We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited summer 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
jo_1505
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visited summer 2012”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visited last summer with my boyfriend. We were prepared for lots of children and knew after reading reviews that this was a family hotel - we were keen to see Tossa De Mar and therefore we're not too worried about this. I think the main thing that we found dissapointing (not the hotel's fault) was that the French guests in the hotel were very rude and acted like they were the only people there - very blatantly pushing in at queues for reception etc, no pleases and thankyou's, I was barged past a few times with no acknowledgement.

The food was ok but I think in the 10 nights we were there we only ate in the restaurant in the evening twice. Plenty of lovely places to eat in the evenings if you get the hourly bus into town. We walked it a couple of times - it takes a while! Have to get taxi's back if you stay out late.

Bar staff friendly enough and animation team were very good - evening entertainment enjoyable. Drinks were fine and there was a snack bar where you could get burgers and hotdogs all day.

If you have kids they can be occupied all day! Overall we had a good holiday here and Tossa itself is beautiful. Probably not the best hotel for a young couple to be honest but thats our fault for booking through the travel agent - didnt have the chance to review trip advisor first!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    236
    104
    36
    48
See reviews for
437
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went on a joint family holiday with children age range from 2 to 10 and had a great week. Grandparents enjoyed using the hotel as a base and getting the free bus to the town/beach. Children enjoyed the activities/pool/sand pit. Food was excellent value for money & picnics can be ordered if you want to spend the day out. There was a good mix of nationalities which made a nice atmosphere. Accommodation is basic, but with beautiful weather we didn't worry about that! We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. When we had a problem with out toilet, it was fixed within 15 minutes. We flew to Girona so the transfer time was 30-40 mins. Overall very good value for money and we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GGB271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the San Eloy Aparthotel.
We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It is a family place probably likened to buntlines in the sun. If you we're not all inclusive drinks and food were very very expensive. The shuttle bus was great 1euro if in all inclusive but well worth it, meals were reasonable in the town. Beware of using taxi's very expensive. But on the whole lots of entertainment for the children and adults.

Room Tip: Family rooms are on two floors no lift so a bit hard work. All rooms face into the pool complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Aparthotel San Eloy.
At Med Playa we aim to offer our guests the very best possible holiday experience and we are happy to hear that the San Eloy was as you would have expected.
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at the San Eloy or one of our other hotels in Mainland Spain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family had a great week at the end of July. We are 2 adults and 3 kids aged 11,12 & 15. The 2 bed apartment was spacious and comfortable although very hot - we missed having air conditioning. We asked for a ground floor pool view and got it - lovely. Staff are all really friendly and helpful. Food was excellent for a 2 star. Yes there's chips and pasta at every meal, but there are also lots of fish and meat and salad dishes that were really tasty. Kids all loved the food. Plenty of fresh fruit at every meal time. Desserts were not amazing, but they were fine. None of us had any upset tummies and we tried lots of fish and meat dishes. Pools do get busy but you can always get a sun bed, even at 10am if you go to the smaller pool. Snack bar was great - open 10am til midnight and toasted sandwiches and chips were a big hit with the kids. Drinks were good - selection of cocktails for kids and adults all on the all inclusive list. Alcoholic drink measures are huge! Ended up asking for small measures as I couldn't drink them! Bus into tossa is good - the old town is beautiful - beaches lovely but hard to walk on as shale/shingle very sharp - if you like the beach I'd recommend taking wet shoes with you.
Entertainment team are brilliant - never seen one that works as hard. Plenty of activities through the day and the evening shows were cheesy but very watchable.
Would recommend the San eloy to anyone wanting a good value family holiday - kids will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worthington77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

this is definitely a family orientated hotel and credit where credit is due they do put on a great entertainment service for families. The grounds are well maintained as are the pool areas and the towels were changed daily and the staff were always helpfull. The wifi was good and the rooms had bbc1 and film 4 on the box. The bus into tossa is a godsend we ate in tossa every night, tossa itself is a beautiful place and we fell in love with it.

Back to the hotel

we were given a room in the restaurant building, with no balcony just one window, it was horrendous,it was in the top of the roof, it was like a sweatpit and we were forced to pay 4 euros a day for a fan. we had to get up 60 stairs to our room including a fire escape, good job we are not elderly or disabled.

i have never been given a room as poor as this in any hotel i have stayed in. The bathroom was laughable with a window looking into a cleaning storage cupboard and a shower to had to crouch down in, I must have banged my head daily on the beams in the bathroom ceiling

the cooking and catering equipment consisted of a kettle. that was it, perfect if you like pot noodles, i dont.

so the morale of the story is check before you go what too see what room your a getting, if you just book a double or a studio you might end up in the 'servants quaters' too


had we have know this before hand we would never of stayed in this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Okay lets start by saying we had a good stay and would return (if we got it for the same price as this)
But lets also say this IS a 2 star resort, a lot of people seem to be getting carried away saying it should be a 3 or even 4 star, its not.
But what it is is extremely good value for money assuming you didn't pay a lot for it.
The buildings themselves reminded me of Butlins in Skegness circa late 70's very tired and dated but the room was very clean and functional and was cleaned every day with fresh towels which is all you really can ask for but they are hot.
Animation team are fantastic always something to do in the day and keep you entertained in the evening with various shows, they really are very hard working and very friendly as is everyone, the bar staff the snack bar staff and the guests! it was a really nice friendly atmosphere the one exception was mister grumpy it the restaurant but hey one out of twenty odd is not bad.
The food is okay but thats all it is is okay, some days where better than others.
Breakfast is the usual stuff of hot 'English' style and cold continental, cereals and fresh fruit etc perfectly fine.
Lunch and Dinner were pretty similar as each other always chips, pasta and salad with the other dishes varying some good some not but you can always find something to eat.... but it is 2 star quality.
With the free shuttle bus we went into the town quiet a lot at lunch times to break up the day, get out of the heat and have a bit of lunch and a beer which was very nice.
We also went out one evening for a meal which was great and wished we had done it more often, Tossa is a lovely little town with some good restaurants if you can avoid the touristy places.
When you are out you can taste the difference in the beer to the hotel but I think this is usual in most all inclusive resorts they use a lower strength beer this is probably a twofold reason one its cheaper and two you don't have so many drunk guests, again no problem if you know what you are getting into. other wise the bar was fine they had most things you could wish for.

In summary this is a very friendly very good value resort and we would return for the price you can afford to pop out and have a nice meal now and again and get the best of both worlds.

Forgot to mention the pools and gardens, cleaned an watered every day, plenty of beds although people were up about 7.30 to mark their spot.

Stayed between july 9th to 22nd 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samdog1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I came back from this hotel last week and can honestly say I was very shocked it was only a 2 star I would of at least expected it to be a 3 star. Entertainment was fantastic for the kids throughout the day and on a evening. Buffet style food which gave you a wide variety of dishes, always fresh salad and fruit at each mealtime. Staff was friendly and room was cleaned with fresh towels everyday. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is there is no air conditioning which meant the rooms were warm on a evening. There is a free bus which runs every hour into the town and there is some lovely shops and restaurants. Beach is very pebbly so never really went on there. I have a 5 year old son who really never had chance to get bored. Very cheap holiday and well worth the money. Would I go back to this hotel? definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 31Haylee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Property: MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing