We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant quiet stay in comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant quiet stay in comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Continental end of June beginning of July and had a lovely week in this quaint and comfortable hotel. We arrived with the knowledge there could be school groups at the hotel of which there was a smaller group of around 20 school children from Morecombe High School. What a delight they were, a credit to their school and teachers and in fact made the start of our holiday quite uplifting hearing about their trips out for the day and where they had been.

Our room was a good size with comfortable beds and a nice balcony overlooking our pool area and the Bahia Hotel beyond which made for pleasant people watching. Our bathroom was compact but well fitted with towels changed most days if required. The rooms were kept very clean and the air conditioner was excellent if not a little noisy.

The dining hall is small but for us was never full, the food was fresh cooked every day with a restrictive menu but every day there was a different meat dish, pasta dish and fish dish with chips salads and vegetables, pudding was cake and fruit or rice pudding typical of Spanish desserts, nicely presented.

The pool was a nice size, unheated and salt water, with plenty sunbeds around, but again the hotel was very quiet during the day and often we had the pool to ourselves until the other guests came back from their days out. the pool bar wasn't open but this was not a problem for us.

The reception staff, bar staff and cleaners were all very nice and helpful and special thank you's to Antonio (bar manager), Sara (bar staff) and Lucas (reception) for making our stay very enjoyable.

The Hotel is situated away from the beach but a pleasant walk down through the lanes with their colourful shops onto the beach front and the resort is very clean, lively family orientated resort a very pleasant place to visit with the spectacular scenery of the mountain back drop and the Fort on the beachfront.

I would recommend this hotel and resort for groups, couples, families and the only down side I can think of was that there was no entertainment out our hotel which might have encouraged the guests to stay there and use the facilities more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    55
    23
    19
See reviews for
36
62
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The staff greeted us after out drive from Barcelona airport, they were friendly, organised and welcoming. Our group were quickly shown to their rooms which were conveniently all on the same floor. The pool was 1st class as was the furniture. The food was plentiful and the variety was extensive. None of our group was left wanting as far as the breakfast, lunch and dinner was concerned.
It is a short 10 minute walk to the beach. The walks available during the evening are breathtaking. The Castle is lit up and is an inviting place to visit should you wish to eat away from the hotel in one of the many restaurants.
We were there at the end of the holiday season but you would n't be able to tell by the way the staff treated us.
Will definitely visit this place and hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front are away from the swimming pool. A bit more quiet on that side and a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent 9 nights here at the start of September, the room was big enough and clean and tidy. The room was refreshed each day if you wanted it. The Hotel had given us our request of a high floor and double bed with side sea view and views of the mountains. No one looking in at us from another hotel. The variety of food was limited but it was always presented well and meals were hot and very enjoyable. The Hotel would not profit if it had a larger range of food as there would be too much wastage. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Most of them would speak some English. The pool area was nice and relaxing. Hotel situated at the quieter end of Tossa de Mar, only a few minutes walk to the supermarket, post office and main tourist shopping area. A pleasant walk through the narrow streets to the beach took fifteen minutes at a leisurely pace. The beach was always kept clean. The views were breath taking from the wonderful castle at the end of the beach. We had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go higher for the views and face either the garden centre or garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spend here 7 days and were occupying room for 3. About the room, very simple, for us the most missing things were a ... kettle and fridge. Still less than there is no chance to get a glass of water os some hot beverages during the lunch or even supper.
Room was refreshing every single day (always fresh towels) but what's about shower gel and soap?? (One sachet for one bath). Once we moved small cabinet we found out a big layer of dust!!! It looks like hasn't been cleaned since weeks.
One more, very important - many of leaks on the walls as we occupied corner room.
The food was great, in our opinion everybudy could find something good. Big range of vegetables, fish, meat, seafood and deserts.
Staff very friendly, even in basic English (as mine) we could go deal with everything.
Summary nice and very cheap place, for not really modern hotel the standard is enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kostig87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

we stayed for a week at the start of sept, initailly stayed in the side rooms, very small,just enough space for one person to move around at a time.But good staff, was no problem,moved next day, moved to room facing the pool, much bigger, better layout. rooms cleaned regulary. there is aircon and free wifi, signal will struggle in rooms and pool, but it's free.The pool is cleaned and has height markings which is good. where the hotel lets itself down is that it's very dated and a refurbishment is long overdue. it's in a good location, 10-15 min walk to shops, supermarket and beach. only 4 mins from bus station, visit lloret de mar, 3.50 eur return.(15mins). The breakfast is continental, but of very low standard and poor quality. consists of 5 trays. thin cheese, two types of processed ham, hot dog sausage, cold hard boil egg. and stale rolls. There is inadequate toaster that takes 10 mins!!!!just see the angry queue grow!!!lol. no real entertainment at night which is duplicated throughout the town is another negative. in all a good budget hotel for sleeping, cleaniness,pool, good staff but eat the breakfast out of necessity and not for enjoyment.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool. if you are initaily put elsewhere, request a change. the staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at start of september. We asked to be moved from the first room as it was so small i felt closed in. The staff were helpful and moved us to a room facing the pool which was much bigger. The hotel was clean. Freindly helpful staff. Absolutely no entertainment though. The breakfast was the WORST I have ever experienced in any hotel. Stale rolls. Cold hotdogs. Cheap meat and cheese. We thought we got lucky when we spotted a bowl of fruit only to find it was plastic! Nice pool though. What can i say...dont eat here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous 11 days at the Continental.
This hotel is not disguised as a upmarket hotel with poor service. It is a homely, friendly, welcoming hotel with good staff.
The rooms were adequate for our needs. They were kept very clean and beds comfortable.
Our little balcony overlooked the bus station and the town. Ideal for "people watching".
The food; OK so its a continental breakfast. I still was full after each breakfast.
Evening meals were always VERY GOOD.
The choice was limited compared with some larger hotel chains, but this is family run, and ample for all guests. I prefer to have a smaller selection of very well cooked food than loads of choice which is all awful.
The chef was very attentive and in my opinion, produced very good quality food. His Chicken is to die for!!!!
On the whole, I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. Many guests I talked to come back many times.
Tossa de Mar is a beautiful place, and the hotel made our stay a home from home.
Go on, give it a try. What do you want for your money? You wont be disappointed if you don't expect the Ritz. Get real people!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#22 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#32 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Avinguda de Puerto Rico, 3, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Continental Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing