We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cap d'Or
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel a few times, it has great views of the beach , friendly staff, clean and well maintained. Don't be put off by the term Hostal it is a great place to stay with a good breakfast. The hotel also is great for lunch or dinner. Phone the hotel direct they speak perfect English and will happy to help. One quick tip... If you fly into Girona I would just get a cab to the hotel in Tossa De Mar particularly if you are only going for a long weekend as parking is a nuisance and expensive. There are boat trips linking the beaches along the coast or a local bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and we hope to see you very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    41
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
102
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location of the hotel and view from our room was incredible. The Inn is right across the street from the beach and at the foot of the old fort. When I first saw the photos of the rooms, I thought a beach was digitally added to the windows of the photos, but that view is the real deal! The inn-keeper is very friendly and welcoming and there is a conveniently located restaurant on the bottom level of the inn. Parking is tough - you'll have to park outside of the historic part of town and hike to the hotel (we recommend a public lot near the bus station that has a reasonable daily fee). The rooms are basic, but clean and homey. Location is very convenient for exploring the old part of the town and of course, easy access to the beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpreugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to help you to get better your time in Tossa de Mar and we hope you will visit us in the very next future.

Thank you again,

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view to the beach, and is located right under the city walls, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for sure!! The price is great and the breakfast was amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flaviadelsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and all services we offered to you.

We hope you will visit again very soon.

Thanks again.


Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful sea view and is located practically on the beach, right under the old town wall. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, small and very simple, but sufficient. The bathroom could be larger. You can hardly move inside. There also no place to hang your wet things from the beach. The walls are rather thin and you can hear everything what your neighbours do. Our neighbours were quite loud and argued constantly. The breakfast was poor compared with other hotels we had visited. There were no eggs, only a small variety of cheese and yoghurt didn't looked inviting. But the coffee was good, the croissant and the waiters very friendly. All in all, our short stay there was quite enjoyable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review that we really apreciate.

I'ts absolutely true that rooms are not big. Actually we mention this point to everybody who is interested in booking. The hotel was fish factory years ago and the building is from the 17th century. This hotel is not the best option if you are looking for large rooms.

About bathrooms, they are also small like the rest, but they have all you need, like hairdryer and soap server, also if you were looking more carefully, in the shower wall there is rope to put your wet clothes.

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast because is one of the hotel service which is more apreciate for guests, especially the home made yoghourt and cakes.

Finally, we are probably simple because we try to keep the same atmosphere like our old fishfactory was. There are plenty of new, sofisticated and and full equiped hotels with large rooms in town. We belong to a family hotels category that every year are less in town.


Thank you again for your visit.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved this hotel! The location is along the beach with views from many of the rooms. We especially liked room 107, which has a small balcony overlooking the beach. If you are on a budget, try room 101, which they describe as small, but we found it to be perfectly adequate (though the bed is against one wall.) The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was very nice with croissants, rolls, quiche and baked sweet breads as well as cheeses, jams, juice, and coffee/tea, all of which was served at outdoor tables overlooking the beach.
The beach was very crowded (we were there in August) but the cove is beautiful and we liked the walk through the old town with winding streets and restaurants and shops.
I would not recommend dinner at the hotel, though; we tried it because it was recommended in Lonely Planet, but it was mediocre and there were many other options for eating outdoors along the promenade that looked better.

Room Tip: Room 107 for the small balcony- really nice. Room 101 if you are on a tight budget- they recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharzanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review that helps us to work better in the future.

We are really surprise about your opinion about the bar, where we served some home made tapas, because the same person who prepare breakfast is also in the kitchen to cook the tapas. So, if you enjoy the quiche and the home made cakes in the morning, we understand you could apreciate the rest of the food that is made with the same rigor.

We thank you again for your visit and we hope you will visit again very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from Cap d'Or. What a delightful surprise for a small, inexpensive beachfront hotel. Proprietor was lovely and accomodating. Rooms were quaint and clean. We enjoyed the "main balcony room" right atop the beach. Sweet little breakfast included. Hotel is mere steps from the town's landmark medieval castle, almost nestled into the base, with pathway providing lovely evening stroll and beautiful views. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We absolutely apreciate your nice review and help us to go ahead with the work we are doing and with the business that our family began in 1954.

We hope you will visit the hotel again in the very next future.

Thanks again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights in room 101 at Cap D'or and had a great time. Although the room was small it was cheaper than the others and had everything we needed apart from the sea view. We were very happy with the facilities which included an ensuite and tv. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and a lovely breakfast was also included in the price that included Croissant, Bread rolls, cake, fruit, yoghurt, juices and more! I thoroughly recommend this hotel which is directly below the old town walls and on the beach front. the owners are absolutely lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview as the beach is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzybucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review.

We are really happy to know your enjoyed your stay in the small 101. Between the family we call this room the "bohemian room", because years ago this room was occupy for long time with a writer who write a book.

We hope you could visit the hotel again and enjoy one bigger room with seaside.

Thanks again.

Family Aragay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Property: Hotel Cap d'Or
Address: Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing