids. Was told bingo on in one part of hotel but then found out later on it was across in other hotel. Pool area very clean, however counted 15 sunbeds one day!!
Blonde receptionist very rude and arrogant. Whenever we asked for things the reply was 'NO' or she pretended not to understand what we were saying.
This hotel wouldn't even warrant a 2 star never mind so called 4!! Please be warned they own 3 hotels and if you're unlucky to be placed in 3rd one - you may as well book into YMCA!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having arrived the annex building that is an overspill for the other two main buildings Marbella hotel was very disappointing to say the least thankfully we obtained a room with a balcony we still needed a fan for the room another couple where given a room without a window and when they complained they where dismissed by the hotel staff.the other two hotels that where rated four star is definitely only two.the food was acceptable but as with all buffet food was the same most nights,but there was a varied choice.pool very small and mostly in the shade.all drinks served in small plastic glasses the quality not very good so didn't make the most of the all inclusive package deal.if you chose to go to the resort you will find plenty hotels of a far higher standard but similar in price.overall we will return to tossa de mar the place itself is lovely with some very nice shops and restaurants but select your hotel carefully one final point watch out for the Ryan Air vultures !

Room Tip: Keep away from 3rd floor all rooms very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mawag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overall, for the price paid, this all inclusive base represented reasonable value. Bedroom and communal areas were kept very clean, there was a modern bathroom, TV [without remote control], a fridge [but deposit required], air conditioning which worked, and with reception and bar staff who were quite friendly. Two swimming pools, one for each part of the hotel [opposite each other across the road].

Food quality adequate, coffee and juice at breakfast not at all good quality. The restaurant facilities in the basement have more of the feel of a school canteen, but there was reasonable choice at each meal and plenty of food available.

If you think of this as a decent three star hotel with meals and drinks included then it meets all of those standards; at times it gets close to a four star hotel but not a UK 4 star hotel. Would we stay here again? Possibly yes, as it was good value in high season, but it lacked any feeling that it was in Catalonia or Spain and for this reason we may look for somewhere else in Tossa de Mar next time.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to vary. I think that the rooms in the Tossa Beach building have been renovated more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have just got back from Tossa Beach hotel all inclusive the hotels,rooms and pools were very clean they were cleaning all the time and that's good.If you are a family do NOT go here because the outside terrace closes and 10:30 then the bar closes at 11:30 and then the lobby closes at 12 and you cant sit there they turn the lights off you have to be quite you cant even stay downstairs. our room was right above the lobby and we couldn't hear anything from people in the lobby.When we went to bed every night there was slamming the doors shut,moving chairs inside and outside as well as,television being so loud you could hear every word that was said.One night i went to bed and i had to be up for 4 am the next morning and i was trying to get to sleep and next door to us both sides they were moving chairs,banging about,I went downstairs to the reception i told them they didn't understand English very well,A man came up with me a told them it was fine for about half a hour i fell to sleep and my mum said they were moving the chairs for a long time.The food was nice also drinks and snacks.The waiters were always tidying your plates up and they were all polite.DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL NO GOOD FOR FAMILY'S WITH SMALL CHILDREN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cameron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My 20 year old daughter and I had been to this hotel a few times over the past 5 years due to its proximity 2 the town and beach, so we knew what to expect.Some of the reviews make me wonder what people expect for the money! Shock at no toiletries, having to pay for a safe lock, really? Its a cheap and cheerful, clean, safe small Spanish hotel, not the Hilton! Its an hour or so transfer from Gerona airport not Barcelona so make sure you book the right airport!
The food is ok not over fancy but certainly not disgusting, there is plenty of choice, the breakfasts are really good and the dinning room serves both hotels simply because its large enough to accomodate both.We had no problem with getting tea or coffee and the food was fresh. The guests are split between two hotels facing each other and we have stayed in both.I prefare the Tossa Centre simply because its quieter, the entertainment room being in the Tossa beach with the dining room. The decor is modern, the staff friendly and efficient and the hotel is spotless. The pool areas are very small but as we prefer the beach this wasnt a concern for us. The entertainment is not to our taste kids disco, guy singing with organ, karioki, snake and parrot show but others seemed to enjoy it. We use the hotel as a base due to its location, the food being ok and the staff very friendly. We have a few drinks (we have never been stopped from taking drinks to our room when getting ready and this is walking into the lifts with 2 each right next to the front desk) and have had a laugh doing the quizz before heading off into town to drink at a few of the bars on the way up to the castle. One sad thing this year is the beach bar at Condolor beach seems to have changed hands and is no longer open during the evening. We spent many a great night their sitting amongst the candles in the sand but maybe the owners were away when we went. Some of the hotel staff have been there for a few years and recognised us from last time we went when my daughter was 16 which was nice (shes a pretty girl though!) and we didnt witness any surley or agressive behaviour in fact one receptionist went out of her way to sort some transport muddle a couple of teenagers had got themselves into. Its a good choice for central accomodation, ok food and drinks and serves its purpose for a cheap week getaway.

Room Tip: Tossa Centre is quieter
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#31 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Juan Tossa
Don Juan Tossa
#37 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $66 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing