We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent 2 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent 2 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

should have extra star as stayed in worse 3 and 4 star hotels.returned 1st oct and had good stay.
great staff and intertainment team,free bus driver allways on time and good service into town,food was excellent and pleasant dinning room ,intertainment very good and bar staff so good had to leave good tip on leaving,we had flat in old house above restaurant which would not suit all as 38 steps to room but we were fine as had door to restaurant and bar.this hotel is set in woodlands and if you are not happy to mix with wasps flys crickets and praying mantis you could do with not going this time of year as they were all over the place ,but hotel not to blame and will still return in may next year when they reopen

Room Tip: low floor next to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ding11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    230
    102
    33
    47
See reviews for
421
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just back today from the San Eloy and had a wonderful holiday. When we realised we had booked a two-star hotel we resigned ourselves to all sorts of disappointments. No need. Hotel is in a great location, surrounded by trees and open countryside, so peaceful. Not another hotel in sight. Free shuttle bus for the ten minute trip into town. Tossa de Mar is lovely, not over-commercialised, quaint back streets and a good range of shops. Lovely views around the castle area. Hotel accommodation is set around three pools, there is a football and baseball pitch, mini golf, and activities also including shuffleboard, darts, etc are held throughout the day with certificates awarded each evening for the winners. Great for the kids and adults alike. The entertainment staff are brilliant and work really hard, whilst enjoying what they do. There are two or three shows during the week which are really well done, and great fun. Also karaoke, games, and a quiz. Our accommodation was fine, (we went all-inclusive) very clean and maid service daily. Fridge in rooms, and most have kitchen facilities as well. Think the two star reflects the lack of aircon (not a problem in September) and lifts, again not a huge problem as there are only three floors. Food is very good, plenty of choice, cooked breakfasts with different items daily, cereals, yoghurts, fruit etc, great salads at luchtime and good variety in the evening, choice of meat, pasta etc and even paella. Snacks throughout the day, cakes, ice cream as well. We always found something we liked. Drinks are good measures and there is also a cocktail menu. The staff are hard working and pleasant too. We went as a couple, and although it is maybe targeted mainly at families we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Maybe we were just lucky, and the great weather and meeting lovely people definitely helped, but we couldn’t even really say that it was no more than good value, we felt we got more than we paid for without compromising on anything. Will we go back? Planning it already. Thank you San Eloy, you are doing a great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Rooms are very basic , stayed in a room for 6 had a sofa bed, double bed and two singles, rooms rather small , very hot on a night no rooms have air con , however great for kids 4 pools , 1 big one , 1 kids one , 1 sort of adults one and a jacuzzi. Activities threw out the day for children like golf and ball games. The food is tasty and basic, all inclusive get breakfast (8:30-10:30) lunch (1-3) and dinner(7-9:30) buffet based, tastes alright, threw out the day there Is a bar which serves snacks like chips burgers hotdogs that sort of things as well, you can also go and get drinks from the bar all day . Would recommend u go all in inclusive because buying drinks and food is very EXPENSIVE. Day trips to town go every hour on a free buss (tossa de mar) plenty of shops. There is a shows on a night kids disco ill 9 every night then terra different shows on till 12. Had an okay holiday only think is rooms are too hot on night x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovespainok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got bk today there was me my hubby and our three kids age 5 6 7 years we loved it kids had show much to do the entertainment staff were brilliant they do loads with the kids hockey football golf dancing pool games so much more the food was loverly all the staff work very hard the bus takes you to town every hour free for allinclusive the bus driver is loverly always smiling we gona book agen cant wait to go bk x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisacox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very clean rooms good choice of food and drink. I have been to many 4 star hotels and they could learn a thing or two from San Eloy entertainment team on the go from 10am till midnight and the shows are very good. Some reviews moan about the cleaning of the rooms and change of towels but we had ours changed every other day as for making beds you have to make your bed at home so why not when away and don't forget it's only 2 start he food is hot and plenty of hot drinks machines in the restaurant . I think some people expect 5 star service for 2 star prices all in all it's not the hotel and staff the problem but the people that's going. Thank you San Eloy for running a coach down to the centre of Tossa free of charge for all inclusive customers saving 10 euros each way the entertainment team for trying so hard the restaurant staff the bar staff reception housekeeping and ground staff all of them so helpful and cheerful we had a good holiday.

Room Tip: Good for family's if you don't have children the bus gives you a chance to get away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockley-Chris-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the popular San Eloy.
We are pleased to hear that the hotel, its staff, facilities and overall accommodation ticked all the boxes for you and hope that we can look forward to you returning to stay with us at the San Eloy or one of our other hotels in Mainland Spain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the San Eloy from 16th - 20th September. We had a really enjoyable time. Accommodation was clean and spacious. The restaurant served a variety of food, something for even the fussiest eater! The staff were polite and helpful. The entertainment team worked really hard and we especially enjoyed the shows they put on in the evening (Disney show and Dirty Dancing). We will be going back again.

Room Tip: We opted for the All - Inclusive option. Well worth it and great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent a week here on halfboard and although more for families loved this place . The food was very good better than some 4star hotels we've
stayed in . The apartment was spotless and cleaned everyday with beds made and clean towels . There is a quiet pool which we enjoyed near the bar and snack bar and found it reasonable. We enjoyed the walk through the woods took about 35 minutes into town and caught the courtesy bus back 1 euro bargain . Would stay again for the food alone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnieville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Aparthotel San Eloy.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at this popular hotel and very much hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
1.0 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#13 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#11 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.5 mi away
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
Aparthotel Costa Encantada
#9 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Property: MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing