We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed May 27, 2013

All the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. Our requests were dealt with promptly. A comfortable hotel and if we returned to Tossa de Mar, we would certainly consider staying here again.
The entertainment in the bar area was pleasant enough, though some "turns" were a little too noisy for the size of the bar/lounge area, especially the flamenco. You could not make any comments to your companions as it was difficult to chat with the loudness of some of the music. However, the bar staff were very good.
Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay pleasant. The reception/chambermaids/bar/dining staff were all to be commended on their attention.
The food was perfectly acceptable - breakfasts fine, the salad bar very good but the main course was only warm and though there was a microwave provided, this isn't the same. However, overall it was fine.

Room Tip: We had a room which was one we chose on arrival at the hotel as we wanted a bath and the original ro...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for staying at the Costa Brava Hotel and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and constantly strive to offer the highest quality standards.
Looking forward see you soon. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Hotel GHT Costa Brava
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 491 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Tossa de Mar is my favourite holiday destination in Spain and I have stayed in 10 or so hotels and apartments in the town over the past few years.
The Costa Brava hotel is well situated, close to the the main shopping streets, the local park and about 5 minutes walk to the fine beach in Tossa.The Lobby is spacious as is the bar/entertainment area.
The food is hardly haute cuisine but is perfectly acceptable, varied and of a decent quality.
The room in which I stayed was well presented with a balcony overlooking the adequate swimming pool. The staff are mainly Spanish with limited English but this should add to rather than detract from the charm of the place. The hotel is obviously favoured by Spanish families judging by the number that descended on the hotel during the weekend on which I visited and their exuberance added to the atmosphere. The hotel is also favoured by German and French nationals.The hotel does not have in-room coffee making or facilities and a fridge and safe may be rented at reception.
This appears to be a family oriented hotel, so, should you wish for peace and quiet, may not be for you.
All in all, the Costa Brava hotel is a good value 3* hotel which I recommend.

Room Tip: try to obtain a room overlooking the pool, where you will get sunshine in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatherbobIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear guest,
Tthanks for your comments in Trip Advisor. We are so pleased with. Do not hesitate to contact us for your following reservations. Hope to see you soon. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely hotel in the pretty town of Tossa de mar ,hotel in a good position for all it has to offer ,hotel of a good standard ,very clean ,staff had limited english but enough to get by and didnt find it a problem ,rooms nice with very good shower ,food fine for breakfast but not to my taste in the evening ,but with an abundance of excellent restuarants in Tossa this wasnt a problem ,previously stayed in sister hotel Oasis which is a 4 star but i did prefer staying in the Costa Brava .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheilahenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here in July for a week and werent disappointed in any way. Swift check-in by friendly staff. Had a room over the pool and it wasnt noisy in anyway. . Really lovely room with nice clean bathroom with shower. Shower gel and shampoo dispenser always filled in the bathroom-didnt really need to take any! Hairdryer-good. Lots of English and German tv channels.Pool an adequate size although the left side had no sun til later in the afternoon, so sunbeds on the right were scarce! Food was actually very good. Lots of choice everyday and themed nights. Drinks usual prices, so didnt class them as expensive. Entertainment was not very good at all. We tried it a couple of nights - not for us. If youre looking for a busy resort with lots of pubs and clubs with loud music, then Tossa De Mar is not the place for you. Although there were some really nice restaurants in the town. Town centre only 5-10 mins walk away and its an easy walk, and not uphill. The walk to the Castle is worth it, although a steep hot walk! You can get the little mini train up there instead. Dont pay for parking if you have car hire as you can always find spaces around the hill at the front of the hotel. Just drive up the road facing the steps and up around to the right. All in all, a really good hotel, good food and good location. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Pool facing
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As we are used to a 4 star hotel, this hotel far exceeds many that we have stayed in. Better than the 5 star in Greece earlier this year. Yes we are used to a fridge, kettle. Pack kettle, take T. Bags, buy UHT milk! We didn't miss the fridge. Cold huge boozy drinks everywhere - cheap.

Air con actually works just fine! lovely mod shower with soap and shampoo dispenser. Decent rooms. Spotlessly clean. Never seen such clean floor tiles. Had room 304, overlooking a handful of terraces and the pool. Here you would have afternoon sun. Wouldn't much fancy a rear street view tho, if you have the choice.. We aren't pool people but did use it late afternoon a few times. Bar not expensive at all.

Food half board absolutely fine for a week. Microwave available if you need it. Lots of choice. Wine less than £7 per bottle. Greece earlier this year in comparison £18 a bottle.

Don't cart hair dryer, theirs is really fast.

All in all, our only gripe was the luggage store when we were leaving. It isn't locked or manned. I opened the door and was concerned that a chap was inside and he was rummaging or perhaps sorting out his own cases behind closed doors. Shouldn't really be a problem if your luggage is all securely locked. It was a bit worrying all the same. Hope this lovely pleasant hotel in perfect location reads these reviews and takes this onboard. The staff are lovely.

Watch out for the house rabbit which entertains you through glass windows in dinning room!,

Room Tip: Pool view but not if you like morning sun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leckco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We really appreciate your extended review about Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar. We think it is very complete and sincere, and we will analize all different parts in order to solve as many as possible.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We also will take into account all the things that wasn't of your complete satisfaction. We hope to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Director
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We returned to this hotel for the second year running early September. This is not a five star hotel and you do get what you pay for - I do agree that the walls are thin, but for the amount of spent in the room it hasn't really bothered us. The staff are there from year to year and we have been very happy with the service provided by them. We had no complaints in the dining room and as I have a complicated diet the staff have been very accommodating and helpful in that respect. The hotel is ideally situated not too far from the beach and a stroll though the nearby shopping streets brings you into the old town very quickly. We were lucky enough to be allocated the room we requested and we know of others we met that have returned to this hotel year after year. I agree with a previous comment that Tossa is still very old Spain and thats what makes it attractive and one thing we have noticed is there is not a single traffic light in this town!

Room Tip: Request second or third floor rooms if you want the sun in a morning you need to overlook the street...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nebi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel in an OK location. The Staff are good and try hard but the rooms need updating. We had half board but with the number of good restaurants to choose from in Tossa I would not bother with anything but breakfast here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honest1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#12 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#4 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Costa Brava

Address: Avenida Verge de Montserrat s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $59 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Costa Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous, friendly hotel that is continuously updated. It is ISO 9001 -certified. The Hotel Costa Brava is situated in the famous, quiet and welcoming town of Tossa de Mar, close to the centre and to the beach. The Hotel Costa Brava offers a broad range of amenities for your holiday enjoyment: outdoor pool for adults and children, terrace, kid’s area, small heated indoor pool, fitness suite, hydrotherapy shower, Turkish bath, massage area, round-the-clock reception, lifts, currency Exchange, bar, games room, entertainment programme, TV room, air-conditioned restaurant, kid’s club with a mascot, free WiFi throughout the hotel, garage, medical service and laundry (which carries an extra charge). In the hotel restaurant, meals are buffet-style. We do not accept pets A great hotel for a great holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel GHT Costa Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Brava Hotel
Hotel GHT Costa Brava Tossa De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing