We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay”
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cap d'Or
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Visited Tossa last year with my wife, and had a wonderful stay at this beach front b&b. This place is can't miss for a few night stay in Tossa. Hostess was pleasant and helpful. Recommend the boat that tours the nearby beaches. Amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you for choosing the hotel Cap d'Or for your vacation.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you visit the hotel in the very next future. We will try to do our best to provide you nice experience with us.

Family Aragay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was a great find for us on our recent trip to Spain. Perfect location right on one end of the beach in Tossa. Rooms are, of course, on the small side by North American standards but everything that could be done to make our stay comfortable was in place. Staff and Manager Maria were top drawer and couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent value for the money and an excellent included breakfast just made our two nights here first rate. You really don't need more that what this little gem offers if you are looking for a quality stay in Tossa.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenjonesmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We spent one night in the family room, with two kids and a baby. The hotel is in an amazing location, close to the old city walls, and next to the beach. The view from our room window was just unbelievable. The room itself is small, but very cozy and clean. The separation between theparents room and the kids room is very convenient. Breakfast was very nice, the kids ate a lot, and so did we :)
The owners were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_all_of_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

W hat a lovely little hotel in an absolutely beautiful location. We had a lovely stay here in a room overlooking the main beach, so the view was amazing with the sea in front and the castle and old town to the right.Breakfast was really good with a great selection and the choice of being able to eat out on the terrace in the early morning sun....fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff who were always willing to help, as we had an early morning return flight, someone was on hand to give us breakfast.Room was average size and cleanliness was first class. All in all a memorable stay in a memorable little hotel. We visit Tossa every year and have stayed in various hotels but this has to be one of the best.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIANNINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and it was excellent. The Management and staff were first class,the room we had overlooked the sea and beach and was very clean and comfortable and the views were just brilliant. The breakfast was excellent and when we needed early breakfast it was never a problem and everyone was very helpful. Will certainly return and it made for a perfect short break

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve43Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very friendly manager Maria was helpful and welcoming, made our stay very relaxed. Breakfast was generous and taken on the lovely terrace overlooking the beach. The room was spotlessly clean and the location right under the old town walls and next to the beach is ideal. Would definatly return.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank searover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is simply the best place to stay in Tossa. The beach is 50 metres away and the hotel itself is almost part of the fortifications of the historic castle. The hotel is cosy and you can feel in every detail the attention of the family who runs the place who are really nice people. The staff is friendly and they never seemed to be disturbed by our 2 noisy children :-). The breakfasts by the seaside were Ok and very good value which is true overall. As previous reviewers correctly stated you do not need a pool if you stay here as the sea is so close. I always felt that the vast majority of Spanish seaside hotels are high-rise blocks of flats, Cap d'Or is a great exception.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview, most rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travel80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#25 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
691 reviews
0 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $114 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cap d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing