We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kept clean.”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed July 25, 2013

i stayed with my school -the hotel room we stayed in was very small,the showering area was tiny, the air con only worked when the key was in the slot which we was out all day so when we went back to the room it was always boiling also we discovered ants in our wardrobe so we kept over clothes in our suitcases.
the food was dreadful, there was no meat mainly chicken, the chips was extremely greasy so if you stay at this hotel i would advise you to go out for meals on the beach front. the night time discos and drinks at the bar was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for a week at this hotel with my wife this June .It has good size rooms with balconies. A nice entrance lobby and the hotel is well looked after and spotlessly cleaned. The breakfast is pretty basic but for the price fairly adequate. All in all a good value for money hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just come back from staying at the continental hotel in tossa de mar and it was truly a brilliant stay.We stayed there for one week from the 18th may...The hotel itself is smaller than some of the other hotels in the resort and found this an advantage as you get to know the staff well which was great as they are all so friendly. lucas on the reception speaks fantastic english and is very helpful...then there is Antonio the barman who is just such a nice bloke and so chatty and welcoming...its like they are all one big family there. The rooms are better than some 4*hotels we have stayed at and the beds are the most comfy ive ever experienced in a hotel in spain before. Rooms are cleaned every day and the hotel is extremely clean... the beach is a 5-10 min walk so really nice location. We certainly feel by the other reviews this hotel does not get enough credit.... Yes its not the most fancy hotel but if you want somewhere relaxing, peaceful , great value for money and with the most friendly welcoming staff you should give it a go...and definately say hi to antonio when youre there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveholidays97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for a week in september 2012 and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was basic but was kept very clean and all the staff were most helpful. The food was ok, nothing more. Breakfast was continental and the evening meal gave limited choice, but this is not 5 star so it was fine. There were no school parties staying at the hotel during our holiday, so September might be a good choice. I imagine most kids groups would stay in June or July. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the pool,no noise and great views from the balcony. The beach was a 10 minute walk,not far and well worth the effort.I would recomend this hotel,take the plunge !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks Aug 2011 .... booked as a last minute holiday to meet friends in Tossa De Mar our friends were staying elsewhere in Tossa we didn,t use the restaurant due to meeting our friends so cant comment on the food quality but the hotel was spotlessly clean with comfortable clean rooms .... beds are comfortable and bedding changed regular... the staff are fantastic polite and helpful .... it has to be the best swimming pool in Tossa De Mar its huge and seldom more than a handful of people round it which is a mystery as to why ....would definately reccomend this hotel ....

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are a must
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SHARON D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Over the last 12 years we visited this hotel many times although not in the last 3 of them due to the fact we found it not as good as in years gone by. The location is not bad just a little way from beach and main shops, bus station across the road is handy but in the summer months can prove to be a noise problem when local youngsters seem to congregate in the bus bar. On our earlier stays here we were impressed with the standard of food but in recent years this has sadly got worse, where it used to be cooked breakfasts, selections of breads,ham ,cheese etc. it has now become almost inedible, cheap, low standard, in fact we no longer ate breakfast there on our very last visit going to a local cafe instead.This hotel does seem to get a lot of school trips so if you dont want to be surrounded by children dont go there. Standard of cleanliness is good although the showers in some of the bathrooms are not up to a very good standard. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Luca on reception.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is clean with regular changes of linen and towels. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The bus station is over the road so handy for days out, Barcelona etc. The hotel has not entertainment and you need to go out but it is only a few minutes from the sea and beautiful streets of Tossa. The food was a big let down. Only a choice of two things, most of which were cold even when getting there at opening time. A strange mix of food usually recycled from the day before. Soup was salty water with bits. We only had a pudding twice in a week the rest of the time it was ice cream or fruit. This hotel caters for school parties of up to 40 kids and although they were well behaved the noise in the dining room and swimming pool was horrendous.

Room Tip: 503 to 507
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gran63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Novo Park
URH Hotel Novo Park
#38 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Hotel Parkhotel
URH Hotel Parkhotel
#33 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Don Juan Tossa
Don Juan Tossa
#35 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel TossaMar
Hotel TossaMar
#34 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
URH Vila de Tossa
URH Vila de Tossa
#22 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Avinguda de Puerto Rico, 3, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $43 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Continental Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing