We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Stathelle, Telemark, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Small, friendly, beautiful... We spent a week in the beginning of July in this little gem of a hotel. Something failed with our booking, and the first night was spent in a very small room overlooking the square, but this was quickly sorted the next morning. Be sure to check that you get a sea view room, its definitely worth the extra money. Alsom the very friendly lady at the front desk told us that they will match any discounts on hotels.com and similar webpages, so I would reccomend booking directly with the hotel, quoting the price you find on the web.

Breakfast is delightful in the courtyard, and when on holiday it can be tempting to start the day with a complimentary glass of cava!The terrace, with its comfortable and stylish furnishings, is ideal for sharing a bottle of rosewine and reading a book, before dinner. We also experienced two "house" concerts in the courtyard, coming back from dinner - and enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Seaview, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benedicte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    167
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
142
362
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

5* ish hotel, on the beach + grand piano in the entrance, staff that REALLY care. Not an "all glass supa dupa Merriott type" hotel but possibly a very rich mans home many light years ago! If its a real Spanish hotel u want..........this is it! The last night watched a family birthday celebration replete with Spanish music trio, from a balcony at hotel. A wonderful final night experience.

Room Tip: Take a box of chocs for the staff. They are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The minute we walked into this hotel the crowded streets, active beech and soccer games faded away. What a tranquil hotel in a really busy town! We took a beach side room as we were worried about the street noise on the other. The hotel is one inch from the street and activity. Our room was peaceful and lovely. The architecture is almost reminiscent of Charles Rennie MacKintosh in the early 1900's especially the elongated curved doorway and floral pattern in the stained glass window.
The terrace overlooking the ocean is so lovely I stayed a couple of hours reading in the shade during the heat of the day and did not feel any pressure from the wait staff to order anything. In fact, they were busy with their customers on the beach level below so if you have a nap, no one is the wiser.
The breakfast is ok. It seemed as thought the fruit plate and meat plate were prepared the night prior. Eggs to order are good. Nice to find a Nespresso machine in a buffet.
Not sure about the complaint about the only English channel being BBC. What is more English than an channel from England? Perhaps one can find something else to do after the lights dim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel if you like "old style Spanish hotels" Location is fantastic, a road seperates the hotel from the beach and the hotel is on the "main tourist road". Decoration and architecture in public areas has to be seen to believed, beautiful. Breakfast probally the very best we have ever experienced. Staff very friendly, knowledge able and approachable. Asked to be moved (first time ever!!) to be near my brother and his wife and we were moved to the best bedroom, lounge and balcony you could ever ask for. If you prefer modern hotels with air conditioning this hotel is probally not for you. The only downside for us was that the parking (local) was at 40 euros per Day.
Definatly want to return for a week or so

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived in Tossa on the day of a festival. We had two rooms, one with an ocean view. That room had huge windows overlooking the courtyard where breakfast is served, the sea, and the castle. Quite a view. The room had a little sitting area by the windows where we sat watching fireworks. The castle was lit, and there was a bonfire behind the hotel. It was a spectacular experience. Breakfast was included and was very good. We had drinks on the hotel terrace looking at the water. The staff was wonderful and helpful. If you take a car they will provide parking but the lot is away from the hotel. They had to guide us to the hotel by phone.

Room Tip: Booking a sea view is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bw323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are currently guests at this hotel and it's beautiful, inside and out. The views are stunning, and the weather is great. I just wish that the Satellite TV they advertise had at least one English speaking Chanel besides BBC News! Once it's dark and you can't see the ocean anymore it would be nice to watch a TV show on the nice flat screen TV's. We are in a multi level suite, the best in the hotel. Room 305 in case you want to book it. But I was so bored last night as I flipped through all the channels of what was mostly American TV shows dubbed to Spanish and could not find ONE SINGLE CHANEL IN ENGLISH other than BBC News! We are here for two more nights and I dread lying in bed at night with no way of watching a show I can understand. Aren't Satellite Dishes supposed to be able to get a few English speaking Chanel's? In America we have Spanish Chanel's, but here they have NO English speaking ones for their guests. To make matters worse, the free Wi Fi doesn't come in strong enough in the upstairs suite so I can't even use my iPad or iPhone to try to watch something in English. So basically I'm left sitting in bed with nothing to do at all. Mind you that's my ONLY problem with the place, but it IS something that needs to be addressed.

Jeffrey Brandt
Lauren Handley-Brandt

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey and Lau... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
381 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to the exquisite Hotel Diana. The hotel has many interesting architectural features especially all the stained glass throughout the common areas, not to mention the mermaid looking water spouts. Its unusual design has great walking areas from either front or back of the hotel.The outdoor terraces are available for your use and they also have a restaurant which faces the beach. Breakfast is included in your room fee. Be sure to walk under the main fireplace for a surprise on both sides! Get a room with a balcony facing the beach for incomparable views. (rooms 206-207 or 306-307) Climb to the top to visit the Citadel or shop until you drop on the cobble stone winding labyrinth of streets, lined with shops and restaurants. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with Wi-Fi, and in room safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#15 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
10.6 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Property: Hotel Diana
Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing