We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a quiet, relaxing town”
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cap d'Or
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stopped at the Hotel Cap d'Or for three nights at the end of a whirlwind trip around Spain. The hotel is in a great location at the edge of the beach, only a few steps away from the castle and the Old Town. The breakfast buffet was perfect for me (I don't each much in the morning) - there was a nice selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cereal and toast, as well as a warm dish. Coffee is included with the buffet (which was included in the price of the room). The staff is absolutely lovely - the restaurant staff is very friendly and the family that owns the hotel is very accommodating and hospitable. I felt very safe and welcome while staying at the Hotel Cap D'Or (which is important to me as a solo traveler). The Cap D'Or is a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Barcelona. I will definitely stay there again the next time I visit Tossa de Mar.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank bobcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great littel hotel, great view. Parking is a bit of a problem

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review.

We are so sorry for parking, but the hotel is located in the old town where parking is not allow. The parking we offer to guests is 10 minutes walk from the hotel and it's 5 euros par day.

Anyway, in Tossa traffic and parking are a problem in summer because we have narrow streets and not to many parkings. Probably in the future, cars would be not allow in the old city.

Thank you again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I spent 2 nights in Tossa in early June at this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, hotel was clean and comfortable. Room was on the main boardwalk as you walk up the old walled city/lighthouse. It has potential to be loud during peak tourist season, but I didn't mind because it reminded me there was life outside and I needed to be out there enjoying it! Beach was nice, but there are a number of beaches very close that I recommend even more. A fun, sleepy little town that thrives off boat loads of tourists. It was nice for a brief unwinding in the middle of my backpack trip in Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisN126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you for your review.

June is the best month to come to Tossa because of the long days and there is less people than July and August.
Also at the end of the month there is Saint John and the local holliday Saint Peter, when there are many activities and local exhibitions. Is the best time to see how people from Tossa involve foreign people in their entertainment.


Thank you for your visit and we will wait you very soon.

Family Aragay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We decided on a 2 night stay in Tossa, and, as usual, consulted thoroughly with T.A. before deciding on the Cap d'Or. What an amazing location!! Angela and her mother, together with some help from sister and brilliant staff run the place like clockwork, and could not have been more helpful. We were fortunate to get the room with the balcony, although other rooms looked just as inviting and cosy.Breakfast was taken on the terrace with super views of the bay and castle. Parking was 10 min walk away, opposite the police station and with cctv cameras, for 3.5 euros per 24 hr period.
Everything was so good we booked to stay an extra night and thoroughly enjoyed the break.
We will certainly return some time.

Room Tip: Any rooms at the front will have super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank majdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for your nice review.

It was a pleasure to have you in the hotel and we hope you will come back very soon to enjoy new cakes and the rest of the hotel facilities.

Thank you again to choose us for your holiday.

Family Aragay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a gem of a place in a lovely spot that does very fine coffee in good sized cups that goes very well with an acceptable cognac. It is right by the sea, the town, the castle (get your night shots of the castle) & the Vila Vela - it has a good looking restaurant an attractive reception and very nice staff. If I come back to Tossa I want to stay here. It would be perfect for a long weekend or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrews272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your nice review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed the hotel terrace and the seaviews. You are very welcome to stay in the hotel or just to take a drink.

In case you need information don't hesitate to contact us. It would be a pleasure to help you.

Thanks again.


Family Aragay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We arrived in Tossa late and used a guide book that recommended this hotel. We arrived at the front desk on a Friday evening without a reservation and were thrilled to get Room 111.

We had been traveling for 30 days and this was to be our last night relaxing before leaving from the Barcelona airport. We stayed, on this trip through Morocco and Spain, in 13 other hotels. This was the best one in Spain. If you are vacationing for hotel luxury, then you should stay in a large modern hotel. If you are traveling to see the world and experience people and their communities, then you should embrace the personal charm of a place like this. This place has been operated by the same family for over 50 years. They were exceptionally friendly, gracious and professional. The room does not realistically have a view but, good grief, it is in the best location in town (nect to the fort and beach) and one does not go to Tossa to sit in their room. It is so beautiful right outside the door, which by the way, offers dining of all their homemade meals. Where lunch was recommended by so many TA members, we had the best breakfast of our trip here and a wonderful dinner the night before. All at better prices than many other places we visited.
Our room was very tastefully decorated - even had a mural on the wall. The room was much more spacious than many hotels throughout western Europe. The bathroom is a bit squeezy but, if you think this room is small or old fashioned, you have not traveled much in Europe or you seek out a different type of experience. Additionally, this room, being at the end of a hall towards the back of the building, offered us the most privacy and quiet. We found the entire experience delightful and would strongly recommend this hotel, including room 111 to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear guest,

thanks for your review.
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our small hotel and we hope you will come back in the very next future. It would be a pleasure.

Best regards,

Family Aragay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Visited Tossa last year with my wife, and had a wonderful stay at this beach front b&b. This place is can't miss for a few night stay in Tossa. Hostess was pleasant and helpful. Recommend the boat that tours the nearby beaches. Amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you for choosing the hotel Cap d'Or for your vacation.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you visit the hotel in the very next future. We will try to do our best to provide you nice experience with us.

Family Aragay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
#25 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $100 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing