We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food not quite up to 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food not quite up to 4 Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Travelled to one of our favourite holiday destinations using Jet2dot com, this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. As before the room was excellent and had the addition of a flat screen tv and several channels in English. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable and a warm welcome awaited. The question of privacy did not cause any problems and as we had earlier e-mailed the hotel we were on the 3rd Floor with a pool view. Whilst the hotel bears 4 stars, Jet2dot com class the hotel as a 3star plus which is about right. When we stayed there last time we ate out on 3 nights but this time ate in the hotel every night. Whilst the choice of food was good and had an excellent salad bar the hot choice sometimes left a bit to be desired as regard the quality of cooking, nothing was undercooked but some of the meat choices could be a little on the tough side. Items in batter were not as crisp as you would expect. Deserts were excellent and there was also fresh fruits available including some very tasty strawberries. Breakfasts were better as the bacon and eggs were cooked by a chef and done to order. There was also some excellent scrambled eggs. There is a bar service where you can have a snack meal during the day for example toasted sandwiches/pasta/egg and chips at a very reasonable price (3 euro for a toasted ham and cheese sandwich & cooked fresh.
The spa is excellent but as the weather was so good we only went in once (we were put off a bit by a young couple who would have been better off in the bedroom!!)
All in all an enjoyable holiday and would return.

Room Tip: We requested a pool view higher up and were not disappointed. No real noise disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicknickleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    358
    178
    59
    26
See reviews for
269
363
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Tossa De Mar is delightful the most beautiful town on the costa brava. The hotel Oasis Tossa is very clean ! the cleaners are fantastic and the hotel spotless BUT most certainly not 4* the rating in this area is not consistent at all in our opinion this hotel would only be deserving of 2* there is no privacy at all on the balconies ! the charge of 4.70 euros per day for a safe is excessive as is 23 euros per week for a fridge that didnt work. The first time ever, I have had to set my own table for breakfast in a hotel !!! We consider ourselves not fussy as far as food goes and can usually be easily suited but to have to queue for a fried egg was ridiculous ! food only luke warm too !! on our holidays always look for the plus points but am afraid there were more minus ones !! but we still enjoyed our holiday as we always do making the best !! BTW the beaches are not sand but grit quite uncomfortable to walk on !

Room Tip: top floor for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgppg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting this comment on Tripadvisor.
I am however very concerned by your constructive remarks regarding the rating of our hotel. Hotel Oasis Tossa meets all the requirements to be a 4 star hotel under the current legislation. We offer a show cooking during the meals; sometimes it is difficult to serve a large number of freshly cooked foods at the same time, thank you for your comprehension. We look forward to welcome you back soon in Tossa de Mar and offer you an unforgettable experience that time. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent typical older style Spanish hotel. Very clean and staff pleasant and helpful. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever stayed in. It has been mentioned in other reviews but there is a serious lack of privacy on the balconies - but to me not a major issue. The small spa is lovely and a really nice extra feature to to the hotel. Ask for a room overlooking the pool as those on the other side have a bleak outlook.
My husband and I found the food to be of a very good standard- with plentiful amounts of seafood (muscles and cockles) he was in his element! The house white wine is lovely and at €1.35 a small glass very reasonable.Some of the evening entertainment was samey (vocalists with a keyboard) but other shows were very good. Tossa is a lovely Spanish resort but with hardly anything in the way of night-life. Just one semi lively bar would have been nice- but we couldn't find one.Take the bus along the coast to Lloret- nice but hard walk up the cliffs there- and take the boat back for a great day out.
In summary the resort was a little too quiet for us but very pleased with the hotel. My only criticism GHT Hotels is that at €23, hiring a safe for the week was very expensive!!

Room Tip: Would suggest 3rd or 4th floor with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mandy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. As you mentioned, we have a wide variety of meals offered on our buffet in order to satisfy all of our clients. We are so glad to have covered your expectations.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

just arrived back from our first visit to Tossa de Mar and the Oasis hotel and cn honestly say we have fallen in love with them both!!!
the money that we spent on the holiday with jet2 was incredible (£364) for half board transfer and 22k luggage so did not quite know what the hotel would be like although reading the trip advisor reviews we had good expectations.
we could not faulth this hotel at all, we stayed in roo 406 overlooking the pool on the 4th floor, great room that got the early morning sun till about 3pm then was in cool shade. the food and the staff were just excellent and the room service was just brillian, clean fresh linen on the beds and fresh towels every day....
everyting about the hotel was spotless, the resteraunt was run like a well oiled machine and the staff were so lovely.
we were a group of mature ladies that were at this hotel and we felt so safe and totally at ease both in the hotel and in Tossa de Mar which is just beautiful.
the transfer time is a little long when you fly into barcelona but does give you the chance to see the other resorts if you arrive in the day of course!!!
our only critic would be the evening entertainment.....not good on all the evenings...and meant that the bar area was virtually empty with no atmoshere at alo...on the evenings when the entertainment was good ie the flamenco evening on the fri and the magician on the wed the bar was full and the atmoshphere great...i think the hotel is missing alot of trade not having the entertainment a little better on most evenings....
all in all we had a brilliant holiday and will be returning again, we would have no hestitation in recommending the hotel or the resort.
the resort is just beautiful but is best for couples or friends as not alot to do for the youngsters.
the castle walk is lovely and the boat trips well worth doing.
looking forward to our next visit already.......

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the pool otherwise the rooms over look the road. we stayed in 406 on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear valued client,
Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind words. We really appreciate it.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel. Hope to see you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is our second time at this hotel (4th time in Tossa) and were really happy that we'd decided to come back..We've written another review on this hotel that is much more detailed so will keep this one short ;-)

This time we got room 237 facing the pool - it had a comfortable large double bed and balcony. The room was a similar size to the "double" we booked last year (but that was 2 single beds pushed together). We e-mailed the hotel this time to ask for a double bed and got it. smashin!

As before, the hotel was spotless, as was the SPA and public areas. The entertainment was kindah butlins type stuff, but suited the clientele which was mostly older couples - 50+.

The food was still great, lots of choice and was good quality. Drinks were reasonably priced, similar to the pubs in the town. The bar area isn't great but it's not bad at all.

We got a fridge, but didn't get a 2nd key, which meant when we left the room, the fridge went off!!! So, after a conversation with reception, we were promptly given another key. The cost was 3 euro per day.

Remember when you get to reception to book in, you'll be asked to pay 1 euro, per person, per night. It's a regional tax that's been introduced recently.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, do what we did and e-mail ahead to the hotel and ask for it. Remember a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavieAndAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Davie and Audrey,
We really appreciate the time you dedicate us with your comment. We always try to satisfy our clients even more if you ask something in advance as you did with your email. Do not hesitate to visit us again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I Have been twice too Tossa De Mar and both times I have to say I have fallen in in love all over again, with the place the people and the way of life. Its simply a dream come true, there's so much history in Tossa De Mar.

Hotel Oasis Tossa is a fantastic hotel, great for a relaxing holiday, when I stayed a few years back with my family, there hadn't been an upgrade like it is now, but It still was very good, The entertainment was low key, so not the best for younger people who are looking for a lively holiday.
I would deficiently recommend it time and time again.

Room Tip: We had the room which was quite high up and it had great views of the mountains :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Megan,
Thank you so much for your comment. We really appreciate it. If you visit again Tossa de Mar don’t hesitate to contact us again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked a week at half term , 2 young pensioners + a 7 y.o. lively grandson. Paid little so had low expectations. This is the best value by far of anything we saw. Hotel Oasis was immaculate
( rooms and spa + public areas), staff friendly and helpful. Food was good, varied and plentiful. Puddings fantastic. Aromatherapy steam room is bliss.
Generally the hotel is suited all ages . We had a great time and it was a bargain. I don't go on star ratings but on what you get and it depends on what country you are in. I have stayed in better 4* rated and also in worse 4* rated, and paid a lot more. We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again. If you want to eat out there are plenty of restaurants close by but we didn't find it necessary. Bar drinks are not expensive and the shows we saw were very good. The walk to the beach is easy and less than 10 minutes away. If you vary the road taken you pass lots of shops , cafes etc.

Room Tip: We had room 220 on 2nd floor at back, it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Linda,
First I would like to thank you the time it took you to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know a good experience in our hotel. If you visit the Costa Brava again I recommend you to visit other hotels that our group GHT Hotels has. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#15 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#4 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA

Property: Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Address: Lope Mateo 3, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Tossa Hotel
Oasis Tossa De Mar
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing