We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star, 4 star quality... Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“3 star, 4 star quality... Good”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As we are used to a 4 star hotel, this hotel far exceeds many that we have stayed in. Better than the 5 star in Greece earlier this year. Yes we are used to a fridge, kettle. Pack kettle, take T. Bags, buy UHT milk! We didn't miss the fridge. Cold huge boozy drinks everywhere - cheap.

Air con actually works just fine! lovely mod shower with soap and shampoo dispenser. Decent rooms. Spotlessly clean. Never seen such clean floor tiles. Had room 304, overlooking a handful of terraces and the pool. Here you would have afternoon sun. Wouldn't much fancy a rear street view tho, if you have the choice.. We aren't pool people but did use it late afternoon a few times. Bar not expensive at all.

Food half board absolutely fine for a week. Microwave available if you need it. Lots of choice. Wine less than £7 per bottle. Greece earlier this year in comparison £18 a bottle.

Don't cart hair dryer, theirs is really fast.

All in all, our only gripe was the luggage store when we were leaving. It isn't locked or manned. I opened the door and was concerned that a chap was inside and he was rummaging or perhaps sorting out his own cases behind closed doors. Shouldn't really be a problem if your luggage is all securely locked. It was a bit worrying all the same. Hope this lovely pleasant hotel in perfect location reads these reviews and takes this onboard. The staff are lovely.

Watch out for the house rabbit which entertains you through glass windows in dinning room!,

Room Tip: Pool view but not if you like morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leckco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We really appreciate your extended review about Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar. We think it is very complete and sincere, and we will analize all different parts in order to solve as many as possible.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We also will take into account all the things that wasn't of your complete satisfaction. We hope to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Director
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    204
    103
    17
    23
See reviews for
177
201
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We returned to this hotel for the second year running early September. This is not a five star hotel and you do get what you pay for - I do agree that the walls are thin, but for the amount of spent in the room it hasn't really bothered us. The staff are there from year to year and we have been very happy with the service provided by them. We had no complaints in the dining room and as I have a complicated diet the staff have been very accommodating and helpful in that respect. The hotel is ideally situated not too far from the beach and a stroll though the nearby shopping streets brings you into the old town very quickly. We were lucky enough to be allocated the room we requested and we know of others we met that have returned to this hotel year after year. I agree with a previous comment that Tossa is still very old Spain and thats what makes it attractive and one thing we have noticed is there is not a single traffic light in this town!

Room Tip: Request second or third floor rooms if you want the sun in a morning you need to overlook the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nebi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel in an OK location. The Staff are good and try hard but the rooms need updating. We had half board but with the number of good restaurants to choose from in Tossa I would not bother with anything but breakfast here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honest1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have struggled to decide what rating to give this hotel. I feel that 3 out of 5 would be a little harsh, but 4 is probably a bit high.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location, just 5 minutes walk from the beach and main shopping street and about 10 minutes from the old town.

The first thing that we noticed when we arrived and entered our room was the cleanliness. As we were allocated rooms on the first floor (203 & 204) that overlooked the pool, we also had a very large terrace with sun beds and a table and chairs. There was also a TV in the room with a couple of English channels, however, we didn't really ever put this on.

However, one thing that I did notice was that the rooms were directly above the bar and entertainment area. With having a young family, I thought that this may pose a problem, so I immediately went down to reception to query the noise levels and was assured that there would not be a problem and we would hear nothing in the rooms. How wrong this was!!

On our first evening, upon returning to the hotel following a meal and a few drinks in the town, we knew straight away that the loud disco would keeping our son awake. One of the main problems is that the staircase to all floors is just by the entertainment area and is an open staircase. This means that the sound travels via the staircase as well as through the ceiling. One thing that did worry me was that each floor had fire doors on the landing which could have potentially blocked some of the sound out, however, these were propped open with a sign saying that they should not be closed - I presume Spanish fire regulations are different to other countries.

After that first night, we went to a pharmacy and bought ourselves some earplugs, however, it did not cancel all of the sound out - particularly the 'active' couple in the room above us.

As other people have said, the walls are paper thin and you can hear conversations from your neighbours. More bizarrely though, is the fact that there is a window like opening in the bathroom that goes through to your neighbours bathroom. This is only covered by a louvred shutter, so you can literally hear everything that is going on!!

I appreciate that this is only my opinion and I might be more sensitive to noise than other people and I have to say that I really liked the hotel in general.

We only went B&B and the choice at breakfast was very good.

The swimming pool area was very good with pool table, table tennis and a small children's play area. There is also a small gym that looks onto the pool and a large jacuzzi inside. On the first couple of days we struggled to get sunbeds, so if you go in the high season, you probably won't get a bed if you leave it until the afternoon. Because of where the hotel is situated and the height of the buildings, the pool area is only in full sun for about an hour a day, so you tend to get people moving sunbeds to follow the sun round.

Parking around the hotel (and the town in general) is really bad. The chances are, you will not get a space outside the hotel. However, if you are prepared to drive around for a bit, you will probably find a free space within 200 metres. There are a number of public car parks in the area, but can be up to 30 euros a day. However, we did find a car park behind the Seat garage that was 5 euros a day and it is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Tossa itself is a lovely town and we really do want to go back. Don't expect English bars or Roast Beef on Sundays. I get the feeling that this town is not ashamed to be Spanish and "if you don't like it you can go elsewhere" and it benefits from being like this.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st floor if you want a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MisterE_Hudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We really appreciate your extended review about Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar. We think it is very complete and sincere, and we will analize all different parts in order to solve as many as possible.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We also will take into account all the things that wasn't of your complete satisfaction. We hope to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Director
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived at the hotel before lunch but were offered our room right away which was good. The receptionist was very helpful and spoke good English. Our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and it had a balcony overlooking a quiet side street. We had the sun in the morning which was good and it was nice and shady in the afternoon when we needed it. Although the hotel did advertise that there was wi fi in the rooms it was very intermitant and we rarely got it but it was always available in the lobby and bar area. We did have a problem with ants in the bathroom a couple of days but when we told reception they did eliminate them. The pool area was lovely with a small pool for children and a small play area. We were there in the high season so if you did not get your sun bed in the morning there was little chance of getting one later in the day but we always managed to get one in the morning. The food was very good - lots of salads but there was also lots of fish so if you didn't like fish this could be a problem - but I loved it. Also the puddings were good and lots of fresh fruit. breakfast was also good - lots of choice - bacon, sausage, eggs. hams, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, bread and rolls. the location was superb - just a five minute walk to the beach and the Old Town. The beach was not good to walk on - the sand was course and hurt your feet but it was very scenic with a castle and lighthouse on the side of the beach. The bars and restaurants were plentiful and all looked very inviting. I would recommend the hotel for its good location and it was certainly good for young families. Some rooms on the second floor had extra large balconies so if this is what you like ask for one of them - they also overlook the pool. The bar was expensive in the hotel but the cafe opposite the hotel was very friendly with much cheaper drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pool are quieter. I would recommend a high floor (4) as they are also quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cheshireoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August, as a family of four, and had no complaints. It's a lot smaller than the family hotels we tend to stay in usually, but it still did/had everything we would normally expect - just on a smaller scale! The room was fine - not large but we didn't feel cramped, even with four beds. It was comfortable, had plenty of storage, and was cleaned regularly. We didn't notice any noise or the walls being particularly thin. The balcony only had a view across the street but it made for interesting people-watching, and I would imagine that there aren't many centrally-located hotels in Tossa with views! The food was very nice - plenty of choice, and always something we liked. It would have been nice to have had more 'show cooking' (especially pancakes for breakfast!), but the Spanish-themed evening was a nice touch. There is a mix of nationalities in the hotel, which makes entertaining everyone difficult. The entertainment catered primarily for the Spanish (and rightly so - it's in Spain!), but almost everything was repeated in English. Our children enjoyed the nightly mini-disco, but we didn't stay for the entertainment after that, so I can't comment. My eldest son did try to go to the kids' club a couple of times, but as he was the only one there, nothing really happened - not that this is the hotel's fault, as at least they were offering the service. Llouis and the girl (I'm sorry, I didn't catch her name!) certainly put a lot of effort into the animation. On the whole, we found the staff to be polite, and the bar staff were particularly friendly, although the reception staff always seemed a little bit confused! The location of the hotel is good - there is a shop selling all sorts over the road, with several supermarkets, bars and restaurants nearby - I can recommend Bar Pano. The beach is a 5-10 minute walk away, and the old town a little further. The beach is shingle, and not particularly comfortable on the feet, but the snorkelling is amazing! We booked parking in advance - this is extortionate, although most parking in Tossa is. That said, you have a private space in an underground park just round the corner from the hotel, which is convenient and stops your car heating up. A word of warning though - we drove to Tossa in a Zafira with a roofbox, and there wasn't even a clear inch between the roof of the car and the ceiling of the carpark! It made for a very scary few minutes when we first arrived...!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Arrived at the Hotel Costa Brava on Tuesday 28th August for a 4 night stay. We were allocated a 3rd floor room (even though we were traveling with 2 small children). Check in was easy, we enquired about parking and were informed we could park for 17 euro a day! We declined and subsequently found a car park just up the road opposite the hotel (up the side of Panos) for 5 euro a day so the hotel clearly trying to rip off the clientele. The room, well, tired and very cramped for a family of four. We discovered the room was infested (in the wardrobe, bathroom, near the balcony doors and in the bed!) with ants so we reported this to reception who informed us that they would tell the cleaner ..... by bed time when nothing had been done and ants were crawling over our children in the bed we demanded to be moved to another room (a bit of ant spray was never going to sort the ant problem out, rentokil more like). Reluctantly we were moved to a ground floor room which we were more than happy with but the next day we were told we would have to move to yet another room so 3 rooms in less than 24 hours, not a good start, first day was spent unpaking and re-packing and un-packing again. Not a word of apology let alone a good will gesture did we receive. The rest of the stay was OK - the walls are paper thin so don't expect any peace and quiet, we struggled to find anything we could eat (mostly meat dishes) but the brekkie was good and the puds were good. The younger male members of staff very friendly but the rest in particular the older ladies very miserable, we were told off for not paying our drinks bill at the end of each dinner - we're used to settling the bill at check-out and no one had told us that the drinks bill needed paying each day so woops! At check-out this morning, again, no courtesy or 'hope you enjoyed your stay' nothing and to top it off, I left my mobile phone in the room, so I doubt I'll see that again! All in all, not a dreadful place to stay but certainly wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend. Tossa itself is OK, the beaches are gritty so didn't spend any time on them, old town area is beautiful but again, not somewhere we would return. Parking is horrendous costs a fortune in some places up to 40 euro a day so beware if you have a hire car!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshone2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Costa Brava, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Costa Brava in Tossa de Mar and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

We would like to apologise, in the name of Hotel Costa Brava and personally myself for the incident with the rooms.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like and look forward to see you soon at the Hotel COSTA BRAVA or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#4 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Costa Brava

Property: Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Address: Avenida Verge de Montserrat s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Costa Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous, friendly hotel that is continuously updated. It is ISO 9001 -certified. The Hotel Costa Brava is situated in the famous, quiet and welcoming town of Tossa de Mar, close to the centre and to the beach. The Hotel Costa Brava offers a broad range of amenities for your holiday enjoyment: outdoor pool for adults and children, terrace, kid’s area, small heated indoor pool, fitness suite, hydrotherapy shower, Turkish bath, massage area, round-the-clock reception, lifts, currency Exchange, bar, games room, entertainment programme, TV room, air-conditioned restaurant, kid’s club with a mascot, free WiFi throughout the hotel, garage, medical service and laundry (which carries an extra charge). In the hotel restaurant, meals are buffet-style. We do not accept pets A great hotel for a great holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel GHT Costa Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Brava Hotel
Hotel GHT Costa Brava Tossa De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing