We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been visiting Tossa de Mar for over 35 years and have stayed at several hotels and apartments. For a week's stay, I love Hotel Florida. The family who owns it are very particular that everything is perfect. They spent over $200,000 the past winter on updates and improvements. The rooms are immaculate, the beds are very comfortable. You can't beat the buffet breakfast. Merce, who is usually at the front desk, is always ready with a smile and a recommendation, if you like. I felt like I was staying with family. There is an elevator. The hotel is not on the beach, but you can see the beach from the balcony and it is only a 2 block walk. There is a bar and a solarium on the main floor for coffee, tea, aperitifs or after dinner drinks. Ferran, the bartender and grandson of the owners, is the best bartender! The price is so reasonable. There is a splash pool, hot tub and lounging area on the roof which is wonderful after a day of sightseeing. I usually rent an apartment for a long stay, but I LOVE the Hotel Florida for a shorter stay. I highly recommend this wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    49
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Florida for a week from mid-July. Great experience. Hotel Florida is a little gem. Very friendly and helpful staff in family-owned establishment. Very close to beach and location gives one a sense of being in a village as the town is up behind the hotel. We had two rooms and the best room was on the front of the hotel on 2nd floor as we had sun throughout the day. There was a good choice for breakfast. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi on the roof-top. Brilliant for soothing aches after long day's walk on coastal path to Lloret de Mar. We would certainly recommend Hotel Florida for lovely atmosphere and very reasonable price. Tossa de Mar is a superb find - lovely beach, intimate atmosphere, great value in restaurants. Go before it changes too much. Very convenient for Girona airport, just a bus-ride away.

Room Tip: Choose room to front of hotel on 2nd floor for daylong sunshine and a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HallyHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice, well-situated, clean and cosy hotel near the seaside, providing an easy access to the beach. Our room was cleaned daily, it was a wide one with a double bed as like we requested in our booking. There was a huge 2-side balcony viewing on the parking and a street, which was nice to have. Parking itself was fully booked every day but still it was manageable to keep the car there and go out during the day. It was cheaper than the parkings around (12 euros vs 15) so we were satisfied. The personnel at the reception as well as during the breakfasts was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay, there was nothing negative to say. So what else should we need?

Room Tip: Corner room (Nr. 109 for example) is quite comfortable while staying in couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuli_swift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our fourth stay at Hotel Florida and we can't think of anywhere that would be better in Tossa de Mar. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast has a nice choice and everything is very civilised, unlike some other hotels nearby!
The location is very close to the beach, the shops and the many restaurants. There is good air conditioning and it was needed with the wonderful weather we had.
It is good value for money and we had a great time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a blast in Tossa de Mar, it's a beautiful beach town and Hotel Florida was just minutes away. They were very friendly and helpful -- accommodated our kids and random requests with a smile. The price was right, the room was spacious and simple and clean. The breakfast was great and it was just an all-around great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Florida for four days last September having arrived to surprise my elderly parents who were already staying there on their holiday. Unfortunately my Mother broke her foot two days after I arrived and this meant they had to cut their holiday short. Due to other physical problems she couldn't use crutches and was unable to move around unless she was on her hands and knees and as my Father suffers from Alzheimers it was impossible for her to care for him for another week away on their own. We had two frantic days of hospital visits and and then had to get permission from another medical centre for her to be able to fly home with me. A horribly stressful couple of days but the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. They brought crutches in from home for Mum to try and as she was so immobile they arranged for meals to be delivered to their room. They also allowed me to use their office and phone for the many fruitless phone calls made to the travel insurance company and various airlines in order to arrange alternative flights home. Amazingly when they saw how difficult the situation was and realised that my parents would have to leave early they immediately offered a complete refund for the second week of their holiday without even being asked.
It is a family run hotel and every one of the staff went well beyond the call of duty to help us in a very difficult situation. It is a lovely hotel, very close to the beach and all local shopping and restaurants etc but what makes it really special is the family that run it. Nothing is too much trouble and I will never forget how much they helped at a time when the so-called helplines available to us were totally useless. Lovely, lovely people.

Room Tip: Comfortable rooms with balconies, great breakfast and sun terrace. Great location. Fantastic staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shotaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was our third visit to Hotel Florida and we were greeted like old friends. All of the staff are helpful and polite and we were given "the best room in the hotel". It was a large, corner room on the third floor with a wraparound balcony.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and there is a small fridge in the room. The A/C worked well.
We have no complaints about anything but would have enjoyed just one English language TV programme!
Breakfast was included in the price and there is a very good choice of the usual items.
Most of the guests were European but we didn't hear any other people speaking Engish! It's a quiet hotel but within very easy reach of the shops and the beach.
There is a small spa area on the roof but we didn't use it this trip.
I'm sure we'll be staying here again and I advise you to check it out too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#19 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing