We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent customers service:)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent customers service:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

we arrived with my Mom. we received warm welcome and the owner gave us all information we needed,breakfast is basic but a good start for a day. It is a family hotel, they got elevator there which we found very convenient ( i twisted my ankle at the airport so i paid frequent visits at the bar asking for some ice), air-conditioning in each room is great .The host is always there for you and willing to go that extra mile. the viewfrom the terrace is superb, and the live local music from the nearby garden will let you enjoy the stay even more.

Room Tip: ask for some discount vouchers to local attractions, it can safe some money for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMaker_Darek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
39
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel and thought it was great. It is basic but we knew that so all was good. Very friendly place, nice people, rooftop spa is great with good views towards the sea. Situated on the outskirts of town which was ok, not much noise, and a great place to sit and people watch in the evening. Only a 5 min walk to centre of town, and very close to the bus station if you are wanting to travel about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for the 1st time with friends and found it was more than amicable. The room was very basic with a small balcony and air conditioned. The bar was serving bottles of Amstel and Heineken for €1 and the lady and young girl serving were always very friendly. I would stay here again as it was very cheap and clean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukemaxcorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

They may have had good intentions, but the place is run very weird old style way. In addition to that, they charge for everything they possibly can (In our case they even wanted to charge for the broken door handle and said that the bed got damaged because of us too).
This was our 63-day European trip and we stayed in 26 Hotels, including this one, and nothing like that happened.
Tossa de Mar was was a great place to visit, but we could not wait to checkout from Hotel Hermes. It was a stressful experience to say the least. Not recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

the hermes is what it is , a budget hotel but i feel that this is how its advertised so nobody should complain. its rooms are small but the beds are lovely and comfy and the rooms are cleaned promptly each morning. it is situated approx 100 metres from the bus station and about a five minute walk to the beach once you have mastered the narrow streets through Tossa. The staff are all friendly and helpful with Francesca speaking perfect english. its the perfect place for a group of friends who wanted a chilled break to sit outside and relax whilst people watching over a cold beer. Thanks again for a great stay and we'll be back next May

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hermes for the first time with a friend,

The hotel was very well priced for two single rooms.

The rooms themselves were very small, but I knew that from the photos.

I suspect even after seeing the size In the photos and the reality was that things were tighter than I had realised.

The bathroom was very small, and very difficult to use the sink, as the toilet was right in front , so shaving and brushing teeth was very difficult.

The shower was small, but very good water pressure and constant hot water.

The room itself was very clean, and a nice small balcony with two chairs, but my friends room was not that clean, and had sand and hairs over the floor.

The television never worked, I reported this but nothing was actually done about it.

The air conditioner was very effective.

There is no soap supplied, so remember to bring your own !

The Lady who runs the Hotel was very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was not included and costs €5 for a Buffett breakfast, even though there was a selection of meats, cheese and bread, I personally found it not very pleasant at all, the coffee was nasty, and the orange juice very watered down, and if you wanted breakfast you had to let the hotel know by 4:00 pm the previous day, for the rest of our stay we had breakfast at Bar Panos which was €5.25 for a delicious Cooked breakfast, which included 2 slices of toast, nice coffee and ice cool orange juice.

The hotel had a nice bar with beer at $1 a bottle.

I found charging deposits in each TV remote control and Air conditioner control of €5 each, made us feel like potential thieves, something I have never come across before.

On the whole it was very Friendly there, and cheap, and some plus points ,but would I stay again, possibly not.

Room Tip: Avoid the very small single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Locationgood, beach, eating places, shopping very close, bus staion just a block away.

My room was quiet, though for those overlooking the street it can be a bit noisy.

The personnel is very helpful, warm, like family.

All services are timely and good quality.
nice roof-pool and jacuzzi, nice swimming pool in the basement.

My room was tiny, but the bathroom was almost imperial.And there was place for everything.

Room Tip: Look for rooms over the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELENAK5051960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#17 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#40 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#32 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Property: Hotel Hermes
Address: Avenida Ferran Agullo 6 | Esq. San Vicente 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hermes 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermes Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing