We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 2 stars!”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travel a lot and when I'm on holiday, I like to enjoy hotels - nice hotels! In addition, I never stay at 2 star hotels, rarely anything else than 5 stars! However, when reading about Tossa de Mar and especially Hotel Diana on Tripadvisor, I just had to bring my family into a 2 star hotel while visiting 10 days in Catalunia!

When driving from Barcelona via the beach road and seeing all those dated hotels of the tourist traps on Costa Brava, both my wife and I started wondering why did we leave the lovely Barcelona with good hotels, nice shops and a beach for the kids. However, when finally arrived to Tossa de Mar, I was relieved - this is so much different to those tired cities on the cost!

We had 2 adults and 5 & 7 year old girls. I booked a triple room and when arrived late in the evening, was a bit disappointed on the street view from our room due to knowing how good view some of the other rooms have. When discussing with the reception, I was told that triple rooms are always towards the back and sea-view rooms are full. Still, we were able to agree to have the sea-view with a very reasonable upgrade fee once available. Now in the sea-view room, I can say that the view from the balcony is so beautiful that its surely worth it!

The room furniture might be 2 stars but apart from that, the hotel is just amazing! Breakfast is excellent, service very kind and the public areas of the hotel make it memorable! Beach is just across the street and behind the hotel are the streets with small shops.

Only small complaints; the sand on the beach is of small rocks - not nicest for the kids and the free internet of the hotel does not cover all rooms properly - still it is speedy enough when you actually get the access.

Overall, this hotel was a perfect find which I would not have ever tried without Tripadvisor - this is really why I love this service! If like experiencing nice hotels, this is something I really recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view when booking the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaartma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 691 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel Diana and it was realized we were actually reserved at the sister hotel up the road. We were quickly accommodated by Tere however. The room included a spectacular view of he castle and sea behind the hotel. This hotel is simple. There Is no room service if that is what you are into. Ask for a seaside room. You won't regret it. We drank cava on the balcony every night. The staff is awesome and has discount coupons so you can ride the boats to other beaches. The beach was small stones which was fine with us. We took the boats to other beaches like casa cayelles and Santa Cristina. Both were beautiful. The ride is quick and the taxi boat reliable. Most people spoke English and there were English menus at all the restaurants on the coast of Tossa. I highly recommend this hotel. You won't regret it if you are there for the views, culture, and food.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Diana two years in a row, and always in the same room - #107 - because it is spacious with an enclosed patio-room with the spectacular view of the old city.
Wonderful location, easy to walk everywhere.
The staff, especially Terri, are all very friendly and helpful, offering maps and tips on where to go and what to see. We did have a long wait for our lunch on our first day here, and Terri was very apologetic and understanding, gifting us a bottle of wine on our departure. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 107 is very large and spacious with a great bathroom, and enclosed patio with spectacular views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyDANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed only one night at this Hotel.
The location is excellent as it's on the beach and is in the middle of all the restaurants/shops etc.
The staff gave us a warm welcome and were very friendly and helpful.
The room was large with a lovely balcony which had great views of the castle, the hotel was very clean and we had everything we needed, however it's a bit tired and basic so not very romantic.
If you have a big car I would NOT recommend you use the underground parking on offer as it's extremely narrow (I nearly had a heart attack) there is no way you could get in/out without help!
Also due to the location of the entrance, which is on a pedestrian area, it's a bit awkward to access the Hotel with your luggage.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lift as it's a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a location! Just across the small street from the beach. We had a waterfront room with a balcony. Tossa de Mar is small, so we walked a little, came back to the balcony had a glass of wine, went to the castle ( more balcony and wine), shopped a little, more balcony and wine - you get the picture. The staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was fantastic with several hot choices made to order plus the standard fruit, cheese, and bread assortment. Highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Room 207 with balcony view of water and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridger2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our first visit to Tosssa ans we had what we believe is the best hotel in town.

Center Beach front!! This historic and beautiful interior building has charm and antiquity! From the sitting areas to the stained glass windows it is lovely. Service friendly and courteous. We stayed here for 4 nights in the upstairs suite with 2 kids. It is advertised as a 2 star ??? but it is so relaxing, well serviced, clean and comfortable and it is hard to beat. Located right in center on beach. Everyone walking past cant help but look up at the balcony and take pics.

We so enjoyed out time here looking at at the sights all lit up at night through the large glass doors and windows and waking up to the beautiful sea everyday in this lovely town. I cant image if we had booked a into a big 5 star up the road with no views but a pool??

The breakfast was fantastic - we could have this in the restaurant, on the interior terrace, up on the upper terrace looking over the sea or on our balcony. The usual selection of pastry's, breads, cereals, yogurts etc along with wine or champers or various coffees or teas. Also a small selection of made to order hot meals such as an English breakfast, Spanish or french omelet. Breakfast runs from 8 am to 10.30.

The suite room had 2 balconies -one on the bottom floor where there was a sitting area, TV and full bathroom with bath and the other 2 up the spiral staircase which lead to the HUGE main room with bed, couch area, cupboards, mini bar fridge, 4 large glass windows taking up the entire front wall which included 2 doors that open u to lead you out to main balcony. Off the side was the shower and toilet area and the other side outside private terrace with table and 2 x sun lounges for privacy. We were delivered a yummy fruit platter and bottle of campaign on arrival as a gift. THANK YOU!

Front hotel exit lead to beach front and cafes while back entrance lead to main shopping street and center.

Sleep was undisturbed, quiet and comfortable. Curtains dark and no noise from other rooms as on top floor. This place was extreme value for money....we only paid 215E a night for 4 people. The view alone was worth this. Photos on website depict hotel exactly as it is
Well done Hotel Diana, you enhanced our last 4 days of our European trip and this was our favorite place! HIGHLY RECOMMEND as much as i would like to keep it a secret!

Would we return - absolutely and in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Suite room is wonderful and huge or any rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank varney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and my husband are just back from Tossa de Mar having spent our Wedding there following many visits to this beautiful characterful and historical unspoilt resort which helped us decide on it as a perfect wedding location :)
The hotel is a Spanish 2* which is only down to it being an authentic Spanish hotel as it still has all mod cons but is not modern like its sister hotel the Delfin ( also great hotel!) but we wanted character and we got it by the bucketload !
The words amazing wow beautiful excellent superb fantastic were a few of the words used by us and all of our 50 guests who joined us at the hotel to describe the Diana
It is the place to stay in Tossa de Mar and is beautiful but the best thing is the service and the quality of the staff who work there including Nuria and Luis who helped us to plan an unforgettable and " perfecto " day from start to finish
With amazing organisation decoration and detail which made us all feel special and not just the bride and groom
Words fail me as to describe how perfect we found our day and stay here
It truly is a special place :)
100% recommend it as would all my guests who taped also and those who just attended wedding as many are already thinking of returning to stay
Tere on reception and Jose also made our stay great with their welcoming and helpful attitude to caring for their guests

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room and if you can get a room with a terrace as the views of castle are amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Amanda,

Thank you very much for your review. We have really enjoyed a lot helping you with the wedding preparations so that it was a very special day, and you and all your family have been amazing guests.

We are really happy that the wedding went perfect, we really appreciate your nice words!

We hope you come back soon, and please, do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best regards on behalf of all the staff at hotel Diana!

And thank you very much!

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.4 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
787 reviews
10.5 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
950 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $101 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Tossa de Mar Beach, this modernist boutique hotel is in the historic centre of the town. It offers a terrace with great sea views and direct beach access. There is free Wi-Fi in all rooms and commons areas. Hotel Diana is a family-run hotel set in a historic building. This listed building has over 100 years of history and was built by Antoni de Falguera i Sivilla, a disciple of Gaudi. All rooms at the Hotel Diana offer views over Plaza de España or the sea. Rooms are all air conditioned and heated. Each one has a private bathroom. Finally, the Hotel Diana is an old private house that became a hotel and this is the reason why all rooms are different. Each room has special details that make it unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing