We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another pleasant stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had no worries rebooking our stay again, we last visited 2 years ago. This time we were 7 people booking 4 rooms for various lengths of stay. Five of us arrived in two cars for 6 nights, 2 flew in for 4 nights before going onto Barcelona. This hotel really knows how to make you feel welcome for your stay, rooms very clean, but all the staff look after you and are friendly. Breakfasts very good with loads to choose from,very good fresh coffee from machines. Tossa is very good value because it has kept its prices in check. On a night we had some excellent meals in good class restaurants for as little as 18 euros by picking the menu of the day 3 courses. All of us hope to return again to Tossa and this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HullMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here only one night, so didn't get to enjoy the jacuzzi and rooftop pool, but the hotel is nice enough. It is clean and the staff are nice and friendly. The room is nothing to shout about but it is a decent size and has a nice balcony. My only problem was the noise (but to be fair, I am a light sleeper...my husband snored right through). Had a really hard time sleeping as there is constant loud noise - motorcycles and cars revving, seagulls screeching in the early morning, people talking late at night, etc. My sister stayed in another side of the hotel and also had the same issue. There is a good shutter to block out the light, but it wasn't as effective on the noise.

The breakfast is also pretty good and there is a convenient wine/grocery shop right across. If you are driving, you can park on the streets, assuming you can find a parking space. Otherwise, it is 12E per day in the hotel lot.

Location-wise, it's quite good. It is a short walk through the town to the beach with lots of restaurants and shops around. Perhaps our expectations of the beach were pretty high as we had heard a lot of good things about Tossa de Mar. However, we were underwhelmed by the beach. We preferred Tamariu and the other beaches around Begur instead of Tossa de Mar. The old town was pretty nice though, with some nice restaurants located on the walk towards the top.

Overall, a nice stay but if we ever returned, I would choose a beachside location instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been visiting Tossa de Mar for over 35 years and have stayed at several hotels and apartments. For a week's stay, I love Hotel Florida. The family who owns it are very particular that everything is perfect. They spent over $200,000 the past winter on updates and improvements. The rooms are immaculate, the beds are very comfortable. You can't beat the buffet breakfast. Merce, who is usually at the front desk, is always ready with a smile and a recommendation, if you like. I felt like I was staying with family. There is an elevator. The hotel is not on the beach, but you can see the beach from the balcony and it is only a 2 block walk. There is a bar and a solarium on the main floor for coffee, tea, aperitifs or after dinner drinks. Ferran, the bartender and grandson of the owners, is the best bartender! The price is so reasonable. There is a splash pool, hot tub and lounging area on the roof which is wonderful after a day of sightseeing. I usually rent an apartment for a long stay, but I LOVE the Hotel Florida for a shorter stay. I highly recommend this wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Florida for a week from mid-July. Great experience. Hotel Florida is a little gem. Very friendly and helpful staff in family-owned establishment. Very close to beach and location gives one a sense of being in a village as the town is up behind the hotel. We had two rooms and the best room was on the front of the hotel on 2nd floor as we had sun throughout the day. There was a good choice for breakfast. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi on the roof-top. Brilliant for soothing aches after long day's walk on coastal path to Lloret de Mar. We would certainly recommend Hotel Florida for lovely atmosphere and very reasonable price. Tossa de Mar is a superb find - lovely beach, intimate atmosphere, great value in restaurants. Go before it changes too much. Very convenient for Girona airport, just a bus-ride away.

Room Tip: Choose room to front of hotel on 2nd floor for daylong sunshine and a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HallyHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice, well-situated, clean and cosy hotel near the seaside, providing an easy access to the beach. Our room was cleaned daily, it was a wide one with a double bed as like we requested in our booking. There was a huge 2-side balcony viewing on the parking and a street, which was nice to have. Parking itself was fully booked every day but still it was manageable to keep the car there and go out during the day. It was cheaper than the parkings around (12 euros vs 15) so we were satisfied. The personnel at the reception as well as during the breakfasts was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay, there was nothing negative to say. So what else should we need?

Room Tip: Corner room (Nr. 109 for example) is quite comfortable while staying in couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuli_swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our fourth stay at Hotel Florida and we can't think of anywhere that would be better in Tossa de Mar. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast has a nice choice and everything is very civilised, unlike some other hotels nearby!
The location is very close to the beach, the shops and the many restaurants. There is good air conditioning and it was needed with the wonderful weather we had.
It is good value for money and we had a great time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a blast in Tossa de Mar, it's a beautiful beach town and Hotel Florida was just minutes away. They were very friendly and helpful -- accommodated our kids and random requests with a smile. The price was right, the room was spacious and simple and clean. The breakfast was great and it was just an all-around great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#19 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing