We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tonet(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina Tossa(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Windsor(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diana(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
$141
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Florida(Tossa de Mar)
$91
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Cap d'Or(Tossa de Mar)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Bahia de Tossa(Tossa de Mar)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Delfin(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
$65
$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
15
16
17
15
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
16
17
15
22
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 85 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2008

well where to start!was under the impression a Thomsons hotel would be a lot better than this one and was extremely disappointed by what i experienced!
There was no air con,so had to sleep with the door open which overlooked a very busy road and this then created another problem of a lack of sleep through the combined noises of motorbikes, road sweepers and dustbin lorries in the early hours to name a few.
The staff spoke very little english and therefore made us feel very isolated.
So glad we only stayed b+b because from what we experinced the food was barely edible and dull!
Tossa itself was a nice place but was tainted by the hotel,and all in all couldnt and still cant believe its a thomsons hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bill1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Booked this holiday through Thomsons and it stated large room for 4 adults.On arrival found room was small with two sigle beds and bunkbeds.This is not made clear and is unsuitable for a family with teenagers.There were no bigger rooms in the hotel.Hotel manager constantly played loud music in the pool area with CD's that constantly skipped,very annoying.On the plus side rooms were cleaned every day.Food was basic although only booked B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ARRYLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

what can i say, or more appropriately where to start! you have to hire the tv remote, the key for the fridge and a safety deposit box, our fridge never worked and no refund was offered, it is the most noisy hotel in the country (that i am sure of), bin men every morning at 4.30 and swimming pool pump shortly after, thankfully we were only there on a b&b basis, the breakfast was so unbearable i couldnt have stomached dinner, warm curdled milk, greasy eggs, bacon resembling elastic bands, coloured water supposing to be squash/juice and sweet bread (as in sugary and not cow's testicles!).. the hotel boasts the most unfriendly arrogant staff, who also have a particular dislike to the british, bar shuts at midnight to the brits 1am to any other nationality and do not leave a towel at the poolside, as if your a brit it'll be removed, again any other nationality can do this. we had an evening flight home, we were not allowed to take the room until later that day (as we were told we could by thomsons), ther were limited facilities available to us on that day and we were quite obviously not wanted around, being moved off the patio area and being placed inside in the sweltering heat! no air con in this hotel at all!.. this may i add was not my paranoia, six other couples at the resort had the exact same complaints, i could go on and on, limited english spoken, non english menu, cleaners who look busy, but actually don't clean they came in every day but not once changed sheets or mopped floor!
tossa itself is a lovely place, though the sand is more like gravel. very picturesque lots of bars and eateries, plenty of shops in fact rather quaint, again not too british friendly & no nightlife, if you are going there on holiday, avoid the medieval night, the dolphin visit as these are total rip offs, though barcelona fountains are well worth a look, I personally don't believe the mare nostrum hotel is deserving of the two stars it has!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sweetpea2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

If you are looking for a cheap, comfortable hotel the Mare Nostrum is a good choice. Rooms are fairly comfortable and very clean. As someone has previously mentioned if you have a room facing the main street you may be woken up early by the bin men and also the fountain coming on at the hotel opposite but I did generally sleep through this.

The staff are relatively friendly (seem a little wary of the English) and are very helpful. The reception staff spoke excellent English. The bar staff speak very little English but will still try to help.

The same breakfast is served each day and is adequate. Although we rarely ate in the restaurant at night there is a very good selection and different menu and I always found something I liked.

Hotel is in a good location, 5 minutes from the beach and 1 minute from the best bar / restaurant in Tossa (Bar Pano).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

This is an unpretentious hotel, in two blocks, not far from the beachfront at Tossa. Such is the small size of the resort then everywhere is readily accessible.

We had a room in the 2nd annexe block, which appears to be more modern. The room itself was spacious and clean with a balcony,very comfortable bed, decent storage space and OK bathroom. It overlooked the street and we were woken every morning at 4.30 by the rubbish collectors!

Decent buffet breakfast, which offered bacon and eggs. Bar was well priced and there's a small lounge. Entertainment was on offer for one night. Two small pools, the smaller one next to the snack bar was beautifully warm.

On the whole, this was a good hotel with the personal touch and helpful staff, and it suited our needs perfectly. There are far worse two stars about than this.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MancMan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews