We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Surprise Package”
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tossa Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Surprise Package”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've just returned from a week in this hotel and we are very gutted. Gutted to be home that is. We were a little worried before going as it was a no frills deal, very cheap and the reviews on Trip Advisor were a bit hit and miss.
When we arrived we were surpised by how modern the hotels are, how clean they are and how friendly the management on reception were. We were initially given a room on the bottom floor, by the bar and lift so we immediately asked to be moved. The hotel couldnt accomodate this move and asked us to stick with it for one night and ask again the following day. True to their word they helped, we were even given a choice of rooms!
There are Pro's and Con's to both hotels, the main hotel has slightly more modern rooms, but it's near the main bar / entertainment area, plus the pool is larger and it has the food hall. The other hotel ( centre ) is where we stayed and we thought it was spot on.

The food is what you might expect, Salad Bar, Chips, Red Meat, Chicken or Fish and the usual Pasta etc, and a bit of veg. If you want A La Carte then you won't be happy, but if you just want a good bit of food and you aren't snobby you will be fine.

The pools are nice, but freezing! Too much shade accompanied by reasonably deep water ( 2M ) mean the water doesn't get warm.

Luckily the lovely beach and town is a minute walk and you won't be let down by this. It's like a bit of Venice meets Dartmouth with a hint of Mogan ( Gran Canaria ).

We hired a car and drove to Barcelona on one day. We booked through reception and the hire firm picked us up, drove us to the depot and then did the same thing after dropping the car off. really good service, plus worth is as Barcelona was amazing.

No gym or wellness centre, but when you pay this ammount do you expect it?

The weather was mid 20's all week, no rain thankfully and the sun burn to prove it.

Looking at the floor plan on the back of the door some rooms do seem really small, whilst others were big and had large balconies. Luck of the draw here I'm affraid. we were luckly second time around, but if we couldnt have swapped rooms we wouldnt have minded too much. It is what it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    328
    250
    130
    121
See reviews for
333
413
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tossa Beach is a lovely clean hotel with hard working friendly staff. The manager gave us a warm welcome and we were allocated a room on the third floor (318) with views over the pool which was lovely. The air conditioning was not all that brilliant and as the weather was quite hot, even though it was the end of September, it was a shame because it meant the room was stuffy for sleeping in. The entertainment was ok but got a bit boring with some guy playing the organ most evenings, although there was a parrot show, snake show and a karaoke night but we made friends and had good fun anyway . Food was varied although not very hot. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and shops and I was surprised how big and lovely Tossa is. A walk up to the castle is a must for brilliant views. I would recommend Tossa Beach Hotel and would say that the photos on Trip Advisor are out of date and it is very modern now.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was in the corner with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned on friday from a 10 night stay at this hotel.
We (like everyone else) had read the previous reviews and wondered what we had booked.
The hotel - yes this is not on the main road and you are dropped off at the end of the street but it is only a 2 minute walk and very easy to find. (sign posts on the street corners for each hotel)
At the hotel we were greeted by a lovely lady who explained they where having a few issues with the power, but we could still get to our room as it was on the first floor. At no time during our stay did we witness any rudeness from staff. They were all very plesant and helpful. We did on one occasion have a small problem with ants. The receptionist gave us some spray and they were gone within minutes.
We did find the food a little repetative but we were there for 10 nights but we always managed to have something for every meal that was well cooked and warm. The lager on tap is Amstel and the sangria is lovely.
The rooms were cleaned daily and fit us (a family of four) with plenty of space. The shower was amazing!
The pool is small, they are only small hotels, but you have two pools to choose from.
Be warned the hotel is very strict with their noise policy and we did see a few guests sent home early for being to drunk and loud. We found this great as a family as it meant we got a good nights sleep and were not bothered by drunks during the day.
The beach is only a 5 minute walk and is made from small pebbles not sand. The water is crystal clear and a excellent place for kids. If you ask the hotel the day before they will pack a picnic for you to take. (excellent for those on a budget)
I would agree that the evening entertainment could be improved but it served its purpose.
Overall we had a fab time and are already considering when to go back. Tossa de Mar is a beautiful place with lots of history. The castle is well worth the effort and only a half hour walk to the lighthouse at the top.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-wallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would never stay here again. The managment were rude and abrupt. Whilst staying at the hotel we watched a young couple thrown out onto the street because there toilet was leaking. The manager accused them of breaking the toilet and demanded 80 Euro's. They desputed the damage, he then held onto there passports and refused to let the couple into there room to get access to there belongings for there toddler. Issues aside this wasn't the way a manager should act to resolve the issue. The couple had to call the police to get there passports back, but they were still thrown out ot the hotel.

This wasn't an isolated example. Lots of people had issues with the managment. The hotel is not family friendly. We are far from a roudy bunch but were constantly asked to be quiet whilst socialising in general seating area of the hotel lobby. In the end we were too scared to laugh or even talk..

The eating area was a bit like a food hall in a shopping mall and the food was a bit repetative. At the end of the day this was a four star rated hotel and the standard should have been a lot higher. This isn't a four star.... more like a three star at best

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gixer851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were a group of very happy people ...it was my wife's birthday so we pick this hotel ..not knowing how it was gonna be...but it was good ..some staff a bit rude but the barmen bunny and Ronnie did a very good job to keep us happy...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgab77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I travelled to Tossa Beach in September with a group of friends. We had a great time in Tossa, which is a beautiful town (Lloret less so!) and I would definitely recommend it. If you do make the trip to Lloret there is a beach bar that does huge cocktails for 13 euro which include free garlands and flowers! We also got the bus from Tossa to Barcelona for the day which worked out very well.

The hotel had everything that we needed and the location was ideal for the beach and the old town. The hotel was absolutely spotless, we would see the cleaners going round at all times of the day and night and their efforts certainly paid off.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the night porter to be a little grumpy - we got told off for being noisy when we first arrived at 2am, which was fair enough- we were a little bit too excited about being on holiday! We didn't hear of anyone getting thrown out for spurious reasons or being ripped off.

As with any all-inclusive, the food can get "samey" over the course of a week. The breakfasts were very nice and there was lots of choice. There were always a choice of meat and fish choices, chips, pasta, salads, soup etc. We did eat out a couple of times, which we would have done in any event because food is an important part of our holiday and there were lots of nice restaurants!! There was a wide choice of drinks, we must have tried every cocktail they could make (usually requesting them by colour!).

The hotel catered for a number of nationalities, there were a few "Brits-abroad" (including one lady who was sick down herself in the bar and a couple of angry birds!!)

Unfortunately it was quite cloudy the week that we went, so we didn't have much chance to get a tan, however we did lie by the pool and there was always space, although there might be too much shade for the tan-tastics!

The entertainment was basic - our tolerance to men with keyboards wore thin towards the end of the week, but we tended to make our own entertainment! We saw a snake show, and narrowly avoided some international karaoke! We went exploring and found Chaplins (nice little bar owned by a Brit) which was populated by some of the bar staff after hours. If you meet a man who looks a bit like Jermaine Jackson and tells you he is called Aissa or Aslam in Chaplins then steer clear because he is getting married to my friend....!!

All in all this was a very pleasant trip and the Tossa Beach hotel exceeded all of our expectations for the price we paid.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWhiskerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had booked to stay in the Tossa center hotel and was pleased as this was the quieter hotel. On arrival we were told we were in fact staying at the Tossa beach so were very disappointed. The majority of the staff were rude and after hearing about several guests being fined or kicked out, I was afraid to do almost anything.
The entertainment was very poor, one night it consisted of a man playing the keyboard and
attempting to sing English songs when he barely knew English!
Was sad to hear how one family got in trouble for putting two tables together, yet on another night nothing was said to another group of people who did the same.
The atmosphere wasn't very great and I struggled to relax and we spent most of our time out of the hotel, not surprisingly really when the hotel is ran so regimentally and I heard it referred to as 'boot camp' a couple of times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#29 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Property: Tossa Beach Hotel
Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing