We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tonet”
Review of Hotel Tonet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tonet
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Tonet”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very hot, very small room and noisy. It is true that this is a family-run hotel and that is why we chose it, but we did not sleep well at all. The room was a sauna and we could not sleep due to the regular slamming of doors, talking loudly and knocking noises every couple of hours during the night. It you are a deep sleeper and don't mind sweating all night, then yes, you can get a small slice of authentic Spain. The owners were pleasant but not particularly welcoming (average) and look after the hotel well, but nothing to write home about and the deco is rather jaded (which would not be an issue if it was nice deco and it was quiet / not too hot).

Room Tip: perhaps at front with windows that open to air! but then you'd have to deal with noise as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very compact room (no air con). Room above bar (mid July) was very noisy on a Saturday night.

Friendly family run authentic Spanish hotel. No pool. Central location surrounded by tapas bars.

New room tax payable locally was €7 for our stay of 8 nights.

Church bells opposite did not disturb us at all.

Nice roof terrace.

Continental breakfast consisted of slices of omelette, ham and cheese etc. Toast and jam/marmalade. Various cakes and breads. Cereals. Various flavour teas.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with a balcony, but from what I could see they had as much sun as our little room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel because we wanted a small, traditional, family run hotel. We dislike big faceless hotels. We got everything that we wanted and expected. The room that we had was a good size. It didn't have air-con- but even in July this was fine. It is so safe that you can leave your window open while you go out for the day/evening.
The whole hotel is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is ok, cheese, cake , boiled eggs, omlettes, tomatoes, toast, meat. Plenty of it from 9.00-10.00am
The location is perfect. It is in a small square next to the church. There is a seating area where you can people watch. The bar is very cheap, so lots of locals and tourists stop by for a drink. The best rooms are on floor three at teh back as they have a shared balcony. I wouldn't advise one at the front or side as they can be a little noisy (don't let this put you off though- there was a big beach football tournament on when we were there so there were a lot of people passing by) It wasn't very noisy though (and I am very sensitive to noise) Tossa is a lovely place, good food, excellent prices. The location is perfect - 2 mins from the beach. It is very clean and classy. Mainly Spanish,French & Italian people- very few English. It you like clean, good value, family run this is for you. If you like modern and faceless this is not for you! We will definately go again,Enjoy.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the back has a big shared balcony and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vilecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Tonet is a charming, old-style hotel with an old-world vibe. Free wifi in the dining room--a continental breakfast is included, by the way. Very inexpensive, though it's lacking AC, so prepare yourself! Ask for a room overlooking the plaza.

The hotel's bar is good and cheap. We sat outside in the plaza, people-watching for 2 hours. Two of us had cortados (coffees), beer and wine, for 5.80€! Excellent bargain!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked this hotel on a bit of a whim and after having read trip-advisor's reviews.We knew not to expect much but were pleasantly surprised.
A basic room with 2 single beds a flat screen tv, 2 comfy chairs and en-suite facilities.
We had an issue with the shower as it was basically a wet room and it got soaked. so do not leave anything on the floor and remove all surplus towels.
Apart from that we had a continental
breakfast every morning consisting of cereal,fruit juice cold meats and bread and as much coffee/tea you could drink.
The hotel has a lovely frontage opposite the old church and its good for a glass of wine anytime of day.
The owners are great and could not be more accommodating and even supplied an extra early coffee and cakes on our early departure day

Room Tip: extra towels for the wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drhawk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very much back in time, the time when hotels were small and run by mother and sons, with a bar in the hotel and traditional if slightly dated rooms. Lovely location next to the church, on a square. The bar seemed to have a good local clientele who came there for coffee and breakfast in the morning and drinks in the evening. The mother welcomed me to the hotel - she was really nice and although her English was quite limited this didn't matter. Breakfast was served in the bar and included breads, rolls, cheese and meats, and good coffee from the bar. Being in the centre of Tossa de Mar I guess parking may be an issue - but the walk to the beach is two minutes and there are loads of cafes and restaurants nearby. Only possible issue was with the bathroom - very clean - but dated, and hence the shower was quite small. Other than that a very good, and affordable base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here at a fairly quiet time of year. The management were extremely friendly and helpful if we had any queries about the area. The room was comfortable if a bit basic. The hotel was kept very clean. Breakfast was of a standard continental type.
The hotel is located in a small square beside the church and just a short walk from the beach, shops and restaurants.
As stated in previous reviews the church clock bells ring (for some reason they ring the time twice a few minutes apart) up to midnight but we never found them intrusive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BWMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#16 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#38 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#17 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tonet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonet

Property: Hotel Tonet
Address: Placa de l'Esglesia, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tonet 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tonet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tonet Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing